We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little sleep, good housekeeping though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Taunton, Somerset
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Little sleep, good housekeeping though”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arrived at the Copthorne following a few days of snow, with the snow in the car park having turned to ice, we were surprised that more grit had not been spread between the entrance and the car park, especially as the Sale Sharks rugby team were boarding their team coach via a very slippy walk.

The lady on reception was very welcoming and efficient, booking us into a room on the 4th floor, the room was comfortable with a good size bathroom, can't understand what people are talking about with the TV's being old fashioned, they have a picture and all the freeview channels, they did the job, not LCD but who cares?

The room was clean, I dropped something under the bed and had to crouch down to pick it up, not a speck of dust or fluff to be seen, nice load of tea and coffee available in the room.

We popped down for a few drinks and a meal, all the tables in the bar were reserved for a wedding party, so we decided to pop over to McDonald's over the road, but the car park was so icy we got half way across it and turned back, only to find the wedding party had disappeared to a function room, we both had a bar meal and a pint, the bar meals being better value than the menu that was in the room and the hotel Guinness very tasty indeed, the food arrived quickly, was well presented and very tasty, we were glad we couldn't get across the road to McDonald's.

It was a disappointing night for sleep as we could hear the wedding reception a few floors down and once the music stopped people returning to their rooms and doors banging, which was a real shame, we were surprised that the music was not able to be kept to just the reception, especially as the point of us staying at the hotel was to get a good nights sleep before driving home.

The next morning we didn't have the hotel breakfast as £13.95 each was the most expensive that we have ever seen at any hotel that we have ever stayed at, we drove over to McDonald's and had two breakfasts for a fraction of the cost, we would have walked but the car park was still a skating rink.

A nice hotel, good priced room, clean, warm, good food, drink and staff, but their soundproofing need improving.

Room Tip: Find out if there is a wedding and make sure your room is well away from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tondoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    396
    264
    90
    47
See reviews for
187
382
35
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I had to be in Wales in early Jan because of a family bereavement and funeral. We stayed at Copthorne Cardiff in January, originally for 5 nights, later extended the stay for a total of 6 nights. Have split this review into good, bad, tips and a summary:

Good

Price. Was in Wales, needed a hotel. Checked late rooms, Copthorne Cardiff nearby so drove there and were given a price of £68.38 a night B&B for the both of us.
Great pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.
Bar food okay
Great breakfast, lots of choice, no extra to pay if you wanted something different; best eggs royale I have had in a long time.
Comfortable and quiet room.
Good access to major roads.
Staff were excellent - particularly the bar staff and one lady managing the breakfast room.

Poor.

Rooms are tired and decor dated - the lamp for example. The TV was hilarious, not seen a CRT TV in a 4* room for years and the choice of channels was woeful. It was so pathetic I burst out laughing.
Although we enjoyed them, the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna all need a revamp. As do the changing rooms.
If you want to connect to wifi you have to pay £5 for 24hrs! this is a ridiculous policy and one of the reasons why I doubt I will stay here again.
Toiletries offered do not include body lotion etc.
Bar food ok if slightly overpriced.
On arrival on 3 Jan, was told restaurant was closed and would open 7 Jan. This info was not on the web site.
Restaurant did not open 7 Jan (supply truck broke down!?).
On 7th Jan advised them we wanted to stay an extra night - was offered a rate of £90 for the night. Checked late rooms - price was £84. Asked why the difference - answer head office set price, Challenged this and was told that duty manager was not allowed to vary price (so not a manager then?). Staff offered to get a new rate the following day - they did and we were offered £74 for the extra night. No explanation as to why reduced from night before or why original rates we were given not offered.

This bit is bad and then good:

On 8 Jan restaurant still not open. No explanation. Given that bar menu very limited for non-meat eaters like me I asked at reception what was going on. They offered to contact chef who would give me a choice of veggie dishes. This they did and the meal I had was excellent.

Across the way from the Hotel is a large M&S where they have a sit in coffee/wine bar deli on the side of the food section. We had an excellent and inexpensive meal for 2 (glass of wine included) it really was surprisingly pleasant.

Summary.

This really is an odd mix of a hotel. So where to start. It says 4* on the tin (and am sure it matches the requirements to the letter if not the spirit). It is not 4*. it is a good 3*.
The rooms and decor are tired.
The staff at the hotel were (almost without exception) excellent and did the hotel proud - they made this hotel a good place despite the heavy hand of corporate that was laid upon them. You had the feeling that if the staff were given a free reign the hotel would be a much better place.
Millennium hotels should hang their head in shame at their pricing policy for WiFi - a completely out of date policy and in this day and age an absurdity.
Because of the circumstances we were experiencing, we were after a hassle and stress free stay. We almost experienced that, the staff helped but Millennium hotels policies didn't.
The price we paid was fair, however, would not pay anymore than £90 for 2 people B&B for this hotel. If the price is higher than that, go stay somewhere else.

The evening food options were so limited that we only ate there 3 nights, and our first night we did not arrive until about 1900.

Would we stay again - probably not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notjindivik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Book for husbands birthday as the on line menu offered a wonderful menu but on arrival was told that the restaurant was closed and they would only be serving a bar menu, the restaurant manager could not understand how disappointed I was, the food came and straight away I could see it was of very poor quality again the manager did not understand that it was disgusting and later that night my husband was sick. Staff on reception very helpful but other than that I would definatly not return and I would urge you to think twice about eating their. Yuck.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Woo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here when on a spontaneous trip to Cardiff back in October 2012 and we really enjoyed our stay. The one aspect that was most enjoyable was the exceptional customer service. Although the hotel was rather expensive considering it's location, we would definitely consider staying in another Copthorne Hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed overnight for a Murder Mystery event. Hotel was suitbaly traditional for a spooky atmosphere, food was very nice and drinks were reasonably priced. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel - there was literally everything you could want with hot made-to-order meals such as omelettes and eggs benedict at no extra cost. A good breakfast really reflects immensely on the hotel and we were very impressed.
Rooms were comfortable and had all the usual facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlalyssia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As many others have said, the decor in the hotel is dated and could do with modernisation. The TV was ancient! However I had a quiet and comfortable night so I can't complain about that. Staff on reception were friendly and welcoming. Did not use any of the other amenities nor have breakfast so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Took grandchildren to visit just before Christmas . they thoroughly enjoyed the show and were allowed to sit on the floor at the front and participated with the actors. Lovely advanced Christmas feel to it all.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank blacknanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing