We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cardiff
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,634)
Filter reviews
2,634 results
Traveler rating
1,061
1,033
348
130
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,061
1,033
348
130
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews x box executive room swimming pool car park the sofa bed steam room leisure facilities minute walk per day good size lovely hotel changing rooms reception staff great facilities coffee machine cardiff centre would stay again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,634 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2020

We had a 2 night stay in a family room this weekend for my daughter's 11th birthday.

We made full use of, and enjoyed, the swimming pool & hot tub. The breakfasts are fantastic with a full buffet including pastries, full English, pancakes, continental, cereals & toast. The bed was incredibly comfortable & the room well appointed & clean with a fantastic en-suite.

The staff were fantastic. On the day of my daughter's birthday she went to breakfast with her 'birthday girl' badge on & about 10 minutes later 2 members of staff, including the chap who checked us in for breakfast, came out with a slice of carrot cake with a candle on a beautifully decorated plate saying 'happy birthday' & sang her happy birthday (picture attached). I never asked for this nor did I expect it. My daughter was delighted - they really went above & beyond & were incredibly kind.

The room was very hot but was fairly quickly remedied by opening the window & setting the room thermostat very low (about 15 deg) & putting the fan on high & leaving it on.

I think this hotel offers fantastic value for money. The building as a former Victorian customs warehouse is both beautiful & fascinating & we all felt a little spoilt with our weekend's stay.

Thank you to all who made it.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the swimming pool, found our breakfast fantastic and loved the architecture and the history of our Building. The most important for us is to know that your daughter had a great experience for her 11th birthday, Andrew and our breakfast team were happy to sing along and commemorate her anniversary, we are passionate about our job and love people and party! We look forward to welcoming you soon! Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Have stayed at this hotel a few times.
Would recomment over other hotels nearby. Great bar with plenty of options.
Close to town and easy to find.

No problem with the restaurant but if you dont like it town is less than 10 mins walk away.

Clean modern rooms with TV, Desk etc

Spaces to sit and relax downstars with a coffee are very nice

Pool / Gym / Sauna are great although basic are sufficient with showers etc

Staff always friendly and ready to help doing the company name good.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank jamesdQ4342TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your Loyalty. I am delighted that you enjoyed your last experience and we all look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

The hotel was lovely and the staff were very accommodating and helpful. Food in the bar was pricey but only a short walk to City centre for food. Gym was small but had everything you needed and open early till late. Only downside was having to pay £12 for parking over night, however worth it for how close hotel is to Cardiff. Definitely will visit again. Recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ashbyliz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, glad that you enjoyed your visit. We really value your feedback, look forward to seeing you soon!Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

it is the fourth time we stay in this hotel. The location is very close to the centre ( only a short walk ) , hotel facilities are very good, if you would like to relax after your sightseeing the swimming pool and spa is the perfect place to go ( it is a real plus), the breakfast buffet has everything and more of what you would expect , including some welsh products . The food restaurant is very good as well.
What I would consider more valuable of this hotel though is not the hotel itself but how cozy and at home you feel , specially thanks to their staff , I would like to special mention David Ruiz who made us feel at home all the time. Thanks to make us feel like home .

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kokechibarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind comments, compliments and loyalty– I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience, David and the entire team will be happy to know and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Highest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Is the fourth time we stay in this Hotel. We decided to spend this special night in this Hotel because the rooms we booked are very cozy, the leisure fcilities are amazing, the bar and the breakfast is perfect and last but not least the staff of the Hotel makes your stay jouyfull, like David Ruiz, who take care of us and gived us advice during our stays.

Great stay! Sure you see us again on Easter!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergarbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your very kind words and loyalty. Very much appreciated and David and the entire team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves, a great way to start the New Year! We look forward to welcoming you back for Eastern. Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews