We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a hen do, but the general guests staying were wedding guests so don't get the wrong idea about the hotel!

It's centrally located, opposite the castle so is great to stay in after a night out or simply visiting the city for shopping.

Our room was a little dated, but very spacious and perfect for what we needed it for. The lifts are a little slow but that's no big deal.

When we went on a Saturday the car park was a little full with people parked ridiculously but we all got our cars in.

The breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice and the staff we met were friendly and helpful! Overall, a great stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Many thanks for your feedback.

The team were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable weekend.

We do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Myself and my partner arrived after travelling up by train and walking from the train station, got to the hotel and were greeted by (I must say) a polite lovely lady who then informed us we were not staying at the hotel. I was quite annoyed becuase I had no prior warning, apparently there were no contact details for me even though i'd had an email confirmation for the stay which I found a bit silly that they couldn't have used that. As much as I didn't mind, as the hotel we were transferred to was the Hilton which is hardly any distance away and still a great city centre hotel, our stay at the Hilton was then a real disappointment. It was very noisy until around 4am, the service wasn't amazing from the reception and the only thing that saved the stay was the breakfast which was served until late (11am) and the choice was great.
I felt like my stay was really spoiled by the fact that i'd looked forward to a relaxing stay as i'd had the Angel recommended to me, and the outcome was not what i'd hoped for at all.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused.

It is never our intention for anything to go wrong but unfortunately an unplanned maintenance emergency resulted in bedrooms not being available.

I am sorry the alternative accommodation was so disappointing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have visited The Angel Hotel previously and as we had a lovely stay before, and there was a very good offer on, decided to stay again. We arrived at the hotel at about 10.15 a.m. in the pouring rain and knew we couldn't get into the room until 3.00 but wanted to leave our bags at the hotel before going shopping. The lady at the check in desk found our reservation and advised us that unfortunately they did not have any twin rooms available and had upgraded us to a premier double - all very well but even though we had known each other years I did not want to sleep with my friend! We said that this was not acceptable as we had booked back in February and had no notification that they only had double rooms available as if we had we, would have booked into a different hotel. She pointed out various options which we weren't terribly happy with and we asked to see the manager and were told that she started at 2.30 p.m. and it would be sorted out then, we said we'd go shopping and return later.

When we returned at 2.30, much to our relief they had a twin room available, so we could relax a little.

After a good afternoon's shopping we returned to the hotel to get ready for dinner. This was included in the offer - a three course meal and bottle of wine for 2. We went to the restaurant and were the first people in there. We thought that as the meal was part of a deal we would be restricted in what we could choose from, but we were able to select from the normal menu and we asked for red wine, and had a bottle of house red which was very drinkable.

The food was excellent and very well presented and my friend who doesn't eat puddings, had the vanilla cheesecake and said that this was the best part of the meal - absolutely delicious.

Breakfast the following day was equally good, and although very busy with other guests there was plenty of choice and it was kept very hot.

The staff at this hotel are really nice and helpful, the room was a little small but perfectly adequate and the food is brilliant.

Our problem was sorted out well and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smileybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Many thanks for your feedback.

I was pleased to hear the team were able to resolve the problem and you had a great weekend.

We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I am Welsh and was born and brought up in Cardiff. During my years living there I always looked at the Angel Hotel and thought it would be great to stay there. So arranging to visit friends in Cardiff we booked 3 nights at this hotel.
On arrival after a 4 1/2 hour drive from Dorset we were told by the receptionist that we could not book in for another 1 1/2 hours. We were both shattered and made our feelings felt so she rather reluctantly 'found' an available room.
I must say on first sight the entrance to this hotel appears lovely but it soon goes downhill. We had to find our own way to the room taking the filthy tiny lift. The corridor carpets are mismatched and in places held down with tape where they are ripped. We found our room and I was horrified. It was tiny with two very small filthy windows. The floor creaked and the light at the side of the bed was broken. The dirty lampshade was on the floor but had been held up by two metal prongs. The grouting in the bathroom was cracked and mouldy in places as was the torn shabby wallpaper. My immediate reaction was 'I am not staying here.' My husband went to the reception and was shown an equally filthy room which he declined. He was then shown an 'upgraded' room and in desperation' we agreed to pay for the upgrade.
We had a larger room with a sitting area which was a broken down sofa bed. It did have two TVs! The bathroom was tiny and the bath itself was so narrow and you couldn't lie down in it as it was too short. To get out you had to be careful not to burn yourself on the heated towel rail. There was an open cupboard in the bathroom that held an assortment of filthy pipes. Not very safe. The carpet in the room was worn and stained. Cracks all over the walls. It has four tiny windows which had not been cleaned in years.The view past the mouldy slimy window ledges was of the castle grounds. All in all the place needs a huge refurbishment. The windows have been painted over so many times the paint looks to be half inch thick. The bed too was hard and uncomfortable. the air conditioning only worked in the living area and the windows only open 6 inches so it is very hot.
I agree with other views that this is only a meagre 2star hotel.
Breakfast was ok. Plenty of it although swimming in oil.Again chairs are stained and old.
We did not eat there for dinner due to the cost. A 250ml glass of wine varies from £6.50 to £10.50 a glass! A bottle of Merlot priced at over £30!!
The location is good near to the town but then so is the Holiday Express next door which looks far nicer and is a good sight cheaper.
On leaving the reception tried to charge us for the car park which we had not used. She argued that as we had input our registration number then we must have used the car park. We hadn't,we used the Millenium car park across the road which was £3.50 a day cheaper.
One worrying point is that in the hotel information it states that you cannot drink the tap water?? No explanation but asking friends that live in Cardiff they have no knowledge of tap water being unsafe to drink. Unless you read the hotel brochure you would not know that.
My advice is to steer clear until the whole place gets refurbished. Far far nicer hotels for less money and of course if you want the best then the St Davids is in the bay.
Altogether a very expensive disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angeeweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for highlighting your concerns.

Please accept my apologies that your experience of our accommodation was so disappointing.

We have recently started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary, needless to say certain rooms have been highlighted as a priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

good hotel in ideal location, Cardiff castle across the road, millennium stadium 5mins walk away as is the main high street.The staff were very friendly, the rooms were comfortable and clean, treated ourselves to afternoon tea, very nice, check in and out staff very courteous and helpful

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clwyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I like the convenience of this hotel, it's located in the main street, i can easy traveling to the main spots of Cardiff. Also, the exterior of the building and interior design are nice but look a little old. For me, the price for the room i stayed was a little high but accepable, i think it may higher in the high season.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee8882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Really nice hotel with history,very pleasant helpful staff,clean adequate size room,with all required ameanities,and a brilliant location for city centre,shows,events and within walking distance of the main train station etc,recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank KarlCymruWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback.

Feedback such as yours will help us tremendously.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $64 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing