We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware if it rains”
Review of St. Mellons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Mellons Hotel
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beware if it rains”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When it rains water comes through the roof into the dinning room, the corridors the stair ways, and the gents toilet . Most of the rooms smell of damp. What ever you do , don't stay in the 'Garden rooms'. the smell of damp is overpowering. The hotel is in bad need of extensive repair. The window frames are rotting, the carpets are wet and in some places the wallpaper is coming off the walls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    148
    122
    62
    67
See reviews for
114
129
14
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent one night here as we were going to see Bruce Springsteen at the Millennium stadium. It is ideally situated as there is just a short drive into Cardiff and we weren't ripped of with extortionate prices as a lot of the accommodation in Cardiff seemed to be doing for that evening St Mellons is in a lovely setting but like some of the other reviews we were a little disappointed with the Garden Rooms. Looked like something from Butlins in the 70's. The room had at some point been "broken into" but on contact with reception was told that the lock had failed so staff had had to break in to the room. The room was obviously at one point in time a smokers room as the smell of stale smoke was still evident. The room and bathroom were large but looking tired and I wouldn't have liked to have spent more than one night here. Breakfast was average, fruit juices, cereal selection and a cooked option. The main hotel itself did appear a lot better and staff were pleasant enough. Would use again for other events in Cardiff but may choose the main building instead.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the Garden Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon
Level Contributor
143 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you look at the other Trip Advisor reviews about this hotel you will note that there is a difference between the 21 bedrooms in the hotel, and what the hotel calls 'Garden Rooms', a series of chalets which are grouped to the right of the main hotel. The photographs below will demonstrate the difference. It would appear to be the case that anyone who books via a web company will get a room in the garden rooms, rather than the main hotel which is advertised at something like £180 per night.

The main hotel is well appointed, set in extensive grounds and housed in a 19th century 'big house'. The interior decor is tasteful and matches the period of the property. The main dining room, and bar are in the house, along with a spa with sauna, steam room, 18 metre swimming pool, and jacuzzi. Various treatments are available.

The breakfast consisted of options from a cooked menu, including sausage, eggs and bacon etc, along with poached haddock or kippers. A cold selection is provided in a buffet and consists of fruit juices, segmented grapefruit and orange, morning pastries, cereals and yoghurts. On occasions the yoghurts and morning pastries ran out, but the helpful team soon replenished these on request.

The staff in all sections of the hotel were friendly and efficient as they carried out their duties, and helpful and responsive to any requests made.

The only drawback from our 4 day stay was the disappointment of going to the garden rooms rather than the main hotel. Our room had a smell of damp evident as you went through the front door. The other thing to be aware of with the garden rooms is that a number of them back onto an area used as a staff car park, and for deliveries. This creates the situation of traffic noise late at night and in the early morning.

You would do well to bring a sat nav to find the hotel. there are signs on the main road but they have largely grown over now with hedges.

The hotel is accessible to Cardiff which is about a 20 minute drive. There is also the option of a park and ride for £3.00 which is highly recommended as the cost of car parking in the area is expensive.

We would certainly consider this hotel for a future stay in the area, ideally in the main hotel and not the 'garden' rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamnamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've just returned from a two night stay with my husband, it was booked as a short break away. We got a really good deal whereby breakfast and three course evening meal was provided,oh and a bottle of Moet upon arrival.The hotel is set in lovely grounds with a surrounding golf course. We were a little disappointed with our "Garden Room" it is next to the hotel and was quite scruffy looking from ths outside,resembled a chalet. Inside was average but there was no iron, although we asked at reception and were provided with one free of charge. The staff were friendly although some of the waitresses appeared a little stressed at times and would get orders mixed up! The evening meal was very nice with plenty of choice, although the same could not be said for breakfast. There was very little variety in the Continental Section and the cooked breakfast was okay but my sausage was raw and the bacon was very fatty. I decided to try an omelette on the second day, this was very disappointing, very small and yet again, eggs not cooked properly! We went on trips to Barry Island Beach abd Cardiff Bay, both of which were about a forty minute drive and we had a lovely time, whuch was all made better by the glorious sunshine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyramaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good location, staff all welcoming and very happy to help.
Room clean and tidy. Even offer fresh milk if preferred.
Food tasty and well cooked
Sauna, steam room, pool all clean. Towels supplied.
Great little break.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b_mcgraghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Firstly this hotel is hard to find and not sign posted very well. Booked a room on trivago which was a good deal, but be aware that our room was not in the main hotel but in a scruffy looking area which reminded me of holiday camp chalets, they called it the garden room!! The room and bathroom were clean, large and fit for purpose, although we had to share a towel! So, the main part of the hotel was typically Best Western, a dated elegance which we quite like. The hotel is situated near a golf course and overlooks nice gardens with outside tables. The food was fine, only had light supper which was served by pleasent friendly staff. We had a good enough stay but glad we didn't pay full price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineEliz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I were at St Mellons last week and enjoyed a two night break with glorious weather. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and well equipped. We had breakfast and evening meal The service of waiting staff was excellent and food tasty and well presented.
I used the gym,pool and spa facilities which were all good.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel which was great value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickie187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
5.5 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 73 in Cardiff
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Manor Parc Country Hotel
Manor Parc Country Hotel
#34 of 73 in Cardiff
124 reviews
2.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#51 of 73 in Cardiff
269 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mellons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mellons Hotel

Property: St. Mellons Hotel
Address: Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mellons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, traditional hotel set amongst secluded gardens, yet close to the centre of Cardiff, the St. Mellons Hotel was originally a large country house. With high standards of service and an emphasis on luxury, today the hotel comprises 41 en suite bedrooms, all stylishly furnished, as well as a wealth of leisure facilities including swimming pool, Spa Works beauty salon and rejuvenating spa amenities. Guests seeking the finest cuisine can indulge their curiosity at our Llanarthan Restaurant. Outside the hotel, guests can take a relaxing wander in the extensive hotel grounds or discover the sights and sounds of Cardiff only a short journey away. We acknowledge the gracious living of an earlier age, yet appreciate the contemporary desires of today's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your St. Mellons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
St. Mellons Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing