We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough for quick stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent enough for quick stays”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I've used Novotel Cardiff a few times when travelling on business, it's a bit like Ronseal I guess, 'does exactly what it says on the tin' which is fine but I'm not sure of that 4 star rating when compared to Radisson Blu for example.

Rooms are fine, facilities are fine and food is fine but a few extra touches here and there could lift the place up. Why not all free view channels on TV for instance and bathroom fittings in some rooms are a bit short on quality which is a shame, could also brighten the rooms up as they are a bit plain in style.

I'm sure most people will enjoy their stay here as most are on business it seems you won't be disappointed you just won't be amazed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Le_Keg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you continue to stay at the Novotel Cardiff. I note your feedback with regard to TV channels and am pleased to inform you that we are due to upgrade our systems to achieve this request.

All feedback is considered by the Management Team and where possible, we aim to be able to deliver a product that all guests will enjoy.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    858
    268
    84
    27
See reviews for
567
768
93
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Found staff to be friendly and helpful,only stayed for one night but would definitely stay again,Clean rooms with everything you need to hand,great that we had the pool to ourselves for a while,this was around 9-9:30 ish on a Saturday morning,however it did look a lot busier later in the day.Great interior design...incorporating the old warehouse with new design.Free parking onsite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you and your family had enjoyable 1 night stay with us and that the location, room, staff friendliness and pool area were the highlights of your visit.

I hope that I may welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Looking around for a hotel to stay in with the family for 2 nights simply to enjoy the sites of Cardiff we first stumbled on the Holiday Inn Express. A great hotel for a tight budget and with a free breakfast I knew from experience that the rooms were small when using the sofa bed. So I looked again and found the Novotel and very glad I am too. I would go as far as saying the Novotel is a "boutique" hotel. Half its rooms are in a converted factory building and means that the rooms is this half are extremely quiet and about twice the size of the the Holiday inns.

We had a fantastic breakfast with everything you could want on order. The pool was used by use on each day of the stay and is included in the price. The boys also enjoyed the games machine available in the atrium of the hotel. An area that was very popular for simply chilling in.

For around £70 a night for a family for 4 including the spa/swimming pool and breakfast, it was an absolute steal and we will be back in a shot if we head to Cardiff again.

Oh and the staff were extremely helpful too. All around 5/5.

Room Tip: We paid around £4 a night extra for a premium room, I think that means its in the converted factory...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BournemouthFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and that you found good value for money as well as being impressed with the services and facilities of the hotel.

I hope that next time you visit Cardiff, you will consider the Novotel as your first choice.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel recently and found overall the staff were pleasant and facilities good. Rooms were clean however there were hidden charges if you failed to read small print. For example they charged to listen to music and most TV channels had a charge. The receptionist on arrival was not overly friendly and lacked clear language as she struggled to understand my Yorkshire accent and I struggled to understand her Slovakian accent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smithelsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, found the staff pleasant and the facilities good.
In reference to your comments with regard to music and TV channels being chargeable, please note that the only chargeable items are downloadable chart music and pay-per view movies. The standard TV channels a free to view and by the end of 2013, we are scheduled for an upgrade to this system to enable even more channels.

I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Novotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station and/or bus station. It is a modern hotel which has both a modern wing and a converted warehouse wing. It has all the usual features of a new Novotel - great gym/pool, good restaurant, nice bar and areas for the kids plus a couple of Macs. I stayed in an exec room in the coverted part of the building which was excellent in terms of space, cleanliness and facilities (Ipod dock, nespresso machine, water and premium wifi). Car parking outside. Great welcome from reception team and service generally was attentive and prompt. Will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room in the converted warehouse part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review following your recent stay.

I am delighted that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay and that you were pleased with the services an facilities that the hotel offers.

I am also pleased that you liked the Executive Room, leisure facilities, kids area, iMacs, bar, restaurant and especially the 'great welcome'.

I hope that next time you are in Cardiff, you will choose to return for another great stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A great location for a weekend stay in Cardiff, an easy walk to both the city centre and the bay. The hotel it self is exactly as advertised , nothing more nothing less and the pool is definitely a bonus. Breakfast was of good standard with plenty to choose from and efficient service from staff all round. As previously mentioned information on the local area was not available , I would expect to be some leaflets/ brochures to be in reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrHappyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments.

I am pleased that you both had an enjoyable weekend at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and that you enjoyed the location, breakfast, pool area and service.

I note your comment about brochures which we do have available and a tourist guide. We do not actively display the brochures but are available when requested. We also have the iMacs at Reception that are free to use and the staff can offer recommendations upon request. We appreciate your feedback that will be discussed with the team.

I hope that I may be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a three night stay. Check in was easy and the staff where friendly. There wasn't any local things to do pamphlets at the reception and the reception staff didn't go out of their way to explain about local restaurants - bars or things to do. The room we stayed in was an executive suite which was very clean and quite large but was plainly decorated.
Breakfast was buffet style and very enjoyable, all the waitress's where very polite and helpful.

Parking is £9 per 24 hours, when you enter the car park you take a ticket that you then take to reception to have validated before you return to your car. The final car park fee is then added to your room when you leave. Wifi is free and in reception there are two apple computers for guests to use.

We ate at the Toby carvery at Barry and TGIs on Newport road, both where excellent

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank digger2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre.

I am pleased that you had a good overall visit and that you particularly enjoyed the breakfast, service and Executive Room upgrade.

I hope that next time, I will have the opportunity to welcome you both back.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing