We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,392)
Filter reviews
2,392 results
Traveler rating
959
963
314
109
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
959
963
314
109
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsx boxexecutive roomswimming poolcar parkthe sofa bedleisure facilitiessteam roomminute walkper daylovely hotelgood sizechanging roomsgreat facilitiescoffee machinereception staffcardiff centreshort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,900 - 1,905 of 2,392 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We recently spent the night at the Novotel in Cardiff. The hotel is easy to get to and very clean and tidy. There is ample parking for £8 per day but you need to make sure that you request this in advance. We didn't use a lot of the facilities but there is a pool, spa and gym which is included in the room price. The mini bar is the usual hotel comedy. £1.30 for a Snickers bar or £2.50 for a small can of lager but the shops and bars are only a short 10 minute walk and Cardiff has a lot to offer. The only thing that let the Novotel down was the staff. What a miserable bunch they are. The reception staff are gloomy and don't smile and unless they are dealing directly with you, you may as well be invisible to them. Cheer up, at least you have a nice hotel to work in.

Room Tip: Late rooms have some great deals for this hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruddy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and i will certainly discuss your comments with our Front Office Manager. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel is lovely. Stayed here over my birthday, had a deluxe room, well worth the money in this Novotel. Lovely comfy bed and area was really clean. Great service at the front desk. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spider-Mike88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Thank you very much for your review of the Novotel Cardiff Centre. We are always pleased to receive all feedback and your positive comments will be shared with the team. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The hotel is partly built into what was a fruit and vegetable warehouse, I believe around the beginning of the last century. So you've got to accept that some of te windows in the building are quite small, as the hotel reuses a building designed for a fundamentally different purpose.

Having said that, the conversion to its new use exploits rather than ignores this charming reuse of quite beautiful industrial architecture, delivering what is actually a comfortable and interesting building far removed from the "box on the high street" format from which so many new hotels suffer.

The training facilities are well appointed, but where the hotel really scores is the outstanding level of customer service. The place is populated by staff who actually believe they are there to help, and go out of their way to do so.

As a teacher, I am accustomed to the "if you didn't order it", for which read "pay for it", it isnt going to happen". Not a bit of it with this team. One of my students was Eastern Orthodox, and as we are now in Lent at the time of writing, meal times were a real issue for her, as most if not all of the "standard" menu was off limits. So the hotel's answer was to have the chef have a chat with her about what her needs were, and how he could accommodate them while she was with us, even with no prior notice, without any indication that there was any problem in doing so.

The food was of a very high standard, and above all, the attention to detail shone through at every turn. Even down to the presentation of meals for a large and hungry group of course attendees, everything was done with an exquisite attention to detail.

Well done guys, your effrots were noticed and deeply appreciated!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted to hear that you and your colleagues enjoyed your stay, the hotel itself and particularly that you considered the staff to give 'outstanding customer service'. I will take pleasure in communicating your review to the staff and hope that we can accomodate you again in the future.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I've stayed at quite a lot of hotels and you start to get a little more savvy regarding price. For our two night stay we paid £135 for two nights.

Firstly parking. It's £8 for 24 hours. Not too bad for a city location.

The hotel itself is a mix of new and old buildings. It has character and not far from the bay or city centre.

The staff on reception are fantastic and attentive. Nothing was too much bother for them. They even called taxis for you.

We stayed in a standard double room which has a nice large comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom and shower. The curtains really keep put the daylight. Tea and coffee making facilities are also available. What was strange was that we had trouble locating the hotel guide until we found it held in a bracket fixed to a wardrobe!

Room service was almost impeccable but they didn't replace the spoons we had used. Hopefully this was an oversight.

We didn't try the restaurant or other facilities as we were on a farily tight schedule.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and have rebooked for June.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobsBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank your for taking the time to review the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am delighted that you had a 'very comfortable' stay and enjoyed the character of the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in June and that you will have the opportunity to make the most of all our facilities.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews