We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Outside of toilet bowl was soiled. Surfaces in the room were very smeary. Carpet in the room was filthy. Soft furnishings generally were tatty. Staff were very pleasant, especially in the restaurant, and the breakfast was very good. The architecture of the reception area was very impressive. The swimming pool area looked very nice but I did not use this facility.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

We treat all comments with utmost seriousness and i am investigating this matter accordingly. Please feel free to contact me on 02920 47500 to discuss this matter further.

I am pleased that you did enjoy certain aspects of your stay including the service, breakfast and the layout of Reception/Swimming Pool. I hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in Novotel Cardiff and make your next stay a fully enjoyable visit.


Kind regards


Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,492 - 1,498 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

The first hotel booked for my daughters wedding (set in landscaped gardens etc etc typical choice) went into administration so we moved venue, to Novotel Cardiff which I have used for business meetings and have always received a high standard of service. The main function room (The Warehouse) which was originally a victorian design fruit and veg warehouse with large metal pillars is stunning when set up for a wedding, plus there are plenty of photo opportunities in the area. Excellent food, service and attention to detail ....WOW... well done to all at Novotel Cardiff for making a memorable day even more memorable ...the service and standards were more like any 5 Star that I have stayed in, in Dubai
Oh and the bedrooms and breakfast were great too!

Room Tip: individual taste...if you want to stay in the new or old part of the building, I like both...if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jokar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review.

On behalf of all the team, we are delighted that your special day was a 'memorable' one and that you and your guests were able to enjoy the service and standards that you have become accustomed to.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is not for families, it is for business people. Their swimming pool is freezing and so are the changing rooms. For the money they charge a few degrees would make a difference. We had no towels for our children or cups and had to ask twice. I think that was because their reception staff did not understand basic English. We asked for a recommendation about eating out and were thrown a folder as I think that she did not know what country she was in herself. All a little disappointing!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank misseyhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I am disappointed to read your opinion of your stay at the hotel and am sorry that your experience was not a pleasant one. I am looking into the matter and will discuss your comments with the team.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Apart from the fire alarm being set off by persons unknown, at 4am a good hotel, comfortable with friendly staff. Food range good, solid bed good sleep. Shower and bathroom well equipped.
Vey close to the town centre and shops, a good walk to the bay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you and your family had a 'comfortable' stay and that you were pleased by the location between the Bay and city centre. I am also pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and the rooms well equipped.

I hope to welcome you all back again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a lovely stay here on Sunday night, I love this hotel. Rooms spacious, very clean, everything about it was impressive. Lovely pool, great friendly staff, prices in the bar not too bad at all. 5 Min walk into Town, can't fault it, will definitely be returning soon. Thanks :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wales2011Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you both had an 'excellent' stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am particularly pleased that you found the location, service and amenities to your liking.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel for 1 night after a night out in Cardiff. The hotel is generally good for a flying visit. However the location, just out of walking range on a wet Welsh evening is not the best. The staff on reception seem to suffer from a lack of bother, especially given the 4am fire alarm that accidentally went off, emptying the hotel into the cold night air, was followed up without even a hint of an apology. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped and there is a bonus of a decently priced car park if you're coming by road. Altogether uninspiring, yet ultimately adequate city hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthewace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased that you found the rooms comfortable and well equipped in addition to finding the car parking reasonably priced.

I am sorry that your stay was affected by the Fire Alarm that was raised, although the necessity to evacuate the building is paramount for the safety of all guests.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with a much more pleasant experience should you choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards


Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having booked a relaxing night away with my husband, the Novotel did not fail to impress. The hotel was decorated immaculately with friendly and approachable staff. Very comfortable room and wonderful health spa facilities. Lovely breakfast selection on offer too. Would definitely return and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MrsP1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed a relaxing gettaway and that the services/facilities you experienced came with your recommendation.

I hope to welcome you both back again very soon.

Kind regards


Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $76 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing