We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfy”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in January this year as part of our holiday. The hotel has a lovey feel, and comfy beds. Friendly staff, and super close to everything in the city. Absolutely worth the price for the room. This is the second be-spoke hotel we've stayed in in the UK - can't wait for the group to expand further in Australia

Room Tip: Rooms on the St Mary's st/mall side may be loud on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankNni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

The location of the hotel in the centre of Cardiff and a two minute walk from the station, is its best asset. The room was cramped with only 6 inches between the end of the bed and the drawer unit and not enough space for two people to get ready to go out. There were no spare sockets for charging phones etc so had to move the bedside cabinet and unplug the bedside light. The hair dryer is hardwired into back of the wardrobe making it awkward to use and nowhere to plug in straighteners. Breakfast was well cooked and the usual variety of choice but we waited 25 minutes for it,despite there being only 6 other guests in the dining room.
On returning from eating out we thought we would try the bar. Very friendly bar staff but unfortunately they didn't know what port was or how to serve it once we had found it for them.
The hotel lift was out of order for our entire stay and there didn't seem to be anyone attempting a repair.
This hotel rates itself as 4 star but it is a three star at best which is a pity as the building itself could be amazing with a bit more attention to the details .
The staff were helpful and eager to direct us to the tourist hotspots .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ok well for a city centre you could not fault the position of the place. The bar and reception areas are very confusing with interesting decor that leads you to thinking its a "boutique" hotel but the rooms don't really give that initial promise. However pretty laid back environment, but in no way is this a 4 star establishment. Just needs a higher finish in the bathrooms and perhaps clean the window areas more? I don't think I would stay here again but I think the price I paid was reasonable. Likes: the twinings box of tea, coffee and hot chocolate!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jayvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence has a prominent place in the reception of this hotel. However, I think that experiences here can be very varied, as I see from some of the reviews. Firstly, the positive - we could not have asked for a better location. We did not find it noisy, unlike another reviewer, indeed, we enjoyed being in the 'thick of things' despite not being frequenters of the bars in the vicinity. We did, however, notice with pleasure what a wealth of choice there was amongst the nearby restaurants, a real plus. Another positive was proximity to the station as well as the easy walking distance to the museum and art gallery, the castle and the shopping precinct. It was also a pleasant distance to Cardiff Bay, or if you do not want to walk, to the bus stops.

This hotel would be difficult for someone of impaired mobility because of the number of steps - to the front door, up a small step, down a staircase to the lift which then goes to the 2nd floor reception. Although assistance with cases is offered, if they cannot be managed by oneself they would need to be left in the unattended lobby near the front door.

The public areas are lovely. In particular, the bar area is a lovely space with comfortable seating and pleasant service. The reception area is nice, with the lovely touch of fruit available when you are checking in or out, or just passing. The public toilets are good. The breakfast area looked impressive.

Although a positive feature was the inset from the corridor, the most disappointing feature was the room. It had been refurbished pleasantly enough but lacked the charm that could be expected from the description of the hotel. One nice feature was the photographs and neutral colours. However, although the bed was comfortable, there was a full length mirror and two bedside tables and lamps, there was little attention to detail. The lamps did not match, one was not plugged (why should a guest have to scrabble around to rectify this?) and the toiletries were limited - one small cake of soap and shampoo and conditioner. I had to phone for a shower cap and although it was brought promptly and with a smile, it should have been part of the normal range of items in the bathroom. The bathroom fan did not work - good for me as I hate that cold breeze, but not satisfactory for someone wanting to shave afterwards! Perhaps some additional staff training and maintenance would improve this situation.

Although the reception staff were lovely and I loved the location I would probably not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room, on the top floor at the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel is in the hearft of everything we wanted to do, so met the grade for that point alone. As a group of friends paying roughly the same price each room, the varied quality and sie of the room left some of our party a little disappointed. as a central base for a short stay this is an ideal, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel. I loved the "Bees in the City" programme where the hotel has a hive on the roof and staff that are trained to look after the hive. You can arrnage a visit by contacting the hotel or the local apiary.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick_mallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and I have to say I had the best sleep in ages! The bed and especially the feather pillows were extremely comfortable. Unfortunately for the hotel, the lift was not working, but this didn't bother us at all. We didn't eat in the hotel because we had breakfast in our favourite place "Bill's". The only down side was a "huddle" of drunks outside of the entrance every morning and late one evening, when returning to our room, there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor! Also, there was a lack of information in the room i.e breakfast choice and cost. In fact, there was no information in the room other than a room service menu. Although the bathroom had shower gel, there was no shower cap or additional bathroom accessories.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Recently stayed here with a group of friends for three nights over a weekend. A fabulous place, central for everything being right in the middle of the city.
Rooms were very modern and clean and standard was very high.
Staff were extremely helpful, pleasant and on hand for anything you needed or asked for.
Breakfast was excellent with a great choice and cooked to perfection.

Highly recommend a stay at this hotel and will without a doubt use it again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyPaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $58 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing