We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Dated”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel has excellent location, right in the middle of shops and restaurants, and near to railway station and buses. Very good if you do not have a car. Our room was large, and had three single beds, as we requested. Room appeared dark, small windows, which did not open, and not enough lighting. We were at the front, over the club, but noise was not an issue, possibly because we could not open our windows!
Bathroom was large, but again, not well lit, and the fan did not work. It was very difficult to find a good spot to apply make up. We had a complimentary bottle of wine each day, but 3 different size glasses, 2 large and 1 small, every day. Why?
No face flannels supplied, but towelling bathrobes were!
We did not have any meals at hotel, as it seemed very expensive. Our breakfast was not included, but this was no problem at all, as we were a stone's throw from many restaurants, snack bars etc. We tried somewhere different each day.
We very much enjoyed our break, we had some lovely meals and did a lot of shopping, but I have stayed at better city centre hotels for the same money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annje1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very close to trainstation (2-3 min walik). Hotel located above pub/club on 2nd floor and higher. No problems with noise though (airconditioning). Classical hotel from late nineteenth century. Very special atmosphere in breakfast room (Captain Scott room, where he held his last dinnergathering before sailing to the Southpole in 1910). Room small but comfy. Although the hotel is classical, the room was in modern design. Would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trainriderUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were looking for a cheap and cheerful room in the centre of Cardiff for a gig at the Students Union in Park Place. Booked online approx 4 weeks before. Asked for a double bed as we were only offered a twin. Found the hotel no problem. Press the buzzer at hotel entrance to be let in. Some dubious prints on the wall as you walk in e.g. 2 women having a pillow fight?! Reception is on 1st floor (use stairs or lift). Quick check-in. Receptionist advised where the NCP car park on Wood Street was – 24 hours costs £12 through this hotel not the usual £18. Easy to find especially with the useful map. Park up and keep ticket with you. At check-out, hand it in, pay your £12 and they’ll replace it with an exit card. Room was compact but fine for what we needed. We got a double bed but it was so lumpy and the pillows of no substance that sleep quality wasn’t great. Compact bathroom with a good shower but only provided one hand towel and one bath towel though. Unable to open the windows for fresh air. Free WIFI (see booklet in room for password). We paid £55 for the room. Breakfast was an extra £9 each so we gave it a miss. Check-in at 3pm and check-out at 11am. They charge you by the hour for time exceeded which is why Reception is so busy around 11am! Also, I spotted a sign on Reception that they charge £2 for payment by credit card. I’d paid for my room online and not sure if this relates to car parking fee too but worth checking. I saw the sign too late. In summary. Does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

When we arrived at this hotel for our three night stay, our hearts sank, it's situated above two music/dining places both of which appeared to be busy even in the late afternoon, and our room was right above these on St Mary Street. As a result we had to request a room change to the rear of the hotel which was much quieter. The Royal proudly displays its Trip Advisor rating and is clearly a good budget(ish) hotel but we were very disappointed by the standard of breakfast, which at £11.50 is steep. The coffee particulary was awful, tepid and served from a pump flask. My friend only wanted porridge but was still required to pay the full sum, even though there's a continental option at cheaper rate. We ate elsewhere and I can heartily recommend the wonderful Pettigrew's tea rooms just a short walk away in Bute park (near the castle) which do breakfast dishes of eggs, crumpets etc. and other lovely food throughout the day. and The Plan cafe in the delightful old arcades opposite the hotel which does a great fry-up and a range specialist coffees. Out and about, don't miss the boat ride (beside Pettigrew's) to the Bay - only £3 for the trip. And St Fagens museum of Welsh life (mostly open air) a short car or bus ride away - allow at least half a day for this - and there's a great Victorian tea room too. There's so much to see and do in Cardiff that we will definitely be going again, and we will probably be staying at the Royal. It was value for money.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room, the rear of the hotel is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquiamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A lovely hotel located in the centre of Cardiff. It was tricky to find, satnav didn't like the NCP car park address, that was a bit difficult to find. Once there though I was very happy to find myself in the very centre of Cardiff.

The staff were genuine and very friendly, check in was painless and took no time at all. I was very pleased with my room which must have recently been renovated to a very high standard, the room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The bar was great and breakfast was superb, friendly staff throughout the hotel make it a tremendous place to stay.

Check out was quick with no dramas. Thank you for a pleasant stay, if I return to cardiff I will be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

A repeat stay at the royal hotel, would recommend to people looking for a central location and a quality room.

Friendly and helpful staff on the lead up and through out our stay.

Only downside is that it is quite dark in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyjerseyloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

started our visit on a Sunday and yet lots open and lots to do plenty of places to eat and drink from pubs to coffee houses to restaurants had a bit of a bad night the first night as the room given was on the 4th floor and at the front very noisy and not just from outside. the room was very small and pokey and had a strange angle on the roof. After asking for another room was given one on the 3rd floor at the back ? no hassle room bigger and bigger windows noise still the same from outside but just shut the double glazing and put on the air conditioning.
the breakfast was good 2 types full English or continental worth going for the English as you get a cooked meal good selection usual selection with a few additions and if you fancy something not on the menu they will try to accommodate the do snacks in the bar on an evening but no set dining for this just order at the bar but mainly bar type meals although the burgers are really good so is the coffee
staff very attentive and friendly and can help with recommendations of where to have days out

Room Tip: go for a room on the lower floors and if you want quiet shut the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb-green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $58 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing