We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,063)
Filter reviews
2,063 results
Traveler rating
533
680
461
226
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
680
461
226
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sweeping staircase opposite the castle cardiff castle lovely hotel millennium stadium third floor bit dated city centre room was large tea and coffee car parking cooked breakfast foyer principality concert
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 2,063 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for three nights at the beginning on November 2018.
The room wa very tired and dated but the radiator could not be adjusted resulting in a room temperature that was like sleeping in an oven. Opening a window helped but the noice from outside made sleeping very difficult. Following day notified reception but nothing done to fix the problem. Room not made up at all the following day so had to request clean towels and tea bags etc . Following day despite advising reception again about the faulty radiator nothing was done and another sleepless night. .woke to find multiple bites across my body and blood specs on the sheets. Horrible experience overall and again another sleepless night. Last morning saw the bath refilling with disgusting waste water through the plug hole. Only positive out of three awful days was that the receptionist promised to move the complaint up to management level and promptly did. The room was then sealed and it was confirmed a few days later that the room did have bed bugs and we were offered 52% off the room rate. Not even close to what they should have done to compensate for three uncomfortable and sleepless days and nights!

Room tip: I cannot recommend this hotel .
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R6032UIchristinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardS9186, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear R6032Ulchristinem
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all reviews and try and improve our service and facilities. We apologise for any discomfort from a bite. The minute we were informed, we took immediate action to eliminate the problem. Like other quality, vigilant hotels, we have a strict, daily regime to prevent bed bug outbreaks. However, should a new guest introduce a bug to a room through their luggage or clothing, we also have a solid program of immediate intervention to ensure no other guest needs to be concerned. I also apologise for the miscommunication with the room attendant about cleaning your room but pleased we were able to remedy it once you advised us. Thank you again for bringing it to our attention and allowing us to respond yo you directly following your stay.
Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr
Lis Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The wife chose this place as it had decent reviews and was an absolute bargain for a single night stay, tea and breakfast in a great central location.

We parked in the hotel car park which has a new system in place where you don't get a ticket and are registered on camera and pay at reception. Upon arrival the reception area was an impressive site with sweeping staircases either side, check in was easy and the room was easily found. The room was spacious with a large bathroom which looked relatively new but just needed a few touches to bring it up to a high standard.

The 2 course evening meal was of a fine standard, a relatively basic menu, but what there was, was more than acceptable. A fine nights sleep and a nice buffet breakfast and our brief stay was over.

The location was excellent, right by shops, The Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle.

The price we paid, around £70 for 2 people with 2 meals is pretty much unbeatable and a bargain. The rooms do need to be modernised a little and a few silly little things tidied up but that's being overly picky.

The hotels main clientele seems to be people of a more advanced age on bus tours and thus is more aimed at them. Saying that if we were in Cardiff again and could get a similar deal we would stay again without hesitation.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steviefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardS9186, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Steviefull
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you generally had a nice stay with us, and the food was nice.
We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again.
Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr
Lis Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night before a concert, I asked for a castle view room.
Was given room 115, which was a castle view,but it was a really tired/dated room,actually the whole hotel needs a refurbishment.
The double bed was uptight against the wall,so was really awkward to get out for the toilet in the night, my wife didn’t sleep at all, all night due to the noise from the main road,so be careful when asking for a castle view,did mention it when we checked out, and the manager has been in touch and offered an upgrade, if we booked again, which we won’t be.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank shaung252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardS9186, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ShainG252
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed with the layout of the room and the noise from the street. We appreciate your feedback and will address the points you have raised during the upcoming renovation project commencing next year.
We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again for a better stay as discussed with your wife.
Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr
Lis Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean, very nice and well oriented. Large and comfortable bed, bath, hairdryer and even machine to iron pants. Very good restaurant and nice bar, nothing to say, I highly recommend and would come back here.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean-Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardS9186, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jean-Marc C
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had a very good and comfortable stay with us, the restaurant and bar were good and you liked the facilities in the room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr
Lis Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night on a dinner an& B with a bottle of wine. We were treated really well and looked after by all the staff from reception to breakfast. The room was very comfortable with the view of the Cardiff castle. The shower was powerful and very therapeutic. We would visit again on a special deal. Thank
You

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dilipmistry2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardS9186, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr & Mrs Mistry
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had a comfortable stay with us, and were looked after well by the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr
Lis Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews