We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to spend a whole evening”
Review of CafeJAZZ

CafeJAZZ
Ranked #237 of 1,324 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: CaféJAZZ is Cardiff's leading jazz, blues and food venue. As its name suggests, CaféJAZZ is an establishment founded on a love of hosting the best jazz sounds new and old, local and international. At CaféJAZZ you can be sure of a warm welcome, friendly and high quality service and delicious food at good prices - and all of this whilst enjoying live performances from some of the world's finest jazz musicians. The CaféJAZZ venue is situated in the heart of one of the liveliest and youngest capital cities in Europe, and its intimate size lets you feel close to the action. So call in and enjoy!
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We visited this week when it was a little quiet and had a nice, relaxed, good value for money meal, cooked by a very colourful chef. It is certainly a place that you can spend a whole evening and not be bored. An excellent location that I feel would have a wonderful atmosphere when busier and one or two of the elderly local jazz club members are not so evident. There were a couple of concerns (partially because of problems generated by the Olympic restrictions in getting to the venue) but the manager’s response to our comments were excellent. I would certainly visit again when in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
1  Thank GlynHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Manager at CafeJAZZ, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your visit and lovely review.
I believe my Manager Simon has been in contact with you.
I hope we will welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards, Mireille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Friendly bar staff and you get a discount in Cafe Jazz if you are staying at the Sandringham Hotel

Thank Vealygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at CafeJAZZ, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
I am glad we have served you correctly.
The resident discount is excellent so I am glad you have taken advantage of this.
Hope to see you again.
Kind regards, Mireille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Real Ale and Real Music! So rare these days to find live jazz to listen to.

Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review.
I am very pleased that you have enjoyed yourselves and hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Mireille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have over the last 7 years spent a considerable time in cafe jazz. The nice thing is that you can bring our own wine, yes a corkage fee is charged. Well kept Rev James is served. And most nights live Jazz is played from very accomplished to university groups having to perform in public as part of course work. The place was packed that night.

Chef has been there for ever, and changes a limited, but interesting menu regularly.

The decor is a little dated, but in the current financial climate, this is only to be expected.
And adds to the atmosphere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at CafeJAZZ, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you very much for lovely review and I hope that we will welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Mireille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

They get high class bands at a very good price. Check online to see who is on during your visit. We time visits to Cardiff to catch good acts.

2  Thank Lewis_the_Barman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at CafeJAZZ, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again
Kind regards
Mireille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CafeJAZZ also viewed

 

Been to CafeJAZZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing