We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roath premier cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights whilst attending my grandsons christening in may. We arrived at around 5.30 and had a quick and friendly check in. The hallways to the rooms were spotlessly clean as was our room. We had fresh towels everyday and the room was cleaned daily too. Our family room of 4 beds was great, not at all cramped and had all the gadgets for a comfortable stay. The parking was excellent and a lot of it as you are attached to the David Lloyd fitness centre. Over all we will definitely use the particular premier again in the future as it is perfectly located for all access to Cardiff. Would highly recommend for people with or without children.

Room Tip: Shower over bath. Bath a little high if you have problems with lifting your legs. With fi costs £3 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abeth72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 669 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

There is much to be commended at the Premier Inn Roath - easy parking (free), pleasant check-in staff, large refurbished room, comfortable beds, immaculate bathroom, quiet location. And for the price we paid, it was certainly a bargain! Our room was on the ground floor, and the floorboards in the room above us were REALLY creaky! That meant that we were woken at some unearthly hour when the occupants in the room above got up early - we heard every movement from the room above :( Shame, as this really spoilt our stay and affected our sleep quality

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTravellerToday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous rooms newly decorated ,helpful friendly staff and a beautiful breakfast . Add to that you can use the leisure centre with its huge pool made out stay here really enjoyable excellent if you have kids to keep entertained . Would definitely stay again !!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disneydreamers187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just back from a two night stay. Have stayed in several Premier Inns in recent years and we found this one outstanding .. very quiet, the staff are wonderful couldn't do enough for us, breakfast was lovely highly recommended Room was large and clean plenty of tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and at the end of a corridor and we could have been the only people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed at Premie Inn Cardiff Roath while visiting relatives and Cardiff itself. Hotel itself is very quiet despite being close to the main road. Breakfast at the attached David Lloyd leisure centre was excellent and great value for money. Will certainly be using Premier Inns again if they are in the right location

1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with amazingly friendly, helpful and professional staff. Room was very very clean and comfortable. Only minor niggle was that our room did suffer with slight road noise from the nearby dual carriageway, which could be addressed with better window soundproofing, but as said a minor niggle which we soon tuned out to.

This was our first experience in a Premier Inn hotel as we have previously regularly stayed in Travelodges, but for generally the same cost the whole package is far more pleasurable with friendlier staff, much higher standards of cleanliness and facilities.

We spent 4 very comfortable nights in a hotel that genuinely compares to much larger more expensive hotels.

Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a room on the 2nd floor about 2/3 of the way down the corridor. We found it very clean, comfortable, and actually very quiet. Probably the best night's sleep I've had in a Premier Inn. Staff were helpful as usual. It's a little way outside Cardiff but you can get to the Park and Ride near Cardiff Bay (by car) in about 10 minutes and it's only £3 per car for the day there.

There were a couple of minor problems though. The restaurant/bar is a bit of a trek; it's a trip outside and round the building to get into the David Lloyd centre so it was a bit far (and cold) for a quick drink. Also, at breakfast time, you have a tortuous route through the DL centre to get there and, once you're there, the cooked breakfast is cooked for you and they seem to be a bit slow. Finally we had trouble with connecting to the Wi-Fi.

None of these issues really spoiled our visit though, especially as there's a McDonald's drive-thru a couple of minutes away, and we'd definitely recommend this particular Premier Inn for a visit to Cardiff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
2.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Llanederyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel

Address: Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $60 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. Next door to a David Lloyd Leisure Club. Directions: Westbound: M4 (J29) A 48M. Take 3rd slip road For Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. Eastbound: M4 (J30) A48M Take 2nd slip road for Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. FTurn right at Morrisn's onto Ipswich road, at the road and enter David Llyod Leisure Club car park and follow purple signs for the hotel. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 2.5 miles Cardiff Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing