We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good first visit,disappointing the second!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prezzo

Prezzo
Ranked #293 of 1,210 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hove
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good first visit,disappointing the second!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We ate here twice due to convenience. The food was excellent and plentiful the first time and the restaurant comfortably warm. The second time we visited we were placed near the door and as people were queuing outside for a table the door was left open. Not good when the temperature outside was 2 degs! Our pizzas were also not as generously ' topped ' on our second visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizziewHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    111
    54
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I always think you can't beat prezzo for fantastic food and this branch was no exception! service was totally fantastic and my boyfriend booked the table on his phone which made it so easy. If its on the menu save space for the after eight cheesecake, its the best dessert i've ever ever had!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank misspinky3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite good for a chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited as a family of two plus one child last Thursday evening. Kids menu is very good value at (I think) £6 for three courses plus a drink - the pizza main is a good size and should keep most hungry kids quiet!

We ordered a garlic pizza bread with caramelised onions to share for starters. For me, it just didn't work - the onions were far too sweet and jammy and there was very little garlic - it was as if they had chopped up some garlic, used the same knife to make a jam butty, and brought me that. The bread itself was very good though.

We each had the half-and-half pasta (two smaller portions of any of the 'classic' pasta dishes) which were pretty good, to be fair. I had the Italian sausage one which was bog-standard, and the chicken and gorgonzola, which was very nice. The pasta was well-cooked, the chicken tender and the sauce creamy but not too rich. My wife also had the Italian sausage, and with it another tomato-based one (I forget which!) and she enjoyed both.

Service was on the slow side, although our waitress was friendly and efficient. The place was half full, but the kitchen wasn't keeping up.

I've been to a few Prezzo branches and they seem to be consistent in their quality, so if you want decent food cooked well, then you'd do a lot worse than visit one. It won't knock your socks off, but it's fine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Time not on our side we were in st David's looking for Sunday lunch and out of the raft of restaurants thought Prezzo had possible edge. Staff are very attentive if a little intrusive ; pouring wine top ups as they thought fit. Goats cheese starter was good if uninspired. Calamari tender and lemon peppery. Mains of chicken with cheese (nicely chargrilled but still moist and flavoursome), salmon pasta ( too salty and chilli) and lasagna (one notch up from ready meal - need them to come to a devises Italian masterclass). Puds not required. Ok - about as average as one could hope for...

Helpful?
Thank Malforda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bronze star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Visited for the first time as we had vouchers to use up. The service was excellent but I'm afraid it was a little let down by the quality of the food. I had mushrooms to start which were lovely although the accompanying lettuce was rather tired looking. This was followed by crab cakes in a saffron sauce (my husband had chosen them as a starter with mayonnaise and enjoyed them). As a main course, I had twice the amount but regretted it as I felt they would have been much more enjoyable as a starter. My husband had grilled chicken with mushroom sauce which again he enjoyed. Both desserts were tasty so no problems there. Would I go again? Yes, but I would choose either a pizza or a pasta dish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prezzo also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Prezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing