We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtfield Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

a really great stay,5star service 5star breakfast.
5star for everything kieth&norman really good host .
the hotel is nicely placed near to city centre,about ten minuets walk
close to two really good parks,can take a ride on the river bus to Cardiff bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayharris69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    55
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
76
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
500 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

A lovely stay and made welcome right away. Accommodating and a pleasant atmosphere. Unique rooms with alot of character. 20 mins walk fr city centre and on road alongsude bute parl and 5mins away frpm local pub, bakery, butchers and deli.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnretroreload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I decided to have a pre-valentines break in Cardiff, we decided to look for somewhere to stay, We always try to find good independent hotels.

We arrived a bit earlier than expected, but this was not a problem... We checked in, then went into the city.

When we arrived back later the house was cosy and warm.

We had a nice breakfast that was well presented.

The hotel was in good condition and fairly well maintained, the pipe work did not make noises and the house was generally quite quiet.

The guys have tastefully decorated the old victorian house, with photos of Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MecAnglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Three of us stayed at The Courtfield Hotel last weekend and it was great. We were over for the rugby match so the location to the Stadium/Cardiff was excellent, all within walking distance. As mentioned by others the breakfast is first class and both Keith and Norman are very helpful and wonderful hosts.

We will be back!!

Kevin. Dublin.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gerry013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I looked at the other reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try.
Stayed at the Courtfield midweek. Keith was an excellent host and was able to provide helpful local information. Great breakfast. I would definitley stay here again.
Thanks, Wendy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was down for the weekend to Cardiff with a friend and decided to stay at the Courtfield again as I had a great stay last time. Needless to say, I had another fantastic stay again! Keith and Norman are very friendly and make sure you have everything you need to have a great stay. Plus the breakfast is still fantastic! Already looking forward to my next trip back to Cardiff and will definitely be booking here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasg0wB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I chose this beautiful Victorian hotel via the internet from Germany for the reasonable prices, but I was pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome from Norman and Keith, who were very helpful and gave me all the advice I needed about how to get around Cardiff. They even lent me the fare for the bus, when I did not have the correct change. I have never experienced more attentive and welcoming staff in a hotel before. Breakfast was also excellent, freshly cooked and very tasty. The building retains a lot of its period features and I liked to go around and trace the original size of the rooms from their magnificent cornicing. I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#2 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtfield Hotel

Property: Courtfield Hotel
Address: 101 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Victorian townhouse hotel, set in a tree-lined conservation area, within minutes walk of Cardiff Castle, Millenium Stadium and City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtfield Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing