We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, clean, top location.”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Chose to stay in Cardiff the night before an exam, decided on the Angel as it was a really good price, easy to get to and had free wi-fi through out the hotel. It is in need of updating but was spotlessly clean and the staff were exceptional. Having stayed at the Plaza and Hilton before the staff at the Angel could teach them a thing or to for sure! Breakfast was extensive however the delicious looking fresh mushrooms didn't taste nice at all which was a shame. Bed was so comfy too.

Overall excellent value for money, would not choose for luxury but in such a busy and vibrant city, who wants to stay in the hotel all day anyway? I hope the update in progress is sympathetic to the amazing building.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misseatalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,557 - 1,563 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a city break for 3 nights from the 7th to the 10th June. We were greeted by a young Spanish girl on reception who was very friendly and professional not only with regards to hotel facilities but also useful local knowledge of local bus services and amenities.
This service from staff set an excellent benchmark was of the same level throughout our stay. The Premium Room ( 305 ) was huge in a reasonable state of decoration. Bathrobes, slippers and upgraded toiletries were provided It had a separate area with settee, table and cabinet for the TV which came in very useful as the weather at times was atrocious. My only gripe with the room is that it overlooks dismal air conditioning units and ventilation tunnels. Additionally the 2 windows are overlooked by rooms on the adjacent corridor. The curtains soon put pay to any onlookers at bath time!!
The hotel is adjacent to the Castle and Millenium Stadium. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the city centre shops and nearest Wetherspoons hostelry.
The car parking is £10 per night for residents but does not have access into the rear of the hotel. My tip is to drop luggage off near to the front entrance of the hotel asnd then park the car.
The quality of food for the full buffet hot and cold breakfast is first class. The restaurant service by staff was second to none.
I would definitely stay here again when in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Drop off luggage prior to parking your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIZZLY1DERBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Satyed here on a girls weekend. Clean and modern. Better than expected for the price. No complaints (but we did not spend a huge amount of time in the hotel). Staff encountered were all pleasant. The location is fabulous, directly opposite the castle. Would stay here again for a basic hotel in such a central location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Cant fault the location of this hotel, directly opposite Cardiff castle and minutes away from city centre. First impression is foyer of hotel which looks wonderful and corridors to rooms were spacious and wide but rooms quite small with daylight from only one small window (on 3rd floor). Rooms in definite need of update/modernisation. We only use hotel as base to explore city so was good enough for us.

Room Tip: ask for room with view of castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie_j88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Under new ownership and in need of a refurb. Rooms looked very 'tired'; eg cracked floor-tiles in bathroom, bathroom ventilation fan not working, dated decor. However, bed was comfy and had a good night's sleep. Looked onto a main road but the double glazing effectively muted the traffic noise. Good central location. At the price it was ok as a place to lay my head whilst attending a conference, but not somewhere I'd take my lady for a luxury week-end.

Room Tip: If you are a poor sleeper do ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saronno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is right in the city centre and has its own car park which is ideal if you're coming with the family.
The rooms are nice and modern (ours had been refurbished) and some have views over to the Castle opposite.
Breakfast was OK and we ate out so can't comment on restaurant for dinner.
Good price and very convenient loaction mean we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familymugambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

If you are looking for something a little different and not the usual bland carbon copy hotel, the Angel is ideal. Although it's owned by the Barcelo group, they've done well to kept the original period features making it feel warm and welcoming. Great location - slap bang in the middle of Cardiff, opposite the Castle and just a short walk from the train and bus station. There's loads of bars, restaurants and cafes surrounding the hotel. The room was very comfortable, fitted with all mod cons, clean, well furnished and quiet. The reception staff were very friendly and made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. All in all, a lovely hotel - good value for money and ideal for a few nights in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $62 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing