We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families wishing to stay close to city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with friends. Both family rooms with 4 and 6 year olds. We stayed here as had tickets for show at motor point.

What's good: very close to city centre and motor point arena. (£5 in cab or short walk). Kids area with play station in reception and nice seating area for adults. Free Internet access on apple computers for 20 mins in reception. Great breakfast. Nice pool.

What's not so good: hard to fault but if there is room to improve... The pool was strong on chlorine. All kids had red eyes and were coughing after 30 min swim. Changing rooms also small.

Be aware of: parking is £9 for 24 hrs for residents.

Overall: a great break. Not necessarily cheap but good value overall.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bristol062011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review and feedback.

I am delighted that overall you and your family had a pleasant stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and found it good value.

I hope that on your next visit to Cardiff, I will be able to welcome you back to this hotel.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,165)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Cardiff Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,479 - 1,485 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed at the Novotel for 2 nights and will be returning next week. I stayed in room 303 which was really spacious and very comfortable. The room was very quiet overlooking the car park so I was able to get a good nights sleep. I used the pool and steam room which were both good and the hotel also has a gym, sauna and jacuzzi. Glad I brought my own toiletries as the ones supplied are not really that great. Minimal tea and coffee and biscuits in the room but made up for by the excellent breakfast. The bathroom was spacious with white fluffy towels. I ordered room service which arrived within 20 minutes, good choice of menu available and the food was good. I am looking forward to returning next week when I shall be in Cardiff again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review.

I am delighted that you had an 'excellent' stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and enjoyed the breakfast and leisure facilities.

I hope that on your return next week, we can provide you with another great stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lovely hotel, just 5 minute walk to Cardiff city centre - perfect if in town for Millenium Stadium or Motorpoint Arena - nice modern feel to public areas, friendly, helpful staff.

Upgraded to premium room which was excellent - windows on 3 walls, so spacious, and perfect for the birthday treat we were looking for. Would definitely stay again, and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambermooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your Executive room upgrade and thank you for your comments regarding the level of service that you experienced.

I hope to welcome you both back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the Wales Ireland match and had an excellent stay. Check in was easy and the executive room was large and overlooked the car park at the back and was very quiet. We were disappointed to note that there was only one bath towel even though there were two of us staying. We rang down to reception who within ten minutes brought us an extra one. Disappointed that the glasses in the room were plastic. Bed and bathroom were very good and having a separate toilet was handy. Hotel was quiet and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was amazing! The best hotel breakfast we have ever had and being served till midday was a bonus. Car parking for £9 a day was good and no problem parking. Hotel is literally ten minutes walk tithe centre. Will definitely stay here whenever we are in cardiff. Cannot praise the hotel and staff enough. Had late check out but we needed to get home but yet again another facility other major hotel chains don't offer. Only thing I would suggest is free wifi would be good. Keep up the good work and we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LISA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre.

I am delighted to read that your found the breakfast to be the 'best hotel breakfast' that you've ever had! and for your recommendation.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The position of the hotel is great between the city and the bay area. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and offered an extensive range of choice. The swimming oil was a good size for a hotel and all the facilities very clean. Some interesting architectural features

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

I am delighted that you both found the staff to be 'extremely friendly and helpful' and that we were able to contribute to your enjoyable visit to Cardiff.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We'd booked tickets for a concert at the Motorpoint Arena and I thought about going back to stay in nearby hotels we'd been before. However, the wife and I fancied a little more comfort and a chance for a relaxing time before and after the show.

We arrived on a Saturday night around 2:30 (check-in is 2pm) and quickly made our way to our room to get ready for the spa. The room was spacious, well laid out and very well finished. Off to the spa for a soak in the jacuzzi (enough for 6 people at a push), a few lengths in the pool, into the steam room and then the sauna (both just about room for 6 in each). All were in very good condition and none felt crowded at any time.

Back to the room... the queen sized bed was extremely comfortable!! the remote didn't work well on the media centre and we only got use out of the normal TV channels anyway although plenty available to keep you amused (keyboard to help with any online surfing, etc).
Dinner was only being served in the restaurant between 6 - 10pm so we couldn't plan that into our schedule so we ate out locally as the doors for the Arena opened at 6pm (the menu did look nice though). We returned late to the hotel bar and had a cocktail (although they'd run out of a few ingredients leaving the selection a little sparse... and I could have done with some feedback that my cocktail would be "pink"!!).

Corridor noise was a little too evident as you could hear guests comings and goings... slightly disappointed that this wasn't more insulated ! However, the lined curtains work really well !

In the morning we enjoyed a nicely cooked and laid out breakfast (£10 each) and were able to extend our checkout for free as this is apparently available on Sundays... so we asked for checkout at 4pm. However, after another hour or two back in the spa it was time to go around 1pm anyway.

There was plenty of room for cars in the car park which costs £9 overnight. No problem trying to find a space - and I could see my car from the room :)

A very nice hotel, polite and attentive staff, relaxed but professional environment.
You pay a little more, but you get a little more back.

Booked through Booking.com.

Room Tip: If staying until Sunday, ask for a free late checkout...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonjasonparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am dleighted that you had an enjoyable visit and found the hotel services and facilities convenient for your trip to Cardiff.

I hope that on your next visit, you will choose the Novotel Cardiff Centre and i look ofrward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukbpen1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $85 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing