We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great saturday night stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtfield Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great saturday night stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Visiting our daughter in Cardiff and needed accomodation. We managed to book in here at very short notice and were delighted by the welcome and our room - recently refurbished and lovely big bathroom. Excellent breakfast on Sunday morning!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 547ninab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    55
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
76
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had an excellent stay here back in June. We were a party of 4 and had booked two doubles. The location might not be in the centre, but the walk into the centre was very pleasant indeed. Keith was the perfect host, and the breakfast was definitely above average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Håkan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Good friendly service with a first class full English breakfast. Clean comfortable rooms with tea/coffee making in the room. Short bus service ride to the city or cross the road and walk through the park to the castle. WiFi service availalable free of charge in ground floor area. Ideal for a weekend or long term stay with several good eating houses nearby. Now my favourite place to stay when visiting family in Cardiff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed five nights with my teenage daughter and my mother. The B&B is along Cathedral Road and was very handy for Cardiff Central, near Bute Park and the Castle. The room was comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. Keith and Norman were excellent hosts. I really liked Cardiff, especially the bay area, which is a short bus ride from the city centre.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed one night. I was warmly welcomed by Keith and Norman and the complimentary map and tips on the best way to walk into town (through the Botanical Gardens) were very welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room and en suite were very clean. Yes, the decor is not super modern, but this is a Victorian house and so it is in keeping. Breakfast was delicious and, for £45, I think my stay represented excellent value for money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dame_Adele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The guys running the place were very very friendly, full English breakfast was offered and was very good. Good value for money

Problem... no WiFi and room need a bit of updating but I believe they are being updated at the moment (or at least some of them). There were also some crazy drunk ladies arriving early in the morning and they were left to do all the noise they wanted! Someone should had say something as there were many other guest sleeping at that time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsR299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Courtfield Hotel is located on the beautiful Cathedral road, Cardiff's salubrious quarter which benefits from homely pubs and up-market restaurants, is minutes to the castle, park and gardens, and therefore a short walk to the city's centre. The owners are the friendliest and most genuine people I've come across, and nothing was too much. I was welcomed by the efficient and warm proprietor, Keith, who was able to impart expert knowledge about his native Cardiff. The room was very tasteful and had everything you'd expect for an up-market stay, and the bed was one of the comfiest I've slept on. Having left London for a bit of peace and quiet, but also looking for somewhere with excitement to offer, I wasn't disappointed with Courtfield Hotel as a base from which to dive into Cardiff's offerings. I'd urge people who want to really see some of the historical treasures of Cardiff to forgo the rather impersonal chain hotels in the city, and instead stay somewhere like Courtfield. As a bonus, I even got to see the neighbourhood's two beautiful Siamese cats who're also especially attracted to the charms of Courtfield.

Room Tip: You'll get a great night's sleep in all rooms. I did have a look at a couple of the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richdeanmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#3 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#2 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtfield Hotel

Property: Courtfield Hotel
Address: 101 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Victorian townhouse hotel, set in a tree-lined conservation area, within minutes walk of Cardiff Castle, Millenium Stadium and City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtfield Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing