We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
152 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a great value hotel in a very central location next to the station...literally...
Front of house staff very friendly and also in the restaurant.
Breakfast good and self service so quick and hot!
An easy walk to good shops and restaurants like carluccios for a quick meal and buzzy atmosphere.
Rooms clean and spacious and my corner room had a good view of the city.
We had a group meeting the next day and it was efficient and well organised.
Used to reviewing luxury hotels this is what it says on the tim and you will get more than you pay for!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PenguinTuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Penguin Tuk,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    779
    235
    32
    30
See reviews for
320
675
86
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Really nice inside. Bedrooms were great. For a city hotel, I felt the bedrooms were very spacious with a large bed, TV area, desk, dressing table and sofa area-perfect given I was staying for 5 nights with work. Bathroom included bath and shower. All rooms were comfortable, modern decor, and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Service was a very high standard. Location was great. Expect a 5-10 minute wait for the lift during busy periods. Aircon got a bit much after a couple of days and would have liked to have thrown a window open, but not possible on the ninth floor.

As on a training course, had breakfast, dinner and lunch some days. Overall, food was average and being vegetarian, rather limited and inconsistent. Breakfast was good. Lunch and dinner: Lovely range of bean salads and fresh veg one day and dry congealing pasta with no sauce the only option for the next evening meal, which was not particularly appealing. Also buffet food is not labelled so it was difficult to identify vegetarian options (none for one lunch). To be fair, when I asked staff what the options were they did offer several alternatives and had something made up fresh from the kitchen, so they did resolve these issues.

Overall, great staff in a lovely, spacious comfortable hotel, but eat out and explore Cardiff if you have the choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Liz R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Booked in for 2 nights while visiting family in Cardiff and was very happy with the standard of accommodation for a 3 star hotel, everything was modern and clean, and in a great location this was a excellent choice for the price we paid, will definitely be returning again next time we are in Cardiff, thanks Maldron hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Ladylincolnshire,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent two days in Cardiff, and this was a great home base. The hotel is practically on top of the Cardiff Central rail station, which is perfect for rail travellers. Shops, bars, restaurants and sights are all nearby. Rooms were clean, everything is perfect working order.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCG_YEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear MCG_YEG

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just arrived back from a one night stay with friends. Check in was smooth and the gentleman at reception was very helpful.
We had a double and single bed for 3 people in a pleasantly presented, clean room kitted with tv, iron, tea facilities and alarm clock. View was of town centre which was adequate as planned to party in the town, therefore we were ideally located to roll in after a long night.
The bathroom was clean and supplied with a choice of Dove or Lux showercreme and a non slip bath mat.
Upon return to hotel at night we were asked to verify our booking name and room number which I was pleased about as I felt it added extra security. We were pleasantly informed the bar was still open and we continued our night in the bar until well after 2.
We were not disturbed by noise in corridors or from town centre even though our room faced centre.
We parked in the open air car park for £9 for 24hrs, no issues. NCP car park charges £14 including 20% discount at hotel.
Check out was smooth and we were budded a safe journey and genuine farewell.
Overall a comfortable night sleep in a nice hotel with good service, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fu_shar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear fu_shar,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for a firend's wedding. The room and bathroom was nice and clean and comfy after the train journey. The view was okay although looking over the train track; I think that there is only one side that doesn't face the tracks but even the reception staff didn't know which side was which.

We were on the 10th floor and the height and double glazing stopped the street noises coming into the room during the day, which was good, and was okay during the night. However, the hotel (or at least our room) was facing towards the town centre / night club and so you could hear thumping music (Saturday night). Still, it's not all that bad unless you're a really light sleeper.

Free wifi, and good bathroom facilities/soap/towels, etc. All clean and nice.

Breakfast was good (usual English breakfast buffet) and plentiful, including fresh fruit cut-up, yoghurts, cereal, etc. All very nice and filling to get you going.

It's also literally 5 minutes from Cardiff Central Station so is pretty perfect.

Recommended if you're just wanting somewhere to stay and get into Cardiff town and Bay quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and facing away from the town centre to not have thumping bass music at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sting100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear stevenandting,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a few hiccups checking in at the Maldron Hotel, Cardiff as a few points we had requested upon booking were not honored. That said I notifed the gentleman working the front desk and he was able to quickly fix the issues even though there were several large groups taking up much of the hotel during our stay. I was impressed at this level of customer service displayed, once again, the following day when the hotel made an error with our laundry. Although they were unable to correct the problem, the front desk clerk quickly made an adjustment to our bill to make up for the mistake. I understand this is a reasonably new property and with any newer business, things can (and often do) go wrong. I think it's much more important that the hotel was able to address the issues quickly and reasonably which allowed me to depart a happy customer.

The location is quite good - minutes (by car) to Cardiff Bay and within walking distance of all central Cardiff attractions and the train station. Our room was modern, clean and contained a great deal more space than I expect from the average European hotel. Overall, a great place to stay if you're looking for something near the center of town. Parking is quite steep if you're only here for a few nights (it does get cheaper, per day, the longer you stay as the garage sells a weekly pass that's rather reasonable). Also, unless your room rate is a good deal with breakfast, a cheaper (and good quality) alternative can be found directly over the road at the Great Western (about 1/4 of the price of the breakfast at the Maldron). Otherwise, a good value for the product delivered. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We took advantage of a tip offered by other reviewers and requested a room at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear domer2007,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel for any future stay to the city.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel, in Cardiff City Centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Millennium Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE Broadband & wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing