We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I am Welsh and was born and brought up in Cardiff. During my years living there I always looked at the Angel Hotel and thought it would be great to stay there. So arranging to visit friends in Cardiff we booked 3 nights at this hotel.
On arrival after a 4 1/2 hour drive from Dorset we were told by the receptionist that we could not book in for another 1 1/2 hours. We were both shattered and made our feelings felt so she rather reluctantly 'found' an available room.
I must say on first sight the entrance to this hotel appears lovely but it soon goes downhill. We had to find our own way to the room taking the filthy tiny lift. The corridor carpets are mismatched and in places held down with tape where they are ripped. We found our room and I was horrified. It was tiny with two very small filthy windows. The floor creaked and the light at the side of the bed was broken. The dirty lampshade was on the floor but had been held up by two metal prongs. The grouting in the bathroom was cracked and mouldy in places as was the torn shabby wallpaper. My immediate reaction was 'I am not staying here.' My husband went to the reception and was shown an equally filthy room which he declined. He was then shown an 'upgraded' room and in desperation' we agreed to pay for the upgrade.
We had a larger room with a sitting area which was a broken down sofa bed. It did have two TVs! The bathroom was tiny and the bath itself was so narrow and you couldn't lie down in it as it was too short. To get out you had to be careful not to burn yourself on the heated towel rail. There was an open cupboard in the bathroom that held an assortment of filthy pipes. Not very safe. The carpet in the room was worn and stained. Cracks all over the walls. It has four tiny windows which had not been cleaned in years.The view past the mouldy slimy window ledges was of the castle grounds. All in all the place needs a huge refurbishment. The windows have been painted over so many times the paint looks to be half inch thick. The bed too was hard and uncomfortable. the air conditioning only worked in the living area and the windows only open 6 inches so it is very hot.
I agree with other views that this is only a meagre 2star hotel.
Breakfast was ok. Plenty of it although swimming in oil.Again chairs are stained and old.
We did not eat there for dinner due to the cost. A 250ml glass of wine varies from £6.50 to £10.50 a glass! A bottle of Merlot priced at over £30!!
The location is good near to the town but then so is the Holiday Express next door which looks far nicer and is a good sight cheaper.
On leaving the reception tried to charge us for the car park which we had not used. She argued that as we had input our registration number then we must have used the car park. We hadn't,we used the Millenium car park across the road which was £3.50 a day cheaper.
One worrying point is that in the hotel information it states that you cannot drink the tap water?? No explanation but asking friends that live in Cardiff they have no knowledge of tap water being unsafe to drink. Unless you read the hotel brochure you would not know that.
My advice is to steer clear until the whole place gets refurbished. Far far nicer hotels for less money and of course if you want the best then the St Davids is in the bay.
Altogether a very expensive disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angeeweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for highlighting your concerns.

Please accept my apologies that your experience of our accommodation was so disappointing.

We have recently started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary, needless to say certain rooms have been highlighted as a priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

good hotel in ideal location, Cardiff castle across the road, millennium stadium 5mins walk away as is the main high street.The staff were very friendly, the rooms were comfortable and clean, treated ourselves to afternoon tea, very nice, check in and out staff very courteous and helpful

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clwyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I like the convenience of this hotel, it's located in the main street, i can easy traveling to the main spots of Cardiff. Also, the exterior of the building and interior design are nice but look a little old. For me, the price for the room i stayed was a little high but accepable, i think it may higher in the high season.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee8882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Really nice hotel with history,very pleasant helpful staff,clean adequate size room,with all required ameanities,and a brilliant location for city centre,shows,events and within walking distance of the main train station etc,recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank KarlCymruWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback.

Feedback such as yours will help us tremendously.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I experienced an enjoyable stay recently at this conveniently situated hotel in the centre of Cardiff. On the whole the staff were obliging and helpful. The check in staff member we dealt with was courteous and friendly. The dining room is a little dated and shabby, however the bedrooms are a good size, clean and comfortable.We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We are currently reviewing an internal refurbishment project for our restaurant to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent one night here for our daughter's final concert in St David's Hall.We booked a deal for dinner, bed and breakfast. Due to timings we could not have dinner but we were allowed a credit to use in the bar, We ordered food there and the staff laid a table in the dining room. The food was very good and staff could not have been more helpful - especially Luiz. Our room was small but very comfortable so for the rate and the hotel's excellent location we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LizandGuy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback.

The team were pleased to hear your recognition for their service.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel room on the third floor was grubby, the plumbing was noisy which woke us several times through the night. The staff were indifferent to our complaint.

There are plenty of good hotels in Cardiff, unfortunately this is not one of them!

On the plus side, the breakfast was good.

Would definitely not return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for highlighting your concerns. I have taken note of your comments and will address them individually to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $64 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing