We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 6, 2010

What an excellent hotel, we really liked the look of the building the mix of old brickwork and new contemporary glass which continues inside the building as well. The first impression as soon we entered was check-in staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Even though didn't use all the facility's from what we did use they were clean and tidy. The room we had was very clean and was totally surprised how spacious it was and it had all the extras you need. The hotel was only a short walk to Cardiff town center and close access to bus stop if you want to go to the Cardiff bay area. Had breakfast at the hotel and again found the staff extremely helpful and polite, there was a good selection of food on offer and all fresh. Me and my wife really enjoyed our stay at the Novotel and would strongly recommended it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chappers180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Novotel Cardiff centre and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,165)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Cardiff Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,912 - 1,918 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed at this hotel whilst visiting Cardiff. Never stayed in this chain before. We were pleased with the quality & cleanliness of the room, which we paid £105. The room was a good size, with a nice bath & shower. The Hotel also boasts an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam rooms and gym, which was quite nice to have in the evening. It also has it’s own restaurant and bar. We used the bar, but chose to use nearby restaurants. When we stayed, the hotel was being used for a wedding reception. Some of the guests made quite a lot of noise, so I wouldn’t recommend it for a quiet romantic break. That said the Hotel is only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Cardiff, and 20 minutes from the Mermaid Quay, where there are several restaurants and bars.
As is usual with these types of Hotels, the necessary extras are expensive; £13-16 per head for breakfast and £7 for overnight parking (if you can find a space).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry3310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Cardiff Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards
Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Having worked in the hotel trade I recall that our mantra was to 'exceed the clients expectations' and I can honestly say that the Novotel certainly did that! We had an executive room that was large, extremely well equipped and as comfortable as you could want with extras such as Tassimo coffee, widescreen TV and internet thrown in. The welcome was warm, friendly and reassuring even when we arrived at 10.30 am expecting our room to be unavailable until later. The spa and pool were all complimentary as was the steam room gym and sauna and all of the facilities were immaculately clean and comfortable. In fact cleanliness was exemplary throughout the hotel and we could not fault it. Capped off by an 'all you can eat' breakfast of enormous variety and all for £95 plus £7 to park your car for 24 hours we would happily go there again. Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisydumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thank you so much for your kind comments and compliments. We pride ourselves on the level of service and facilities we provide and are pleased you enjoyed them. We are however, only as strong as the last experience we delivered and as such, will endeavour to continue to offer what you have come to recognise as the Novotel standard.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Novotel Cardiff Centre in the near future. Kind regards Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Hotel was easy to find. Check-in was friendly and informative. Hotel location was very well placed for shopping centre and Cardiff Bay, each approx. 10 minutes walk.

Good sized rooms with large bathroom with both bath and separate shower. Executive room has Bose iPod dock and quality coffee making machine.

A really good selection of good quality fare at breakfast (all buffet). Staff very friendly and accommodating. Dinner in restaurant nicely presented in a pleasant relaxed atmosphere, by friendly staff.

The only thing we seriously didn't like was the noise and disruption from a wedding party on the Saturday night. It seems this is a cross that hotel guests have to bare whilst staying in many hotels. It would have been nice to have been advised in advance, so we could have made arrangements to go out that night (late night movie) or at least have purchased earplugs! This was compounded by reception giving false information as to the finish time of the event when asked at 11.30pm, we were told it was to finish shortly, when in reality it was still in full swing at gone 1.00am.

Poor quality pillows. Surely it would not be too much to ask that they supply four per double/twin room. And what is it about this obsession with scatter cushions. With the current concern with bed bugs in the hotel industry, surely it would be better to avoid these vehicles of potential transmission.

Totally agree with 'Terry W' regarding the truly awful toilet paper.

Finally, my usual hotel gripe - Cheap synthetic continental quilts. Why do hotels insist on using these infernal things. In summer especially, they are far too hot. If they must use them, natural filling and a lower TOG rating for summer is the least the customer should expect.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Cardiff and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Would definitely recommend this hotel, excellent location and rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Cardiff Centre, I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed at this property for two nights as we were touring the UK, Wales, Scotland and Ireland. Its what you expect from a Novotel and more than sufficient for two nights on the road trip. Good bathroom with shower and separate staff. Good size room and very friendly staff. Free Internet service as well.
One of the nicest things was that as the hotel did not have a laundry service operating for the two days we were there (it was the weekend) and we had spent five days in London prior to this and needed to get some laundry done they ran our laundry through their hotel laundry free of charge. This was a touch that was unexpected and greatly appreciated.
Ate in the restaurant and bar both nights, food was what expected and service was very good.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Sheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read

We will endeavour to continue spreading the light & warmth of hospitality and look forward to your return visit.

Thanks again for your review


Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

A four-star hotel par excellence!
We stayed for three nights on a leisure trip and would definitely return.
The Receptionist (Monica) was warm and welcoming and, having seen my disability, made sure we had a room near the lift to avoid walking the long corridors and she enquired as to whether I would prefer a shower to a bath.
The room, and indeed the whole hotel, was spotlessly clean. There was a small minibar in the room with a safe - always good to see - along with tea/coffee making facilities. We found the room a little too warm even though we turned the air conditioning to its coolest setting but as out room window looked out onto a flat room didn't like to leave the window open all night.
We ate in the hotel one night and the dinner was superb and reasonably priced. Another day we had a bar snack at lunch time which was very good and great value.
All the staff, without exception, were good and some were excellent - friendly and pleasant.
The location is fine, with a 15 minute walk into the city centre and a 25 minute walk to the Bay area.
The hotel has a large car park.
However - the toilet paper! This was possibly the cheapest, thinnest, narrowest, least absorbent that money can buy. For a 4* hotel that obviously spends millions ensuring that guests have a comfortable stay to penny-pinch is this way is very counter-productive - take your own toilet roll if you are staying here.
One other silly mistake - the spy holes in the room doors are at such a height that anyone under 6' would have difficulty using them - at 5'4" I found them useless.
Even though the hotel had some conferences in, the were not intrusive as is often the case.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments they are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Cardiff. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to Monica at the Hotel, where she will no doubt further be inspired by your kind words
I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $85 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing