We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would of been amazing 20 years ago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Portland,dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would of been amazing 20 years ago”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel is fine if you get it at a good rate. I cant vouch for any of the services there as didnt use them due to being ill but the rooms are clean and off good size the decor in the hotel would of probably been mega posh like 20 years ago but allthough still seems posh its not veru modern. Put is this way my nan would love it

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    401
    267
    91
    48
See reviews for
187
391
35
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just checked in on a hot sunny day to go to a 4 star hotel with no air con in room ... ?????
Not only that the room is like a 70s throw back I have honestly not stayed in anything as awful as this ever avoid it like the plague thank god we are going out for day and eve

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Checked into this hotel Sat 13 July and my immediate thought was dated and 70"s.....
I was right.... We were given a room on 1st floor which was in fact below reception and our room was facing car park !!!! Reception did say it was cool and it was a very hot sunny day and she was right about that !!!!!there was no aircon.
Room was a bit on dreary side and smelt very musty ..., in fact the walk right along the corridor back to lift to reception smelt that way..... Bathroom was ok but floor felt sticky.... Not nice....
Good job we were there to visit friends and hotel was a base only otherwise if we had booked it for romantic getaway we really would have been very disappointed.... Outside lake and decking area looked like it needed a good clean.... Breakfast was ok but we had to ask for bread and a few other things to be replenished....
Would we stay again? Probably not

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Whenever I am on the outskirts of Cardiff I stay at the Copthorne and have always good experiences but this week was not one of them. I ate in the restaurant and complemented the kitchen on the starter of crab with pickled ginger and wasabi and awaited my rare sirloin steak. When it arrived it was presented very nicely but was cooked medium at best. I brought this to the attention of the waiter who took it back to the kitchen. A few minutes later he brought it back saying that I probably hadn't seen it properly due to the light!! As a chef with over 40 years experience in top class hotels in the West End I know a rare steak from a medium one. The waiter took it back to the kitchen and after about 10 minutes the Duty Manager approached and said that he understood that there was a problem with my meal. I explained the situation and he informed me that the sous chef refused to cook me another steak! REFUSED! First, why did the Duty Manager allow a chef to speak to him in this manner and second, why would a Duty Manager tell a customer that the chef refused to cook another steak. What is this world coming to?
The standards of this hotel are certainly falling as demonstrated by this incident but also the menus which used to be presented in professionally produced folders but now is a single sheet of paper with a poor wine selection. The restaurant windows were also very dirty. The prices haven't fallen though!
The management team need to get their act together and sort the place out and while they are about it, sort out the sous chef!

Room Tip: Don't choose one. In this way they may start to improve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILKESTON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The bedroom although in a position overlooking the lake needed cleaning properly. We had a light meal in the bar area as it was a sunday and the restaurant was closed. I am really glad about this as it was a filthy place on examination. The bar area had a tray on it which was steeped in dirt. Not just one days dirt!!! The breakfast area, which was the normal restaurant place was really dirty. The tables were not cleaned properly from one person to the next. The food was very disappointing for a cooked breakfast. The toaster did not work properly. Self toasting machine. I asked for coffee and was brought this, but no milk. I looked around for milk and saw several little jugs on a tray with a large jug of milk. I walked over to serve myself. There was the waitress standing there where she had been since serving the coffee pot. I went to pour my milk and she said she would do it. A bit late I thought. The windows were filthy and the person said she was not allowed to clean them for health and safety reasons. Surely there should be an in house cleaner or window cleaner who came every few weeks to clean the inside. The whole general area of eating was grubby. Such a let down after having a very nice lunch out at a nearby restaurant. The parking area was fine, but that is not where you are staying and expecting a pristine place. This should never be a four star hotel, I would not give it one star.

Room Tip: If you stay in this place you can expect a very noisy time during the night and from the early hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALERIE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

been coming to the copthorne since it first opened (and b4 that tramping the fields it was built on as a child lol ), and was by far the best hotel in a 15 mile radius .
sadly now it is long over due a referb .all the doors and frames are heavily chipped , a lot of the room furniture is the worse for ware , and the bed is a health hazard lol .
having said that , i did like the fact the chain introduced a lot of colour and pattern in to the rooms , not minimalist by any stretched lol . the rooms flet like a cross between english and italian country house .
breakfast has always been average or better , but the person who cooks the eggs is always awal ,i asked for 2 over easy , he put them in turned them then disappeared for 4 or 5 mins , i thought about getting them out my self, when he got back they were mostly well done and he managed to brake both yolks ,no change over the years there .
ive often thought at this hotel the staff arent a happy family , and could do with a good manager and some lessons in customer relations .nothing you can quite put your finger on , sorta of lacking enthusiasm .
and last observation when you do refurbish add AC please .
WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN AS ITS CONVENIENT FOR ME , IF PRICE WAS RIGHT .
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND .

Room Tip: a room out of the sun , front i think , but rear rooms have pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankinsonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A bargain two-night stay - very good value as long as you don't use the room telephone, which is charged at some exorbitant unit rate.

I had an upgrade to an "executive" ("club") room , which was spacious and equipped with a large and comfortable bed.

Complimentary "drinks vouchers" were a nice touch; dinners in bar and restaurant were good.

Breakfast was "complimentary" too - which was just as well, since the Copthorne's interpretation of "continental" seems to be minimal/rudimentary. Coffee appalling, as it almost always is in British hotels.

A lot of inverted commas in this Review. Draw your own inferences.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade, especially with a LateRooms-type deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing