We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,475 results
Traveler rating
562
528
256
72
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
528
256
72
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinema room captain scott room complimentary bottle of wine central location train station deluxe room st mary street car park lovely hotel would stay again excellent location high street street noise millennium stadium ironing board cooked breakfast hotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,475 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Hotel Cardiff for 2 nights while catching up with friends in Cardiff. Comfortable room and a fantastic selection for the breakfast. Easily the best selection on our tour around the UK. We would recommend Royal Hotel to anyone wanting good value for their money. We had a problem in our room and the friendly staff sorted it straight away with no fuss. Thank you

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. Basic hotel with Good shower, decent size rooms, good conditioner, although it wasn’t very hot. Lobby on the second floor. Close to the Cardiff Castle & the train station.
Staff welcoming and very accommodating. Had to ask for soap & shower caps. Though I felt like it should have been supplied in the room to begin with, items were provided promptly on request. Breakfast is mediocre but they actually encourage you to take some to go which I thought was a very nice gesture! Including coffee in to go cup. This was Very much appreciated. All in all, would recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Sunny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Moved from what must be one of the worst hotels in Cardiff to the Royal, which must be one of the best. Location, staff, room, cleanliness...everything was great, even the price. Wish I had found this last night and avoided the headache of that other place. Will recommend and hopefully visit again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Barb-in-Redmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

I stayed here for one night as I was seeing a show at St David's Hall. It was in a super convenient location just a few minutes walk away from the hall and across the road from the Principality Stadium.

The rooms were lovely, very spacious and modern. The beds were very comfortable and the staff were friendly. Extremely clean and the bathrooms were very large, even though the hotel is very central there was absolutely no noise from passing traffic or crowds.

I absolutely would stay again the next time I visit Cardiff.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

We had a one-night stay towards the end of August. It was quite quiet so we were upgraded and had a complimentary bottle of wine. The hotel's attraction to me was the historical aspect, and the Capt Scott dining room was beautiful with paneled wood and blue furnishings; however, we didn't eat there, so I can't attest to the quality of food. The staff were friendly and room very clean and quiet even though we faced the main thoroughfare.
The quirkiness aspect came in the design of the building and access to rooms. Slopes and stairwells and hidden elevator access made it a little Hogwarts-like. Look out for all the signs to tell you where to go because you will need them and you may come to ground at an exit you didn't intend. Because ours was a short stay, we loved the convenience to excellent shopping, eating and Cardiff Castle, but do watch out for the bathroom floors when wet - ours was slippy!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews