We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We booked this hotel via another site because of the price afterwards we wondered why we got it so cheap and what what would we get for our money well......the rooms for 3 were great great showers plenty of tea/coffee stuff everything you needed hair dryer tele iPod connection etc etc if I were to be picky then the pillows were a bit thin but a couple on top of each other were suffice .then on top of that we had the complimentary pool sauna jacuzzi gym and towels provided aswell plus free computers and games machines in the reception.then on top of the price we had full breakfast and what a great breakfast variety and plenty of it aswell.then on top of that it's a 5 to 10 min walk to the city centre very convienient we had dinner at the old library very nice and cheap !and saving the best to last the staff were all very friendly and helpful thank you for a very nice and comfortable stay

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethesunTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.
Kind regards
Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,165)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Cardiff Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,765 - 1,771 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was our first stay at this chain of hotels and overall we found it to be very good. The hotel is light, airy and clean and is very modern in its design. The staff were courteous and helpful. There were a few issues: the pricing on breakfast is unclear. The website says £13.95 but if you pre book you are given vouchers which gives you breakfast for £8 - I am not griping about that - great to have it cheaper but it was very confusing - sometimes we were given vouchers for £8 - sometimes we were charged the higher rate (of course this was all corrected at checkout and we only had to pay £8) but it is nicer to know at the beginning. The food was great - no probs at all - a great selection of hot and cold food available for breakfast. We had dinner there one night - fillet steak - cooked to perfection and very nice polite staff. We had a Tastecard which allowed us to get 50% off the food. A word of warning - the reception staff have never heard of Tastecard to go and pre book in the restaurant itself...........The rooms were spacious and comfortable - the bar area was very cold to sit in at night (due to air con up too high). The pool is good but only admits under 16's up to 7pm. No under 16's are allowed in gym either. I was a bit annoyed that the person doing the sports massage was not there in the week!!!!

Location good - 15 minutes to the bay and about 10 to the city centre (on foot)

All in all I would stay at one of these hotels again

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Novotel Cardiff Cetnre and i hope to welcome your family back in the future.
Kind regards
Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My mum and I stayed here for a girly weekend away! We had the most amazing time. The hotel was in a good location in the middle of bay and city. 10mins walk either way. Rooms were spacious and modern. The breakfast was wonderful I wasn't hungry until dinner in the evening.
The swimming pool was wonderful always quiet beautiful facilities!
Hotel had free Internet downstairs , bar was lovely great atmosphere. We didn't eat in restaurant as such choice in the city but menu looked great
I can't wait to come back!!!!!! There looks a great new year deal we might e back!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo88Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for your review. I am glad that your stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre contributed towards your 'amazing' weekend away. We really appreciate your feedback and i hope that we see you on your return visit over New Year.
Kind regards
Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

i booked the Novotel because it was one of the few hotels that had a room available for a half term short break, and i am so glad i did. a bright clean modern hotel, Very friendly staff ,clean rooms with lots of nice extra touches, Iphone plugs into the TV so you can listen to your music, nice big fluffy towels , need extra milk for another cuppy-no problem , need more pillows-no problem all given straight away. even the lifts are a treat glass fronted and a view of Cardiff as you whisk up to your floor.
then the leisure area , towels given for the pool , nice shower gel in the showers , plenty of hot water for showers before after and in between the pool , sauna, steam room and jacuzzi
a gym and a cold drinking water fountain, like i said about the rooms there as been plenty of thought as gone into the little things and all included in the room rate. pool open from 7 am till 10pm.
the full breakfast sets you up for a day of sight seeing and shopping , all the items offered at breakfast are of the best quality , proper coffee and a whole pot to your selves.

plenty of car parking for a small day rate.
easy walk into town
we had a meal in the resturant and again it did not fall short , good quality and serviced by friendly staff.
we will be returing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpetman1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind compliments and comments. I am delighted that the quality of your stay has left you wanting to come back and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Very clean, excellent service from all staff, ideal location for either walking in to Cardiff centre or the bay and plenty of parking (although this had to be paid for in addition to the room rate and was quite expensive). The facilities such as the swimming pool, gym, restaurant and bar were very good. The executive room was well presented although this came at an additional cost. The room would have benefited from air conditioning as it as it got very warm - when the window was open there was quite a lot of noise from the road.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for your review and your high recommendation. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to providing you with 'excellent service' once again!
Kind regards
Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

IF you can book a room at the Cardiff Novotel for their 70 GBP rate, then you will have the best value for money in Cardiff city Centre. If you have children, then this is the place you want to go - to pamper yourself while they get their energies out in the pool. Their breakfast can't be beat from the character brick-clad dining room to the croissants, fresh fruit - there's even pumpkin seeds available! AND this is one of few hotels that will make vegetarian sausages happily upon request. On Sunday afternoons they have a wonderful policy of a late check-out. Now, let's talk about the price. You can get a room for 70 GBPs. If you book this online it will only indicate ONE child, but the hotel is happy to accommodate TWO. The 70 rate sometimes does not include breakfast, so if you want this deal (and we sometimes do...), you will need to pay 95 or 100 GBPs. This is far less than if you walk off the street. When the prices are higher than this, we look at staying at the Holiday Inn Express a few minutes away - but when you can get these prices, it is the best deal in town. The Pool is clean and neat - there's a small fitness centre as well. St David's Shopping centre is a 10 minute walk away as is Cardiff bay (in the opposite direction). You can sometimes do an executive upgrade for 20 GBPs which is worth it if you want free movies, internet and espresso coffee in a slightly larger room. I've always found the staff helpful and we go there whenever we want a little pampering.

Room Tip: If you go for the executive upgrade, ask if you can have a room at the end of the hall in the older...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that the Executive Upgrade was enjoyed. All feedback is important to us and i look forward to sharing your kind compliments with the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Modern hotel, excellent location - short walk to city centre. Room fairly standard and as one would expect from an hotel in this price range. All staff extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfasts good. Can't help feeling that Best Western do just as well overall for lower tariff. BAD POINT: £8 a day to use hotel car park - completely out of order.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw70a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to to the Novotel Cardiff. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and we have noted your comments about parking, which is competititvely priced compaired with other city centre hotels. Kind regards
Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $86 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing