We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel near the centre of Cardiff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the centre of Cardiff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a couple of weekends this summer when visiting Cardiff for some exams at the University. The hotel is situated in the former renovated dockland area, and the hotel building itself appears to be partly a renovated and restored dock building, but with all modern facilities added. The swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and gym facilities are excellent. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly arranging taxis at short notice etc. This hotel has parking on site, although there is a charge. It is only a short walk, or even shorter taxi ride, into the very centre of Cardiff, and yet being situated a few hundred yards away from the humming city centre it was nice and quiet back at the hotel.
In summary this is an excellent hotel for a visit to Cardiff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for you review following your recent stays at the Novotel Cardiff Centre.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the room comfort, cleanliness, staff friendliness, location and leisure facilities during your visits.

I hope that should you return to Cardiff, you will make the Novotel your hotel of choice.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    823
    259
    75
    25
See reviews for
552
736
91
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is ideally located between the bay and the city centre. We stay here every year and enjoy everything the hotel has to offer, especially the pool. The staff is friendly, the food is great and we also have a lot of benefits from being le club Accor members.
Definitely going back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank vladsomesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I am delighted that you and your family had a great stay and that you particularly enjoyed the hotel location, food, staff and leisure facilities.

I hope that on your next visit to Cardiff, you will choose the Novotel for another great stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel mixes an old warehouse with a new build alongside. Our room was in the old part of the building and was big and very clean. The bed was comfy and the room very quiet. The only negative was the pathetic extractor in the bathroom which meant it steamed up straight away.

The hotel is a very short walk from the main drag across a footbridge so is in a perfect location although I wouldn't like to cross the bridge late at night so a slightly longer walk on the way home but still it's in just the right spot for shopping and nightlife.

Breakfast was really good and the staff very helpful making it our favourite hotel in Cardiff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loobyloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you ofr your review and feedback.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you consider the Novotel Cardiff Centre to be your "favourite hotel in Cardiff".

I hope that next time, I will be able to welcome you both back myself.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel was welcoming and modern while retaining some original features. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our two rooms were very clean and luxurious. The beds were so comfy and the additional sofa bed we needed was set up on arrival. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi were lovely and we felt totally spoilt. We paid £20 pounds for the two adult breakfasts and our three children ate for free. The breakfast was delicious and catered for all. The children also enjoyed playing on the games consoles in the lobby and the pcs which were available. They all felt at ease throughout the stay. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

I am delighted that you were pleased with the original features of the hotel in addition to the comfort of your room, family activities including the leisure club and kids corner.

I hope that on your next visit to Cardiff, you will choose to stay at the Novotel for another 'fantastic stay'.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location a short walk from the drag of bars, really easy access for the stadium
Great breakfast, all public areas well kept - and a pool too.
All the staff were polite and the bar staff were great too.
Top choice :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessep666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for your review following your recent stay.

I am pleased that you and you found the location, staff and breakfast were highlights of your visit to the Novotel Cardiff Centre.

I hope that next time you are in Cardiff, you and your friends will choose the Novotel again.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing