We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cardiff Party Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel Good Friday through to the Sunday. So nice to find staff (reception and cleaning) pleasant and helpful. Hard hotel to find better asking for John Lloyd Fitness centre if ever asking for directions as there are 4-5 other premier inns in cardiff. Rooms lovely comfortable and clean

Room Tip: Hard hotel to find better asking for John Lloyd Fitness centre if ever asking for directions as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 676 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on a break to Cardiff. It has plenty of free parking and is around a 10 minute drive in to Cardiff City Centre. It was a handy base but with taxis costing around £10 to the centre and still having to pay parking during the day if you went in, you need to weigh up how much you save on the room being out of the centre as oppose to paying the extra to be in the centre and the convenience. The hotel itself was usual premier inn standard and if the price was right on the rooms, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoebeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights as our Daughter is studying at The University of Glamorgan. The Hotel was clean and well decorated. Our room was spotless and the facilities good. New LED HD TV with adequate channels, coffee and tee with kettle,hairdryer and towels. 30 mins free Wi-Fi per day in your room or £3 for 24hours. Wifi was good and worked constantly. Hotel was almost full but was quiet thru the night. Car parking is plentiful and free and in the Hotel gounds. Did not have breakfast, - which can be had in the David Lloyd Gym attached to the Hotel.
Only Minus was the position. Hotel is based in an Industrial area which means you need to commute to go anywhere. There is a bus stop in walking distance and buses cost £1.50 into Cardiff - which run frequently thru the week or hourly on a Sunday. Cardiff City Centre is about 2.5 miles away. We booked a taxi back on Sunday night which cost £5.40. There is a large Sainsbury's in walking distance and 2 or 3 Retail Parks nearby. We would stay again if we could not get accommodation at Premier Inn, City Centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very good hotel. Stayed here for a university open day in Cardiff the location has a bus stop a short walk away from the hotel taking you straight into Cardiff City centre in about 10 - 15 mins. There is also a Mcdonalds, M&S and plenty of other food outlets on the estate outside of the Hotel which was great for being able to get a meal or a bite to eat.
There is plenty of parking, and as it is just behind the David Lloyd centre its nice and quiet you can't hear the busy main road. Also quite nice view from our window considering its industrial location, you could see trees and a field.
The bed was comfortable, cushions not to my taste - however they gave 2 different cushions one firmer than the other so you could choose (just im used to a feather one!) Clean bathroom and good shower. Spacious room, also we were suprised that the bed my brother slept on was a proper bed, not just a couch like we've had at travelodge before. Helpful staff, overall a very good stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amctav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Usual very good service expected of a Premier Inn. Straightforward directions, and plenty of parking space right outside. Comfy bed and a good breakfast. Very friendly receptionist and gave us a room right at the end of the corridor away from the "Saturday night in Cardiff" youngsters. That said, even though busy the place was quiet during the night. David Lloyd a bit different, but food fine.

Room Tip: Room 44 is the far end of 1st floor, where the car park ends - so presumably the quieter end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan_Severn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Really recommend this hotel - we have been on many occasions and have never been disappointed.Lovely clean and warm with good bathroom facilities.Plasma screen TV.s too.Also well located for city center and the M4.Very good with children.

Room Tip: s.Haven't noticed much difference when been in different rooms Sign up for the special offers th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Comfortable bed. Nice clean room. Design very box like but good place to crash after a busy day. Its hidden away in amongst industrial units so no great view but easy parking. Didn't try out the breakfast or gym facilities. Had a choice of soft or hard pillows which I was impressed by.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor overlooking the car park. Was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktea_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#25 of 74 in Cardiff
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Llanederyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel

Address: Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $60 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. Next door to a David Lloyd Leisure Club. Directions: Westbound: M4 (J29) A 48M. Take 3rd slip road For Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. Eastbound: M4 (J30) A48M Take 2nd slip road for Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. FTurn right at Morrisn's onto Ipswich road, at the road and enter David Llyod Leisure Club car park and follow purple signs for the hotel. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 2.5 miles Cardiff Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing