We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly host, pleasant lodgings and 2 pubs in...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Railway Cottage

View of apartment and private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of apartment and private garden
Peaceful double bedroom Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
View of apartment and private garden
Peaceful double bedroom
Kitchen
Sitting area over looking the Garth mountain
Garden and patio
Fagin's Ale and Chop House next door!
Sitting area and kitchen
Beautiful view of the Garth Mountain and patio
Kitchen and living area
Kitchen
Sitting area
Bathroom
Nearby Castell Coch
Caerphilly Castle 4.5 Miles away
View of the Garth Mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cardiff, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Martti K
Esk, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly host, pleasant lodgings and 2 pubs in easy walking distance!”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What more could one ask? From the initial pleasant greeting on arrival to the welsh cakes and wine waiting in the comfortable and well equipped cottage and further to the ongoing helpfulness of the hosts this accommodation is one of the most pleasant places that we have stayed.
Its locations excellent with easy access to the railway station and well marked roads to facilitate the process of driving in an unfamiliar environment.
We dined at both of the nearby pubs where we found the service friendly and the basic pub style food satisfying.
the cottage itself is well appointed and comfortable . despite being close to the railway line and a reasonably busy road the atmosphere is peaceful and nose levels are low .
We highly recommend Railway cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very helpful and friendly hosts
Liked least: nothing that we did not like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMJJ
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - sparklingly clean”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great Little cottage run by very helpful family. Cottage is very clean and well kept. Kitchen has everything you need. Off road, gated parking. We cycled into Cardiff along the bike trail, lovely route along side the river Taff. Great holiday rental

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHL
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely gem hidden next to the main road”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Really great little cottage attached to the owners house. Fantastically located for Cardiff yet not anywhere near the hussle bussle that comes with it.
Don't worry at all about being next the railway line, it isn't a problem or disturbing in anyway and I'm a light sleeper!
Very fairly priced and off-street parking is such a benefit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamm
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything!
Liked least: Almost nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
720maggie
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere close to Cardiff”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Working with Robert was very pleasant. The cottage is lovely and private. The WIFI is very good. Our stay was for five nights. We chose this cottage because it is on the outskirts of Cardiff among Welsh people. We were in Wales because of my Welsh ancestry. We are from the US and did not have a car in Cardiff. Transportation into the city was very easy via train. We also took a day trip to the American Museum in Britain in Bath . Getting to St Fagans National History Museum was also easy. Robert was very helpful in taking us to the Cardiff airport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathi77
Bad Oldesloe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home-like and child-friendly cottage”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed ther for one week with our one year old baby son.
The cottage is really comfortable and clean. Everything what we did need was there.
Rob is a very helpful person, he picked us from the train station and repaired our buggy.
We got very fine cakes and wine for welcome,
We felt us very good in this lovely little cottage. Our baby too because he could crawl everywhere without getting hurt, it is an absolutely chlid-friendly apartment.
Taffs Well is a little village with a supermarket and some pubs, but we travelled very often to cardiff. The train station is not far away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the little garden
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erhorns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday cottage.”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very clean, tasteful and well-kitted out little cottage. It adjoins the owners house but is very private with its own little garden. Upon arrival we worried that the trains would keep us awake, but not one bit-our baby has never slept so well! Friendly owners that gave us homemade welsh cakes for our journey home. Fab location for climbing Garth mountain and walking along the Taff trail into Cardiff, with good transport links back. The owners were extremely accommodating with us having a little un, the travel cot fitted brilliantly in the bedroom. And what great value! Would definitely recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing