We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 7, 2012

stay in this hotel for one night in Oct. hotel itself is very new and facilities are quite good. the staff are very friendly and helpful. room is a bit small and shower kits are not excellent but i guess this is normal for a 3 star hotel. full breakfast are good the restaurant has a very good view of a church next to the hotel. location is excellent as it is very close to station and other shops(tesco etc)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FENG Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear FENGQ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,146)
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,832 - 1,838 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Clean rooms, good location (depending on what you are there for) near the station, shops and restaurants. Good size rooms, though they are a bit larger at the Premier Inn, and the same can be said for the beds - but very comfortable. Great value considering the others in the price range. Still fairly new, so the prices may rise a little in time.

Room Tip: Higher up feels better in this area of Cardiff as it is next to a train line and also near the main...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluebird-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Blue-bird Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and post some pictures of your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel is in a great location right by the station and the room was very nice, modern and clean. Unfortunately we took the Dinner,Bed and Breakfast offer which was a mistake, as the special dinner menu was that of a mediocre pub lunch. We took the £15 off the standard menu instead but still struggled to find much to choose as they had some odd choices eg duck with pickled vegetables or fish and chips with olives. It is a shame as the restaurant was nicely decorated and the staff friendly but the meal was a real disappointment given the standard of the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors get less noise from the railway
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Jenny S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I will bring your comments back to the team where we will proactively look for ways to improve our offers.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a great value hotel in a very central location next to the station...literally...
Front of house staff very friendly and also in the restaurant.
Breakfast good and self service so quick and hot!
An easy walk to good shops and restaurants like carluccios for a quick meal and buzzy atmosphere.
Rooms clean and spacious and my corner room had a good view of the city.
We had a group meeting the next day and it was efficient and well organised.
Used to reviewing luxury hotels this is what it says on the tim and you will get more than you pay for!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank PenguinTuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Penguin Tuk,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Really nice inside. Bedrooms were great. For a city hotel, I felt the bedrooms were very spacious with a large bed, TV area, desk, dressing table and sofa area-perfect given I was staying for 5 nights with work. Bathroom included bath and shower. All rooms were comfortable, modern decor, and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Service was a very high standard. Location was great. Expect a 5-10 minute wait for the lift during busy periods. Aircon got a bit much after a couple of days and would have liked to have thrown a window open, but not possible on the ninth floor.

As on a training course, had breakfast, dinner and lunch some days. Overall, food was average and being vegetarian, rather limited and inconsistent. Breakfast was good. Lunch and dinner: Lovely range of bean salads and fresh veg one day and dry congealing pasta with no sauce the only option for the next evening meal, which was not particularly appealing. Also buffet food is not labelled so it was difficult to identify vegetarian options (none for one lunch). To be fair, when I asked staff what the options were they did offer several alternatives and had something made up fresh from the kitchen, so they did resolve these issues.

Overall, great staff in a lovely, spacious comfortable hotel, but eat out and explore Cardiff if you have the choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Liz R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Booked in for 2 nights while visiting family in Cardiff and was very happy with the standard of accommodation for a 3 star hotel, everything was modern and clean, and in a great location this was a excellent choice for the price we paid, will definitely be returning again next time we are in Cardiff, thanks Maldron hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LadyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Ladylincolnshire,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent two days in Cardiff, and this was a great home base. The hotel is practically on top of the Cardiff Central rail station, which is perfect for rail travellers. Shops, bars, restaurants and sights are all nearby. Rooms were clean, everything is perfect working order.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCG_YEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear MCG_YEG

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $85 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing