We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tour buffet meal was poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Victoria BC Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“tour buffet meal was poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

One of many hotels we stayed in on a UK tour, and while it was clean and comfortable, our dinner was a disappointment. It was hard to recognize chicken or fish and many dishes were not hot. We overlooked the parking lot, and it was peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoloVictoriaBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    394
    259
    90
    44
See reviews for
184
379
34
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in business on Friday, rooms are large and though little dated are still very pleasant, bed was huge and very comfy, plenty pillows and warm quilt. Ample towels in the spacious bathroom with comp toiletries! Staff all sound foreign (and don't mean welsh) and sometimes struggled to understand us.

Food in restaurant was ok, not a lot of choice and dear for what it was BUT was tasty, just not a lot of it!

Breakfast is buffet style so the usual available. Not much cereal choice and would prefer small tubs yogurt than big bowl and ladle to help yourself...

View from room as gorgeous -lovely looking lake. Would stay here with my hubby (was working hence needed overnight accommodation)
All in all..... Not bad, quite tudy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is easy to get to from the M4 and is well signposted. Supposedly a 4 star hotel it is I think now a 3S as it is lacking some of the things that a 4 requires. It doesn’t for instance have bathrobes or slippers nor anything in the room to tell you what facilities the hotel has.

Saying that I liked the hotel. Yes it is a little tired and dated. It has dark wood furniture which I like but I know many don’t. The soft furnishings however were modern and of fairly good quality. It was a shame that they didn’t update the wall paper or paintings, something as simple as that can really lift a room from a 1990’s to a modern look.

The bedroom was one of their larger and a good size, you didn’t feel claustrophobic at all. They had an empty mini bar which I liked as it was good to store our own water etc in it and it chilled nicely. The tv was a flatscreen with subtitle availability. It had a table for general relaxing at, a desk for working at and a vanity table with well lit mirror for makeup and hair. The bed was a good size with a very firm mattress but although the pillows were numerous I found them to be far to firm leaving a stiff neck. The closeness of the motorway didn’t cause noise issues when the windows were closed but with no air-conditioning in the rooms you could hear it slightly when open. They did however provide a desktop fan in the room.

The bathroom was a moderate size and had all the basics. They unfortunately have made the fixed marble surround too big for the sink so little old me had a rather large stretch to reach over whilst cleaning my teeth. Lighting in the room was good for make-up and they have provided a shaving mirror as well as the normal mirrors. A bath with shower rather than a walk in and on the old size side rather than the more spacious types you would get in a more modern 4*. Some damage to tiles and wall paper but again that is caught up in the tired feel of the place. Copthorne are the same hotel to hotel and really could do with a Modernisation.

Facilities at the hotel were good. It has extras like a steam room and jaccuzi with a lovely size swimming pool. The gym was fully equipped and laid out with a garden view, not shoved into the corner windowless room like many hotels. Towels are provided and the changing rooms spacious. Showers with soap on hand and an area to sit and use their hairdryers. Again the lockers could do with updating, something that isn’t expensive and would save your clothes from getting snagged on the broken shelves. WiFi is available throught the hotel (hardline in the room) but is charged (£1 per ten mins).

A restaurant (which we didn’t try so can’t comment on) and a 24 hour room service with breakfast also available in the room.

The grounds were cleaner than other reviews indicated but again did have some things like a broken fence floating in the lake.

The surrounding area is a retail park so you have a 24 hour Tesco nearby, a M&S, Pizzahut etc all within walking distance. Cardiff centre and Bay only 5 miles away (worth a visit to the bay for any Dr Who fans, the BBC have an experience centre there which is fabulous!).

All in good value for money, good locality for either stopping and exploring or for an overnight as part of a continuing journey. Would recommend to business or couples, not sure about families as didn’t see family rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

What, no plugs at the desk? Only one in the room.
What, minibar emptied?
No aircon, so rooms next to noisy road are insufferable in the warm weather because you can't open a window unless you want to be woken by HGVs pulling up hill.
No proper coffee at breakfast.
Some staff grim and routine-weary.
Smokers congregate in front of the only entrance, forcing non-smokers through smelly fug.
Whole place tired, worn out and badly showing its age.
Bed comfortable and clean, but that's the least you'd expect.
My company booked me in. I've asked them never to do it again. Checking out a welcome
relief.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corradino57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

On the whole a pleasant two night stay - booked a superior room but couldnt see what the difference was to a standard room. Ironing board collapsed as soon as I put it up - but another was brought up straight away (they didnt remove the broken one :o/)

Hotel in need of a revamp but very clean and rooms very spacious. One of the comfiest beds I have slept in.

Food was excellent - breakfast especially.

Outside of hotel - balcony from restaurant was disappointing - the hotel looked tatty - dirty windows - covered in bird poo - looked like they hadnt been cleaned for months. Signs saying the walkway around the lake was closed - however people using the spa seemed able to jog around it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

75 guests for family wedding based at this hotel recently. Large proportion were praiseworthy of this establishment over a Thursday/Friday stay. Situated within easy reach of M4 and city centre the rooms are well furnished although public area a little tired in places. Food, especially breakfast, was good with an excellent heated indoor pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi in which to relax. Staff were accommodating and eager to please but don't pay in £50 notes as they are not accepted!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INDIALIMA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Location: The location is poor for Cardiff city centre. It's about 15 mins drive into the city centre. I don't know about public transport. However, if you are planning to explore South Wales then it is great. It's easy to jump on M4 (the main motorway into Wales from London going all the way to the west coast) and there is free parking which seemed relatively safe.

Room: The room is very dated. We had a twin and note what others said about 2 beds being pushed together to form a double. The reverse effect of this is that the 'single' beds are smaller than standard single beds in order for your 'double' not to be 6ft wide! A lot of the furniture is chipped and very dated. There is poor attention to detail as shown by the crooked lamp in the picture. Also to give you an idea of how dated this hotel is, they still have CRT TVs which do not swivel. See picture. Also, it looked as if it was once had a mini bar/fridge in the room which is no longer in use, the cupboard is locked and a make shift bottle opener is attached to the wall just below the sink in the bathroom. There is also no air conditioning or climate control in the room. I stayed in August when temperatures were around 20 degrees during the day and about 12 at night and felt the need to keep the small windows open for air and cooling. I don't know what this would be like during the hotter summer days. Also, whilst Hotels.com say the rooms are lake views, all standard rooms are not lake view, despite what the website says.

Bathroom: The bathroom is basic and amenities are limited. To give an idea of the standard they are aiming for, you get plastic cups instead of glass tumblers to rinse with. Our shower curtain was completely porous and water went straight through soaking the floor. We weren't sure whether this was meant to be the case or whether they had forgotten a layer but we were there for 2 nights and after the first night it didn't seem worth calling housekeeping about it. The shower head is fixed to the wall and is not adjustable in any way so hope you are not tall otherwise you may need to crouch. There was good water pressure and plenty of water.

Internet: This too has been mentioned on other people's reviews that they charge for wifi. I didn't look at the charges as I have Internet access on my phone since I live in the UK, however, I did not that the computer in the lobby was charging £1 for 10mins! Most Internet cafes charge £1 for 1 hour, so I don't quite understand the extortionate charge.

Swimming pool/sauna: The swimming pool is abut 15m long and the pool/fitness centre seemed clean. Bear in mind that this is not exclusive to hotel guests and public with membership can use the facilities. However, it was not busy when we used it in the morning around 8am. The pool and facilitates are clean and decent. There are hairdryers in the changing rooms along with lockers, showers and body wash. One addition I would like to see is a spin dryer to dry your swim wear after as they don't have drying lines in the rooms. Also, the pool closes at 9pm which I felt was quite early if you want to have a soak in the jacuzzi after a long day hiking in Brecon Beacons.

Staff: The first lady who checked us in wasn't very friendly, no hello, good afternoon, how was your drive etc, simply have you got a booking and what's your surname. Also, when I mentioned that hotels.com states that the room I booked was lakeview, she simply replied that standard rooms are not and that the hotel was currently fully booked so a lakeview room was not available. However, the lady checking us out seemed a lot friendly and I had only wished that she checked us in to begin with. Also, they don't provide you with any maps of Cardiff, you have to ask.

To put things into perspective, we paid £60 a night so given the costs, I wasn't expecting The Ritz and felt for the price I paid it was ok. I didn't stay for long and didn't need to be in Cardiff much.

I probably wouldn't stay again unless it was considerably cheaper than other competitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing