We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Booked this hotel for my works party, booked it via late rooms and it was well worth the money. Easy to get into cardiff town centre, nice swimming pool with, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Breakfast looked nice but was too hungover to try any. Rooms were very nice with a nice size bathroom. Bed was very confortable and myself and my partner had a great nights sleep. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you and your partner had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the services and facilities available. I look forward to your next visit whereupon you will be able to sample the breakfast cuisine!.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,816 - 1,822 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

Lovely hotel, modern, well designed. Rooms well proportioned and a good sized bathroom with separate shower and bath, extra glazing for sound proofing. Comfortable king size beds and good pillows. Enjoyed an excellent hot/ cold buffet breakfast which is AVAILABLE until noon - think this is a real bonus after a late night out. Huge bar area with comfortable seating and a pool/ spa. Parking on site and the hotel is a short walk to the city centre, I believe.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAISYBOO17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that the breakfast is served until noon (At the weekend)
I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights when Australia played Wales in the rugby, and because of this the second night was much more expensive. The location is pretty good, bit further out than some other hotels (about 15minute walk to the stadium), and the rooms modern and clean, although the bathroom needed some work (the glass panel on the side of the shower leaked a lot of water onto the floor).
There is a fitness centre that we didn't use, and the bar is very modern and serves food and we came back there rather than fighting everyone for the bars in Cardiff centre.
The bed was extremely comfortable, as were the pillows and I slept like a baby!!
We were able to leave our bags there after we checked out, and they organised a cab for us for the afternoon.
Overall a great hotel, nice staff, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I booked one night of the Novotel in Cardiff partly because being central and also the attractive price. Not over impressed, getting access to it was challenging to say the least! Cardiff town planning baffled me immensely and the hotel is built in a "new" area with limited road access.

Reception was pleasant - the room was spacious but three things did irritate me:
a) it took ages for the warm water to come under the shower - I am a regular traveller the time it took has beaten every record .. only persistence pays!
b) I asked for a wake-up call and this did not come - hopefully I awoke without this.
c) more annoying is that the room was overheated in the evening with no possibility of opening a window nor lowering the temperature - I was "stuck" with that heat - the reception offered me a fan - which in the middle of winter seems paradoxical!

Breakfast was good with plenty of selection! Quiet night and refreshed but I may give it a miss next time I am in Cardiff. Novotel have to learn to look after their customers a little better!
JP

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPD62240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty in locating the hotel and that the issues experienced in your room were a problem for you. Any issues reported to staff are generally dealt with swifty and to meet, if not exceed the expectations of our customers.
I am pleased to hear that you found reception pleasant, the room spacious and that breakfast was to your satisfaction.
I hope that should you choose to stay with us again, we will have the opportunity to provide you with the best possible service.
Best regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Situated between the City centre and the docks area (an easy walk to both), this modern hotel is well worth considering.

As it's been open for a couple of years, it is still in good condition. Reception is in a very airy atrium and the staff are friendly & helpful. The adjacent bar area had plenty of soft seating for drinking, relaxing or trying the bar food. However, we were there in January and the bar area was rather cold because it had so many outside glass.

Breakfast was a good buffet.

The rooms are all the same, a double bed and a sofa bed - so be careful if you have booked a Twin as only one of you will have a 'proper' bed. Having said that, I'm told the sofa bed was fine. There are a couple of suites on the top floor with a lounge, big bedroom with a large bed (TV in both). Both rooms have big patio windows out on to a terrace overlooking the excellent redeveloped docks area

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SafariMan149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and found the staff friendly and helpful during your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at quite a few Novotels and this one was by far the best. The rooms are lovely, the building itself is really quirky and still has some of its original charm. The pool, sauna and Steam room were lovely we used them most mornings before breakfast. The breakfast was the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel it was truely amazing.
This hotel is in a good place as its situated about 5-10 mins walk into the shopping centre with lots of shops, bars and restaurants.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Novotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stews_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for your complementary review. I am delighted that you particularly enjoyed the breakfast and the other areas of the hotel. I will pass onto the staff that along with a previous review, that you also rank the Novotel Cardiff Centre as 'the best Novotel in the world!'. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I use Novotels a lot (as well as many competitor brands). I have no doubt that this one is the most comfortable and friendly of all of them - worldwide. Some of the resort type meay seem impressive but none score so highly on efficiency and staff friendliness. One small winter criticism - rooms can be a little cold on arrival, perhasp saving energy?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and the team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and that you rank us as 'The best Novotel in the world'!. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $79 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing