We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent service and hotel”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our first stay at Premier Inn and was very surprised at the large room which was spotless. All the staff were very helpful. The continental buffet breakfast at David Lloyds was great value. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from bus stops where you can get several buses into the city centre which is much beter than driving in and finding parking. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prestons60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    230
    81
    20
    9
See reviews for
233
164
34
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in December 2012 and passed a comfortable stay. The room felt spacious, was clean and had everything I needed in it - bed, desk (with lamp) and chair, armchair, wardrobe, kettle and tea things and hair dryer. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom had a standard bath with a shower over it and the shower was powerful and hot.

Breakfast/dinner could be purchased in the adjoining David Lloyd leisure centre. I had dinner there and felt it was very much like Weatherspoons food but more expensive, and eating in a leisure centre definitely gives dining an unusual ambiance! However, it was convenient.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

I do however echo other reviewers who have said the location is a bit difficult to find and I wouldn't have wanted to stay here without a car.

All in all an uninspiring but cheap, clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonEeMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We'd never stayed at a Premier Inn before and because it was only 20 pound per night I had my reservations. It is in a weird position but the rooms were roomy, spotless, comfortable and the bathrooms had great baths and showers. It connects to David Lloyd's and that is where you can have breakfast in the mornings. As we were visiting family we had no need for anything more than the room. This place is well worth staying in if you are on a tight budget and have your own transport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allnutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very good hotel. Very clean and with the special offer a bargain price. Don't be put off by the location behind the tennis centre- a little difficult to find. It's very close to good places to eat and city centre short drive away. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is probably the best Premier Inn we've stayed in - lovely large room, spotlessly clean, comfy king sized bed and very good and pleasant service. It was a bit hard to find in the dark but otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have stayed here five or six times as our son lives in Roath.Very convenient for the M4, the city and Roath Park. The David Lloyd Centre is always welcoming and the Premier Inn staff is always hard-working and efficient. There is always plenty of parking space.
If you have an hour to spare have a walk round the nature reserve circling the complex (entrance immediately outside the main gate). To us it represents excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Always happy with the ones we are allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennyburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked this premier,as it was close enough to cardiff,but in a quiet location.We managed to get our room for £19 so was a bargain.Staff very helpful and friendly.Breakfast was in the David Lloyd Leisure next door,but was the same standard of any premier inn.Yes it is on the edge of an industrial site ,and you have to drive though David Lloyds Car Park to get to it.Some say they had trouble finding the inn ,but if you follow instruction the premier give you ,its really quite easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
2.5 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Address: Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. Next door to a David Lloyd Leisure Club. Directions: Westbound: M4 (J29) A 48M. Take 3rd slip road For Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. Eastbound: M4 (J30) A48M Take 2nd slip road for Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. FTurn right at Morrisn's onto Ipswich road, at the road and enter David Llyod Leisure Club car park and follow purple signs for the hotel. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 2.5 miles Cardiff Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing