We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever !”
Review of Haveli Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Haveli Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $16 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Haveli Restaurant & Bar157 City RoadRoathCardiffCf24 3bq
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst service ever !”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We bought a living social voucher for Haveli - called to book a table and were asked if we had a voucher to which we replied yes - then told they infact didn't have a table available until very late. Said no thanks then called back and Said no voucher and what do you know-they suddenly had a table ! Unbelievable ! So we went, sat down then announced we had vouchers, so I'm not sure if the awful night we had was due to this or it's always so bad. The "cocktails" took 30 plus minutes to come and were the worst drinks we've ever had-all 4 of us had one sip then left them. To be fair the food that followed wasn't bad, but hearing waiters clear phlegm from their throat and talk on their mobiles ain't the best. The point of the vouchers surely is to make people want to return - we never will :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_and_Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    6
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Second visit to Haveli, this time courtesy of Living Social deal. The food is very tasty; we had a korma, a delicious palak gosht and a vegetarian subzi massala, all of which delivered on taste. The peshwari naan is the best in Cardiff. Starters were also good. One of the best features of Haveli is that meals come complete with rice or naan, a (very small) vegetable dice and a small veggie sambal, all included in the price. The non-alcoholic cocktails are also very good.
The only negative was the long wait between starters and mains. I wish they'd turn the TV off as well or just show Bollywood epics rather than Euro 2012 football.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoosemanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Generous portions”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nice and pleasant inside. Waiters and staff very courteous and friendly. Of all the Indians we’ve been to in Cardiff, Haveli serve the most generous portions. Well recommended and you get a nice little Haveli branded chocolate at the end and a hot moist hand towel to freshen up with.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

I went in with a group of 5. I had to wait for a table even though the restaurant was completely empty.
After waiting 20 minutes, I was seated.
20 minutes after we where asked about drinks, the waiter didn't even know thier own menu and what drinks they even sell.

I had to keep on asking for help/sevice as no waiter was took care in our order.

When we asked for advice on certain dishes, the waiter advised that the dishes we ordered would feed 2 people, when it clearly did not.

The starters were served 30 minutes after and the main took an hour and 10 minutes.

Our grilled food was burnt to crisp and also all the alcoholic cocktails that where ordered, where watered down.

I was embarrassed to take my family members there as the service was poor, food was not up to expectations which are clearly advertised on the web and the owners Facebook page, also the cocktails where not acceptable.

I was shocked that with 7 dishes and a few drinks my bill came to £111

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitz2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well spiced curries, freshly prepared”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

After 2 good starters - nice piece of cod but bit bland and sheek kebab not served quite hot enough - main courses were definite bonus. Lamb dansak and prawn bhuna really good ingredients, served piping hot and very well spiced. Accompanied by flavoursome sag paneer and excellent naan bread with small complimentary veg dish. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ANJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haveli Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing