We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to M4 and Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Close to M4 and Cardiff”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went as families with 2 toddlers. We just walk in. They managed to accommodate us with baby cot. Room is ok for 4 of us. We combine the 2 single beds into double. We decided to extend the next day and received a cheaper rate. The rate that we had is better than booking website for last minute trip. The. You need to have car or else bit of walk to shop. But hotel provided restaurant and some items if you want to buy from them. Free wifi is the great feature.


Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Habanawawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Habanawawi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you especially as you did not have a room booked and had two small children with you and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    83
    83
    27
    52
See reviews for
53
78
23
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice hotel, very clean and organised. Great value for money, close by to Cardiff City centre and many other interesting places. All in all very happy with the place and our stay. Wish we had more time to enjoy the breakfast as well but had loads planned for the two night stay so no chance this time, will definitely return if we visit Cardiff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Dilashaw,

Thank your for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will stay with us again should you return to Cardiff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose this hotel as we were moving our daughter and her husband into a new flat nearby. The room and bathroom were basic and clean. We ate breakfast in the restaurant which had the choice of a continental or cooked breakfast at slightly higher cost. The choice was varied and good.
Ventilation for the room was to open a window onto the walkway outside. Unfortunately, the first night, other guests were holding conversations outside late into the night and we were woken several times. We cancelled our fourth night as the price went up to £105 before breakfast as Riana was in town (whoever she is!).
The French model of cheap basic motels with parking near major roads is a good one; we need more in UK. And the title (if you haven't got bored) is the site of the hotel and car park, which is on a steep hill.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear John L,

Thank your for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to read that you were happy with your room and breakfast. However, I am sorry that you were disturbed by other guests talking outside your room. As reception is not 24 hours we do have an emergency number to call which is in the guest information folder in the rooms. Our rates do fluctuate, subject to demand and Rihanna performing at the Millenium Stadium was a big event for Cardiff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The room was fine and good value, as was breakfast. My only criticism was the receptionist's determination to stick to the 14.00 check in; even suggesting that one of us return (by taxi) later to check in!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Michael T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. Check in time is from 2pm until 11pm which is clearly mentioned when bookings are made. Early check in is available subject to availability and is chargeable. For guests that wish to check in before 2pm, we recommend that they book the night before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

we keep returning to this hotel when we visit Cardiff as we find it comfortable, convenient and clean. The staff are always friendly and helpful. I always have the continental breakfast as it is delicious.

Room Tip: we always take our dog so have a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear WelshTricia,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Campanil Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to read that you have stayed with us on more than one occasion. Please make yourself known at reception on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Firstly, dont go by negative reviews, remember you cant get luxury for the price of Budget!

We planned to visit Cardiff during Bank Holiday weekend and so prices of all hotels were three time their normal prices. Camplanile was the 'ONLY' Hotel to maintain their price irrespective of the high season. We had budget of £50 to £70 per night but we were getting all crap hotels in that range. So we thought of taking a chance with Campanine which was available for mere £32 per night!

Pros:
1. It's not just one building type hotel but it is resort type giving you good place to breath then to get suffocated!
2. It is very well connected with City Center with regular public transport and take just 20 - 25 mins to reach City Cnter by route # 57 and 58
3. There is a Waitrose and a Good Restrobar at walking Distance.
4. Staff is Friedly and Helpful.
5. Rooms are clean and comfortable with all aminities. (TV, Coffee ,Tea, Hair Dryer, Bath Tub).

Cons:
1. Room service is not good. I asked for extra Tea and was called to Reception to pick it up!
2. Staff is not well informed of Local Transport.

Frankly speaking I don't have much Cons for this hotel. I was very satisfied with my stay. There are Cons but then you expect that from a Budget Hotel!

Cons:

Room Tip: Take Garden View Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD_Xplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear RD_Xplores,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay after staying with us for the first time. I will pass on your comments to my staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenWlad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Booked to stay here when visiting Cardiff with my daughter to attend an open day in the city centre. Wanted somewhere close to the motorway with easy access into the city for the next morning. This is definitely my first choice when visiting Cardiff again. The staff were cheerful and helpful, rooms while compact were spotless and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. We both had by far the best nights sleep we've ever had in a budget hotel. Breakfast was great value and combined a help yourself continental breakfast with a freshly cooked to order full English. We didn't eat at night in the restaurant but next time we visit we intend doing so. Have to agree with other reviews the car park is on a very steep slope and the hotel is on an industrial estate but in terms of getting into Cardiff it's a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenWlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear HenWlad,

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I was very happy to read that you and your daughter had the best night’s sleep that you have had in a budget hotel. I will pass on your comments to my staff and we look forward to welcoming you to the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff again and to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
580 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
3.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
1,166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Llanederyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Property: Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Address: Caxton Place | Pentwyn, Cardiff CF23 8HA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Campanile Hotel
Campanile Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing