We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but too far from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel is hidden away on an industrial estate. The staff are very good and can't do enough for you, the rooms are ok but the beds need replacing as they are quite uncomfortable. The breakfast is freshly made and good. However its location is a £14 taxi ride from the city centre which adds to the cost quite considerably as this is not on a park and ride or a bus route. On major sporting weekends the hotel could make a fortune running a mini bus. Would love to stay again but the location would out me off,

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Campanile Hotel Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 282 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

myself and 3 friends stayed here for the weekend of the final of the heineken cup in cardiff. we were very happy with the hotel thoughout the whole weekend. staff very friendly and professional. we found the rooms to be fine and big enough for our needs. one niggle was that we were in room 104 and throughout both nights there was the constant whirring of some kind of electric pump. apart from this we have no other complaints. city centre easily accessible by cab or bus. lads had the breakfast which they said was fine. nice waitrose shop around the corner with a good coffee shop too.noise from other guests not an issue at any stage. very happy with this hotel especially the very reasonable price for a match weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnytipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Does basics, place to sleep and food available at a price that was fine for accommodation on a rugby match night. It is a fair drive into Cardiff, taxi costs c£12, but you often cannot get closer. Did not have time to explore bus routes as in a hurry to get to game on night we arrived.

On plus side the hotel provides free wi-fi and parking is outside your room, configured like a Motel with cabins. Rooms were a little tired, but clean and tidy so would return for a one night stay re rugby. Other observations:-

• Price did not include breakfast so did not bother, plenty of places to eat in City Centre.
• Noise carries easily from next room so you can hear normal talk of neighbours.
• No wardrobe in a compact room, it is in the largish bathroom!
• Only get one small bath towel each, no hand towels.
• The shower was into a hip bath, a bath just big enough to stand in and seat built into one end. It was fitted so close to wall that it was difficult to stand in shower without feet pushing up against step in bath.
• Location is sort of industrial estate, so you would have to drive to do anything. There is a Dominoes and fish & chip shop relatively nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullNotGlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

i stayed for 3 nights and everything was great .No complaints at all.It wasn;t a 5star hotel and i knew it.
Thank you for the hospitality.i will stay everytime i visit Cardiff and i will do it for many times this year

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Παύλος Μ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thank for you very positive comments regarding your stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed one night here and would rate it above average for a budget hotel. Room was spotless, beds comfortable and the breakfast selection was excellent. We booked a none smoking room so no smell of stale smoke.

Room Tip: The front rooms are closer to the car park. This could be beneficial as the site is on a hill
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Hazel H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments regarding your stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to read that you rate us above average for a budget hotel and that you had a pleasant stay. I hope that you would choose the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff once again, if you are in Cardiff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a Friday night. The hotel had been booked for us by a friend and for the price I have no complaints. The room was OK with all you need for an overnight stop, i.e. tele, Wi-Fi, tea making facilities but it was a bit dark and drab and could do with some brighter lights. The outside needs a clean and/or a fresh coat of paint. The hotel is in a light industrial area which is a bit quiet of an evening and I was a bit worried about the belongings in our car (having had our car broken into once before in a similar situation) but our room (nr 109) overlooked the car park and there was no problem. There is a bar and small restaurant, which Travelodges do not have, and these were reasonably priced although there was very few people using them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear go9ers,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to advise you that the whole of the bedroom block has been re-painted since your stay with us. This has made a big difference to how people look at the building. Our restaurant and bar are not so busy on a weekend as most people go into the city centre. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

It's not very often I write a bad review, but the fundamentals of an overnight hotel stay for me just weren't fulfilled here.
The positives were that there is a good car park, the staff are friendly and helpful and there is a decent TV in the room. However, the negatives were the hotel room stank of smoke, and not just cigarette smoke, the neighbours on both sides were smoking weed. The room was something akin to Pontins chalets circa 1980 with woodchip on the walls, dark wood veneered furniture and a very stained bathroom. I've got to say that it had been cleaned but some things just don't clean. The bed would have been comfortable if again it smelt clean. A small niggle was that it was impossible to use any straightners etc near a mirror and the heating was via an again circa 80's style storage heater which smelt as they do. The absolute worst thing about the night though was the noise. Half of the rooms back on to the busy dual carriageway and the rooms do not have double glazing. That coupled with the extremely noisy water pumps that chug water through to the rooms ensured that I didn't get half a decent nights sleep. This sort of place is great for say a stag night or a sordid meet up, but not for a business trip, a holiday and unless you're desperate I wouldn't recommend for families.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagertoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear eagertoseetheworld,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay at the Campanile Hotel. I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay. Although, I was happy to read that you found our staff friendly. All the rooms in the hotel are non smoking and I apologise if you feel that your room smelt of smoke. We have a strict no smoking policy in the rooms and guests are charged should they not abide by this rule. Was this reported to reception after your check in? As if it was, we would have been able to move you to a different room. With regards, to the hair straightners, I agree that the plug sockets are not close to the mirror. However, we do have an extension lead at reception, that can be used by the guests if requested. All the rooms have double glazed windows. You will find by reading some of our reviews that our main customers are business people or people here on a leisure break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
7.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Address: Caxton Place | Pentwyn, Cardiff CF23 8HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $51 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Campanile Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Campanile Hotel
Campanile Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing