We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,402)
Filter reviews
2,402 results
Traveler rating
636
787
536
258
185
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
636
787
536
258
185
Show reviews that mention
All reviews groupon deal cardiff castle opposite the castle three course meal lovely hotel third floor millennium stadium city centre room was large tea and coffee a lovely stay car parking cooked breakfast principality foyer concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 2,402 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This very beautiful establishment was a spontaneous booking, but, it was a luxurious place to rest our heads.
The front of house staff were brilliant and the breakfast was delicious.
Although the decor in the bathroom needed attention... we just loved the view!
We may well book for next July speedway GP

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank suethorpe768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardS9186, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear suethorpe768,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning next year. Please bear in mind the demand for bedrooms during Speedway are high so I would advise to book as soon as possible to avoid disappointment.

Kind Regards

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel entrance and Lobby looks very promising, with the opulent staircase to the first floor rooms. But the rooms look very tired considering the £477 two day rate! Of the three rooms booked for our group, one had faulty air conditioning, which was 'remedied' by the loan of a fan. Admittedly the Hotel then gave all three rooms complimentary Breakfast. (Breakfast not included in the original £477 cost). Another room had a faulty Shaving mirror light and the extractor fan did not work. The window frames had been painted over multiple times and the lace curtain was dirty and stained. Certainly not the best supposedly 4 Star hotel!
Staff were very helpful and obliging.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meregrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardS9186, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Meregrin,

Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry to hear the bedrooms you had weren't all of the same standard, but I am confident that the team on duty helped to rectify and remedy any issues that were raised. Due to the high demand of bedrooms for Speedway, all of the city centre hotels increase their prices, so I can appreciate that the price might not truly reflect our standard rate for our 3 star hotel.

Kind Regards

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love staying in this hotel . Been coming here for 8yrs while I go to speedway . Never fails to deliver. Had a different room every time . Food is good staff very friendly. Beds are lovely & comfortable . Breakfast excellant

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ryder64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardS9186, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ryder64,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It's always great to get such positive feedback from our regular guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us for next year's Speedway.

Kind Regards

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely faded grandeur at The Angel. It would have been amazing in its day. Staff were very helpful. Room was just so so, reasonable size, bathroom door couldn't close.
We took advantage of their restaurant offering 3 course meal and bottle of wine. good, tasty food. Buffet breakfast was good as well.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis1501, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Michael R
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased the service was excellent. This is something we pride ourselves on and the team appreciate your feedback.
We are continually carrying out works and decoration and a major renovation project is in the planning stage.
We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again for an improved stay.
Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr
Lis Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, great location to everything.
Nice breakfast. Lovely evening meal.
Staff very lovely
I would recommend this hotel
We went on a girls weekend with a offer they had. Amazing value!!!
Will definitely recommend and come again!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank LAE551676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis1501, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lae551676
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had an amazing weekend with us.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr
Lis Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews