We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and reasonable prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nice quality hotel and good prices if you pick up one of the many deals online. If you don't mind a 5 minute walk it's easy access to the City Centre without being in the thick of all the noise when you're trying to sleep. Your stay can either be expensive or reasonable, it's up to you. If you take them up on breakfast and help yourself to the mini bar, then you can probably add as much to the bill as the room cost in the first place but if you don't mind winging it in one of the many cafe's and restaurants in town then you will probably get better food, better atmosphere and for the same price or cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased that you found the location, cleanliness and pricing reasonable and i hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you both back again soon.

Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,572 - 1,578 of 2,201 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just back from a weekend in Novotel Cardiff and had a great time. Nice quiet rooms, comfy bed, excellent pool and gym. Nice friendly staff, especially the Portugese barman! Lovely cocktails & a good breakfast. About 10-15 mins walk into Cardiff, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted that you had a 'great time' at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and thank you for the recommendation. I will take pleasure in passing on your compliments to the staff also.

I hope that we can welcome you both back again soon on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Currently on business in Newport, but choose to stay in Cardiff due to resturants & night-life.
I picked this hotel on advice from this website & the peoples ("you") reviews..

I can tell you this is one of the best hotel in the area, lovely airy rooms, lovely pool, great gym & excellent food.. Also the staff are great...
BETTER NEWS: The exec rooms have been equiped with BOSE docking station, which i play my music everynight (sorry to my neighbouring room "mates") & a Nespresso machine (''nice touch, great coffee'').
The bath suite is very modern giving you a separate bath & shower, lovely low lights around the room, lovely bath-robes "which I've taken" ;-) & a nice selection TV/radio channels.
The beds are very comfy, giving me a lovely nights sleeps - "Leaving me signing in the morning on the way to the lifts....."

The food served at the hotel is very good, both breakfast & dinner. Very equiped bar, which is ALWAYS GOOD!!

ALL-IN-ALL, I'll be staying here everytime i visit from now on...

Stay and join my (new) club.....
@michaelhudson82

Room Tip: Add some extra fruit in your pockets for the busy day ahead of you!! - I DO...... :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MforMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the added benefits of an Executive upgrade.

We look forward to your next visit to the Novotel Cardiff Centre.

Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Totally relaxed atmosphere... Upgraded to a terrace suite without any hassle or problems at all. The front desk manager and his staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating ...without being intrusive. We would definitely return again to same hotel and room...especially during a sunny weather spell ( the terrace balcony would be great for al fresco relaxation ). All in all, good value, great staff, modern decor, and a great spa and pool, absolutely spotless and very modern, with two adjoining top class gym/training rooms staffed by a very professional attendants.

The adjoining car park which is predominantly gravel could be smartened up to improve the exterior look of the place. It was very patchy in places and made it look as if it had not been maintained. A tarmac surfaced parking area with clearly defined spaces would be better... It may seem trivial, just a question of aestethics, but it does make a visual impact on first arrival, and that's very important to many travellers.

Room Tip: A top floor terrace suite facing the bay area.... excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am delighted to undertand that you had an enjoyable stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and that you were pleased with your upgrade.

I look forward to sharing your kind comments with my colleagues and hope that we can welcome you both back again soon.

Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here with 3 workmates in early October. I arrived in Cardiff by train and the hotel is a short taxi ride (10 minutes in traffic) from the train station. My 3 colleagues used the parking facilities which were ample. We all chose this Novotel on the basis of its central location and value for money.
Unfortunately I can't comment on the restaurant facilities as we ate out at Cardiff Bay as guests of a supplier. The hotel was an easy 15 minute walk to the Restaurant and Bar area at the Bay.
The reception staff were very efficient at check in and out and the rooms were excellent with plenty of power points for laptop and mobile chargers, etc. Single occupancy Queen bed was very comfortable.
If I visit Cardiff again then this hotel would be my first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billytf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you and your colleagues enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am also delighted to understand that you would consider the hotel as your 'first choice' on your next visit to Cardiff.

I hope that i can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Caution: my reviews err on the side of the positive to consider the 'bigger picture'.

My husband and I were visiting family in nearby Penarth, and the Novotel was an excellent base for a two night stay. Can't comment on whether it was easy to find as we always had a lift there from people familiar with its location. About a 10-15 minute walk to the Red Dragon Centre and the bay to the south, and under seven minutes to John Lewis and one end of the city centre (meaning it's furthest from the stadium and the castle if you're not a walker!).

Room: contemporary and basic, airy and certainly spacious. Basic linen and towelling with mod cons as listed by other reviewers (kettle, refreshments, mini bar). A good hairdryer, iron and enough clothing storage. We noticed the curtains needed fixing (holey) and the bath could do with some Mr Muscle down the plug as when using the shower it filled up.

Facilities: the bar area was spacious and modern with very friendly barmen. Plenty of choice on the menu, although we didn't eat. Drinks in line with normal hotel charges, and a fair amount of choice. Free 20 minute Mac use, and even an X Box which were nice touches. Swimming pool and area clean, steam and sauna in good working order - all areas were nice and warm.

Hospitality: the receptionist on Saturday was friendly but gave no information about the hotel, didn't make any small talk to promote the hotel, or told us when to check out (there was nothing in the room either, so we hazarded a guess at 11am). Reception always seemed quite busy even today on a Monday, but lots of guests so to be expected. Cleaners always said hello, and generally there was a relaxed atmosphere.

Overview: great for business travellers for two to three nights, not overly romantic for couples, seemed to attract a lot of families too. A good, functional hotel if you don't plan on doing much more than eating and sleeping there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyful3179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your detailed feedback. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and that you were complimentary of the hotel services and facilities.

I hope that on your next visit to Cardiff you choose to stay with us and i hope to welcome you both back again soon.

Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

THe hotel is central food is excellent but could do with more staff on reception staffing seems to be an issue but the staff can not be faulted they are very helpful the food at breakfast and in the evening is of good quality

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed the quality of the cuisine at the hotel and hope that we can welcome you back agin soon.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $80 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing