We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel . . .”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here last weekend. Hotel was very nice. We paid a third of the price that it stated behind the reception desk so felt like we had a bargain. Nice swimming pool, very warm jacuzzi and nice sauna. Request a lake view if you can and pay for breakfast in advance as we were told it was cheaper if you book in advance.

There is a nice pub/restaurant around the corner next to the TV studios (not cheap but good) and again I suggest booking if you want to eat on a weekend. There is also a Pizza Hut and a McDonald's within walking distance if you prefer.

Check-out is midday which is good if you don't want to get up early.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    402
    269
    94
    49
See reviews for
190
395
35
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business

Excellent check in, very friendly and welcoming

Lovely room with a very comfortable bed

I ate in the restuarant and the food and service was excellent

Buffet breakfast was very good, lots of choice and decent quality

I didn't even mind paying £5 for wi-fi as the service was very good and the price of the room and the meal

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twickenham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

3 years since last visit. Not much changed, still found staff extremely helpful and cheery. Best breakfast I have had in a Uk hotel.
Room very comfortable. Best sleep in ages!
Added bonus of being next door to the biggest Marks and Spencer in Europe.
My sister lives in Swansea and my niece in Cardiff but for me if staying in Wales this is the hotel for us!

Room Tip: I like the ground floor but there are lifts so no stair climbing required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

stayed one night when attending Millenium theatre for Singing in the Rain. A great location and comfortable and well furnished room. Excellent buffet breakfast. would certainly use this hotel again. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Picked up a really good deal, just £29 night room only. Check in quick and staff very attentive. Reception /bar area lovely with an open fire. Had a bar meal which was tasty and reasonably priced. Room was clean but a little dated. Parking free, internet not!! 10 mins drive into Cardiff, overall a great night away and very cheap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliscarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A regular stayer here and it's a nice hotel but I cannot see why they charge £5 for wi fi access and it is about time the practice of pushing together two single bed to make one double is stopped, they would be better off having twin beds at least there will not be a ridge in the middle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

stayed here with family overnight after my daughters wedding, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were a good size with very comfortable beds and the breakfast was delicious although a bit expensive.wouldlike to stay again when we have more time to enjoy the stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
573 reviews
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
2,319 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing