We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell's angel more like”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed with a bus tour most disappointed room so small couldn't walk around it bathroom had mould and an electric cord running around the floor old pull string electric light cracked tiles creaking floors lumpy flat pillows couldn't open window very stuffy worst I have ever stayed at rooms dirty needs total reno

Room Tip: Don't bother stay next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my apologies that your experience was so disappointing. I appreciate fully all the points you have made and regret the frustration caused.

I have reviewed all your feedback with the team as it is always our priority to improve on any mistakes that have been amde to avoid any reoccurrence.

I have also requested the housekeeping department to address the cleanliness of the room immediately.

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,380 - 1,386 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We loved staying here for 2 nights when visiting Cardiff. It is conveniently close to the town centre and across the road from the castle. It is set in an older style that we found charming and very pretty, suiting it's historical location perfectly. Breakfast was great value and the staff very attentive and friendly. We would definitely stay here again if visiting this city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisys7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Many thanks for posting your feedback.

The team at The Angel Hotel were pleased to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed our breakfast offering.

we do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was a two night package at a very reasonable £169 for a double room with dinner and afternoon tea. Check in was trouble free and the room was comfortable and adequate; in spite of its location facing the castle traffic noise was not a problem. I would like to have been able to open a window as the AC was barely adequate to achieve any sort of accurate temperature control. This was not a problem on a fine early autumn day but may be under more extreme weather conditions. Details were lacking - no iron was present in spite of the hotel's website stating that every room had one but a request to reception produced an immediate response. The included "bottle of wine on arrival" was not present either but was provided at dinner following a reminder. The food was excellent throughout, dinner, breakfast and tea. Yes, the decor is a bit tired in places and I disliked not having the option of a staircase instead of the lift, but all in all we enjoyed our stay and will happily return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the castle are a lot better than a view of the car park! Don't worry about traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGrumpy318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I have reviewed your feedback with the team to ensure that any appropriate action to improve is taken.

We do have a guest stair case which leads up to the third floor, I have reviewed the signage to ensure the directions are more visable.

Thank you for all your comments, I do hope that you will consider staying at The Angel Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A bit of Fawlty Towers but what the heck. Our room was big and comfortable and look right on the castle. Emma was gracious and welcoming and left a lovely note and nice Welsh griddlecake cookies for us. It's not a 5 star by any means but the intentions are good and location is great and we had no problems. Can't beat the price!!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask in advance about rooms as some overlook the carpark. Our room overlooked the castle a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback with regards to your recent stay at The Angel Hotel.

We were pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the Welshcakes.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a two night stay in this hotel. Firstly the entrance was a lovely welcome and staff nice. We booked this for our wedding anniversary a premium double. We got a guest double.!! A lot smaller than we thought for £107. A night Considering it was our anniversary (which i mentioned when checking in). It says you get mineral water online when booked and a dressing gown in room. We didn't have either. The bathroom was the best bit very large and modern. The window was hideous we had no view what so ever. (We where on the 3rd floor). We had the england rugby team staying in the rooms either side of us and on the saturday night i was extremely ill and they where making a hell of a lot of noise shouting and jumping around room until my husband finally called reception at 11pm. Cardif overal was an amazing place but i was pretty disappointed that considering it was a very special occasion we where given such a Terrible room. The window sills where full of dead bugs and never been dusted also. I think if we had got the room we originally payed for (a premium double) things would have been differant. I booked online but did call up the hotel and asked if there was a swimming pool/sauna/jacuzzi i was told yes. When we arrived i asked where it was and was told there isnt one. That was a let down also. Considering i had 3 people recommend this hotel that i know i think we where given the worst room possible for our stay. Its an anniversary i will never forget..

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vixxy701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I very much regret the disappointment caused by the issues you have detailed.

I have reviewed all your feedback with the front of house and housekeeing teams as it is always our priority to improve on any mistakes that have been made to avoid any reoccurrence.

I am sorry the team did not acknowledge your anniversary. I consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who genuinely care about our guests comfort and enjoyment during their stay and I am frustrated that during your stay we were unable to either pre-empt or totally rectify the problems faced.

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very impressive traditional Hotel with well trained and welcoming staff. Its location is ideal for the City Centre shops and Castle, with a hourly boat service during the day from the adjacent Bute Park travelling during the day to Cardiff Bay. The Hotel food (Breakfast, Dinner & afternoon tea were excellent,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ossie467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Angel Hotel.

Your feedback will be shred with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We purchased a living social deal for a champagne afternoon tea so made a reservation but have to admit having read some of the reviews we nearly cancelled and I am so glad we went. The tea and coffee tasted good, there were three different types of sandwiches - cheese, egg and ham, two scones with jam and clotted cream, two chocolate eclairs, and four different tarts, everything was lovely and the pastry on the tarts was so soft. The waitress that greeted us was very pleasant and even though we were early it was no trouble, we were seated straight away and served our tea and coffees, then the champagne and then the goodies. The only disappointment was the fact that we were the only ones in there. We will definitely visit again and may try an evening meal next time.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank k1of2ksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We were delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at The Angel Hotel.

Our Afternoon Tea packages have been very popular !

we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
1,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $58 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing