We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally excellent food -a very pleasant evening”
Review of Park House

Park House
Ranked #135 of 1,217 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $95
Cuisines: European, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: A venue unique to Wales, the Park House offers stylish and elegant surroundings to provide the perfect space for entertaining and socialising in an atmosphere of understated luxury in the heart of Cardiff City. Park House prides itself on offering its customers a diverse choice of services – from its bars offering a collection of fine wines, champagnes and cocktails unparalleled in Wales, to its exceptional restaurant and private dining experiences. Team all this with the fantastic range of entertainment and monthly events and the Park House truly stands out as a venue unique to Wales. Housed in a magnificent Grade I listed building designed by William Burges, the building is considered to be a masterpiece in Gothic residential design. It is situated in one of the finest areas of South Wales, close to the Castle, City Hall, Law Courts, New Theatre, National Museum & Gallery and the Millennium Stadium.
wales
Level Contributor
339 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Generally excellent food -a very pleasant evening”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We ate the St David's Day tasting menu which was generally very good.Soup to start was a little under seasoned for my taste, foie gras good, lobster fish fingers a little light on the lobster but very moorish, seabass with cheese and lava bread croquette was delicious as was the duck2 ways,welsh rarebit followed by bread and butter pudding a little heavy for me, salted fudge- yum. I am not keen on the fact the ladies are up 2 flights of stairs. Pianist was excellent, in all a very nice evening out

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    107
    52
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cardiff”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

After hearing such good reviews of this restaurant we decided to try it for our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. The Park House is a well deserved winner of restaurant of the year by the South Wales Echo. Hospitality was excellent, service first class and food and wine outstanding. We went for the taster menu 6 courses of fantastic quality food well presented - art on a plate. We will definitely be returning, and would recommend the restaurant as a perfect place or a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Forgive them they know not what they do!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

As with many other reviewers, we arrived at the Park House with hope and expectation of a good night out. We had booked the taster menu through Travelzoo and knowing who the menu was devised by were really looking forward to some fine food in a city which has struggled for decades to provide such a place.
Unfortunately the whole experience was a complete letdown primarily because of poor service and poor food although to be balanced there were glimmers of quality in a couple of the courses.
Firstly we arrived on time and rang the doorbell to be greeted and ushered into a 'waiting room' which although a bit odd did at least provide some early theatre. We ordered a bottle of Welsh sparkling wine which at £45 wasn't cheap but nobody had tried it before so we gave it a go. We asked the sommelier (turned out to be a waiter come sommelier come restaurant manager) what the wine was like and he replied "I don't know never tried it" which is poor. The wine took too long to arrive and set the tone for the evening which was one that lacked precision.
The first course wasn't served until 9:15 which was well over an hour after arrival and as it was a set taster menu there was no excuse for the tardy approach to service. The veloute to start was a vague tepid cream of any vegetable but wasn't actively offensive like the lobster fish fingers which tasted of fat smartprice fishfingers which was offensive. The pork balls which followed were a travesty to the little Kelmscott piggy and again had the theme of bland fat. The beef shin and fillet combo was next and from here things did pick up considerably and I enjoyed the last 3 courses which demonstrated some technical skill and in places wit.
At the end of the evening I told the sommelier/waiter/manager that the waiting between courses was unnacceptable and that the food was poor to start but he wasn't especially interested and probably wanted rid of us as we were evidently not happy.
Its all a bit of a shame really as Cardiff deserves better. The Park House needs to sharpen up its service and imporove its quality assurance as I got the feeling that complaceny had set in and that the staff no longer loved what they did which is the feeling you get at good quality venue.
I won't go back again but will giove Cardiff another shot as the hotel we stayed at (Park Plaza) was excellent and the bars all had a great vibe.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonTudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Glam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful tasting menu with matched wines”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our second visit. The first was quite noisy with a wedding party downstairs but with excellent food and wine. This visit surpassed that visit. The dining room is softly lit with the tables set not too close and on the evening we visited there was a pianist, if there was a party elsewhere you couldn't hear it. We had the seven course taster menu with matched wines. The food was faultless from a Lobster Fish Finger, Highland Short Horn Beef Tarka Dhal through a very clever "Boiled Egg" to a Bread and Butter pudding. Each course built an the last and the wines matched superbly with the food. We had the optional cheese course accompanied with a glass of Ardbeg 10 year old ( My favorite malt ). In all an extremely memorable evening with friendly knowledgeable staff, wonderful food and nice ambiance. Maybe the best fine dining in South Wales.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyalvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our second vist, this time we went with friends and used a Travelzoo voucher. We had the tasting menu which was delicious. Service was professional, personal and not at all stuffy. Fantastic selection of wines at a good range of prices. Only slight issue was the disappointing selection of sherries. I asked for a sherry at the end of the meal expecting a Pedro Ximenez or Oloroso but was offered Harveys Bristol Cream!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elenfach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park House also viewed

 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing