We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
$116
$101
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$73
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$71
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$91
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$71
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$89
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$88
$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,797)
Filter reviews
1,797 results
Traveler rating
431
598
415
203
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
598
415
203
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagrand staircaseopposite the castlecardiff castlemillennium stadiumlovely hotelbit datedcity centreroom was largeweekend breakcar parkingprincipalitywelshconcert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,441 - 1,446 of 1,797 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 Friday night in November. Hotel is in a very good location for the town. Lots of sights and shops in close proximity. The room I had was very clean and spacious with a very comfy bed. Parking is available onsite with limited spaces. Ncp is available around the corner. This was £18 for the night. I would use the hotel again. Thanks.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

The team were please to hear you had an enjoyable stay at The Angel Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I got a Hotwire deal for $60/night on this hotel. That price was about right. Great location, large room, and the wifi worked. The location was perfect for sightseeing and taking the train. We could see the castle from our room. The hotel decor was elegant yet decayed and dusty. We had a tea and biscuits in the sitting room on a sofa with collapsed springs. The shower in our bathroom was defective and sprayed the entire bathroom in a way that was almost hilarious. My clothes got wet, but luckily the windows opened and the clothes dried on the sill. The breakfast buffet had many moderately disgusting choices, but we enjoyed talking with the friendly breakfast staff. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Expect a quirky old hotel with no updates.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback. Your comments have been shared with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a nice looking hotel and staff are very pleasant. We had a premium room which was spacious and clean. There were tiny bits of wear in the bathroom, i.e. a few cracked tiles etc. Nothing too bad though. We had very lovely food and the chef was excellent. Lina the waitress was very helpful and friendly and a definite asset to them. There were a few problems that we had to sort out but they were dealt with quickly. The room we had booked had a castle view, this was a special request of ours,when we arrived we were not given one, we had a nasty view of out buildings, when we rang down they found us another room as booked but we had to get our luggage backed to reception to change the keys and back up again to the new room. This was very difficult for us as I have a disability. When we got in the room it should have had bathrobes, slippers and bottled water but none were there. We again had to request them, every day thereafter we had to ask for the water as they never left any. They should not offer premium rooms at extra cost when they do not include what is promised, it is not nice having to constantly ask for things. The meal we booked was the sparkle deal, this was a 3 course meal with sparkling wine, we had to explain each night we were there what we had booked as there seemed some confusion. Once explained the meal was really lovely. First night we were only offered either white or red wine, upon questioning it the second night they found a sparkling for us but only had rose, they should provide what they take your money for. On the third night they told us in the restaurant they were having problems with our bill as they were not sure we had booked the sparkle deal and to speak at reception, we did speak to them and they said the same. They suggested it should be ok and would check the next day with the booking office to see what we had booked, not very efficient and organised. The next morning it turned out to be ok, very definitely a lack of communication. We had a great time in Cardiff and did not let this experience spoil it for us, although these problems should not have arisen. We had booked this break as a special celebration for us and it meant too much for them to spoil it. We had filled in a complaint form for them asking for these points to be looked at for other guests, they have not bothered to respond to us yet!

Room Tip: Book a premium room WITH A CASTLE VIEW but check you have what you pay for in it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I very much regret the frustration caused by the issues you have detailed.

I have reviewed your feedback with the team as it is always our priority to improve on any mistakes that have been made.

I do hope that you will consider staying at the Angel Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a superbly located hotel in city centre Cardiff and it looks great from the outside and up to the beautiful foyer & stairway. However the rooms are tiny with the double bed in our room pushed up to the wall. Its not very convenient having to crawl down the bed to get out of it as it is against the wall. ! Also the radiator would not adjust and was only luke warm at best and the electric kettle had to be put on the floor to work as the lead was not long enough to reach the table ! Quite dangerous. On the good side , the breakfast was great , plenty of choice, well cooked and all hot. Very nice.
Overall, reasonable value and acceptable but not brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with a double bed that actually fits in !
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YantoReddish2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

went down to the angel for a xmas shoping trip . the staff allways are polite and allways smilling . i have stayed here before and is in a very good for shoping and places to eat . the first room i had was a twin and overlooked the castse . i was a very nice room and was a bit noisy with the traffic outside . on the 2 night we were upgraded to a double and was very quiet with no noise from the traffic .whe had a 3 course and wine the second night and was exellent . the waiter serivce was also very good . the breakfast was also very good

Room Tip: the castle side is more noisy
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meirion e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Angel Hotel.

I have shared your feedback with the team and they were delighted to hear you had an ejoyable time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews