We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Hotel Novotel Quite expensive, but a very pleasant stay. Used the pool a number of times during my two day stay and exercise facilities also available. Breakfast excellent which was included in my rate. Snack food and meals expensive. Reception staff excellent. Very pleasant and helpful especially a young lady named Laila. If you want a quiet room ask for one facing the car park as many of the rooms face a busy road. It is easier to walk into the city centre than take a local bus as the buses (well those I found) only run approximately every 30 mins.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Ystrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,123 - 2,129 of 2,261 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2007

This hotel was excellent, it's in a great location; 10-15mins walk to Mermaid Quay and same into the city centre. The staff were all exceptional and offered high service. The breakfast was wonderful- continental and cooked items.
We had a wonderful time and would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussie_travelling07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Stayed at the Novotel on 13th, check in was fine although we couldn't check in till 2pm, the receptionist staff could have been a bit more friendly, they weren't too bad though. We was expecting the room to be a bit bigger as there was 3 of us (1 child of 10yrs), and reading the last review they obviously had bigger room as we did not have a separate shower and bath, and it definately wasn't a big room. We had no proper cushions on our bed, just square ones that you have on a sofa, there was one on the pull out bed! The room was pleasant although I'm sure we should have had a bigger room, had booked 2 months in advance too.
Great location near to Cardiff Bay (Red Dragon Centre for Doctor Who) ten min walk and Cardiff Town Centre about 15min walk. Swimming Pool was very nice, very crowded as it is not big, so couldn't really enjoy it greatly.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Vicky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Booked 4 nights from Tuesday 7th August 2007 with Superbreak very good value at 60 pounds per night including breakfast. Cannot recommend this hotel too highly, deserves 4 star rating. Had family room on 5th floor with sliding patio door which lead out onto large terrace with lovely views towards Cardiff Bay, could see Millenium Centre and St Davids Hotel. My 7 year old son loved the glass lift on the outside of the building and the playstation in the foyer was very popular. Ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and had room service another night, both meals very good. Staff in reception, in the restaurant, bar and leisure centre very friendly helpful and polite, couldn't fault them in any way. Free parking in hotel car park always spaces available. About 20 minute walk down to Cardiff Bay which is lovely with plenty of restaurants and shops at Mermaid Quay, beautiful buildings and Roald Dahl Plaas at night is magical. Will definitely return as we have all fallen in love with Cardiff. The Dr Who exhibition at the Red dragon centre worth a visit for fans.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heroes_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Novotel and had a wonderful time. We were anxious about getting a parking space but this was not a problem and there were spaces spare each evening. Check in was smooth. We arrived an hour before check in so they kindly stored our bags, labelled them and gave us a luggage ticket. We asked the way to the centre and were provided with a very clear map which the receptionist talked us through. It was only a 10/15min walk to the shops, 15 mins to the red dragon centre (cinema, bowling and restaurants) and about 20 mins to the Bay.
Our room was huge with a very comfortable bed. It was a little short of pillows for us so we used the direct dial phone and in less with 5 mins we had 2 more pillows. The bathroom was brilliant with a massive shower and seperate bath.
Breakfast was absolutely fantastic, warm, beautifully cooked and well presented. The resturant never seemed too busy and we did not have to queue for the buffet.
The pool was great although it doesnt look as big as the photos suggest, when we used it there were no spare sun loungers and some very noisy children!
Overall a fantastic stay and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Having never stayed at a Novotel before I thought it would be nothing more than a step up from a Travel Lodge, a bland concrete box with no character. How wrong I was. The building has been dramatically converted from a warehouse to an ultra modern hotel with fantastic facilities.
The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated with all the usual amenities including air con, safe, laptop and MP3 connections and a clean and functional bathroom. The beds are really comfortable too - I could have slept forever!
I was very surprised to find a swimming pool, sauna and gym. Although I didn't try the gym the pool and sauna were very good with good changing room facilities and a great place to relax!
The bar was very nice too, very modern and stylish in keeping with the rest of the hotel.
From the outset the location seemed a little bit out of the way, however on closer inspection it's only a 20minute walk or 5 minute drive to both Cardiff Castle and the Cardiff Bay area. The hotel also has free parking which is always a bonus!
The breakfast also warrants a mention! There was a huge variety of things on offer, from fresh fruit to croissants to full english and all in the lovely old warehouse part of the hotel with its charming old brickwork and high ceilings. There was also a range of herbal teas on the tables which I haven't seen in many hotels.
All in all, a very nice hotel which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank matt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst doing exams. The room was large and comfortable, the pool was large enough to swim in and we used the running machines in the gym. The food was good and the menu flexible. We often ate snacks and bar meals in the bar area that was pleasantly informal. Although this is a classy hotel you don't have to dress up all the time. It was about 20 minutes walk to both the town centre and Cardiff bay.
It could do with some real ale, but otherwise for a chain hotel was good.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank morag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $85 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing