We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot but delicious”
Review of Juboraj

Juboraj
Ranked #546 of 1,225 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At the heart of Cardiff’s thriving Cafe Quarter lies the stylish Juboraj – the city centers best loved Indian restaurant. The Café Quarter and Hayes areas of Cardiff Centre have undergone a phenomenal multi-million pound transformation over the past few years. Mill Lane itself has been completely renovated and is now home to a multitude of high quality restaurants catering to every palate. There is no doubt that when it comes to eating out this is the place to be. The carefully crafted interior is contemporary as is fitting for its city centre location but maintains, through the use of original art blended with traditional colour scheme and fittings, a truly authentic ‘Indian’ restaurant atmosphere. A fresh approach to customer service, contemporary and traditional dishes made using ingredients of the highest quality and extensive wine list all add up to an experience you’ll want to repeat time and again.The Juboraj Guarantee ensures that only the highest quality New Zealand lamb and Welsh beef, and the finest 100% fresh chicken breast and freshest seafood available, is used in their dishes. With a warm welcome and friendly attentive staff you can be sure that time spent at a Juboraj, whether it be a light lunch, a pre-theatre bite or a candlelit evening meal, will be time well spent.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Hot but delicious”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We ate here before going to a concert nearby. The food is delicious, beautifully spiced and fresh veg. Good naan and unusual vegetarian dishes. Mine was hotter than expected but so tasty! The service is nice, not pushing drinks on you all the time and chatty. Slightly dull atmosphere and quite expensive but made up for by the good dining.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riotstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Public Relations Manager at Juboraj, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thanks for your review. Good quality food is our number one aim so to read that you really liked it is great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    76
    57
    27
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Early evening”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

First time visit for a early meal .I have read the other reviews and have to disagree with a lot of them .The service was very good and so was our meal .It is a it pricier than some of the other places around but we will return at some point .Thanks for a good meal .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 186459And123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Public Relations Manager at Juboraj, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thanks for your comments. We think the Early Evening meal deal is exceptional value at just £9.95 for two courses. You may like to try the lunchtime menu at just £6.95 for two courses!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“If you like Curry from a Tin go here”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

One review compared this place to homepride tin curry that is an insult to homepride tin curry it was awful we had two different curries to share apart from a slightly different colour they tasted the same were creamy and not spicy. I cannot find words other than awful. We have visited many Indian restaurants throughout Europe and we will never visit this place and the only recommendation is give it a miss. We went there on 9 March 2014

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RicRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Public Relations Manager at Juboraj, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We were sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the food you ordered on your visit to Juboraj. We did feel that your review was rather insulting and quite far off the mark. We would like to point out that if you order a creamy curry, presumably a Korma, or perhaps a Passanda, they are specifically mild dishes prepared for our customers who prefer less spicy sauces. For someone who has visited many Indian restaurants throughout Europe you would probably be aware of this. We have quite a detailed menu which would of explained this and therefore find your review even more confusing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Dine or break an ankle”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The way I would describe this establishment is tired and has a potential for hurting you with the varying floor levels (there are three) before you can get seated. Distinctly average food, dirty plate at my setting on arrival at my setting which really put everything else under scrutiny. Wanted a beer, was given the Beer menu (novel) asked for two Kingfisher beer, waiter came back a few moments later saying there weren't any, Go figure? why's it on the menu list then?
Duck and chicken dishes could only be described as average, but the Sag panneer in contrast was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodfoodknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Public Relations Manager at Juboraj, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are aware of the problems with the different floor levels within the restaurant but unfortunately old buildings can be this way. There is no excuse, however, for dirty plates and the issue has been raised with the staff. You are quite right - if a plate or cutlery are dirty this can, even unintentionally, reflect on everything else. We can only apologise for the Kingfisher Beer not being available but even the most well stocked establishments do sometimes run out of items that are listed on the menu. We are pleased you liked the Sag and will look into improving on the other dishes you mentioned for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“'Homepride Cook-in sauce' standard”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Called in Juboraj after the recent French game and it seemed very popular - a good sign? The waiting times were as one would expect so that was fine, but...

The real issue was the taste quality of the food.

Bland. Without spice. Lacking in flavour. A bit like the first Homepride cook-in sauces you'd buy to cook an Indian style dish at home. Living in the Midlands - the home of the Balti - and having also lived near Bradford, the old palette knows what a great curry tastes like, and this ranks amongst the poorest.

Don't be mistaken, it wasn't badly cooked, meat wasn't raw, vegetables weren't raw, it simply lacked any taste or flavour.

You also pay over the odds for the City Centre location with prices at least 20% up on what you would pay elsewhere. You have been warned!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Public Relations Manager at Juboraj, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
The reason the Juboraj is so popular, as you've kindly pointed out, is that the food is always good. Maybe 'the old palette' wasn't on form the evening you visited. I apologise for the directness of my response but your review 'ranked' amoung one of the most insulting. Your comment about the price maybe reflects on the type of restaurants you're used to. Our prices are some of the highest because we work hard to maintain the quality of the ingredients in our food. That, and of course, as you pointed out, the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juboraj also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Juboraj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing