We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel...good food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent hotel...good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Even though the room furnishings are are beginning some age, this is reasonably comfortable and cozy hotel. I really like the wood decor and the overall cozy feel. The food in the restaurant and the pub are very good, as was the service. The fitness facility was also very nice. I didn't use the pool, but it looked nice as well. There is not much to do in the immediate area, but if you have transportation, Cardiff is a quick drive, and the hotel is convenient if you are going to Barry or points east (from roundabout, there is good access to the M4 and the A48). The only issues I had was that housekeeping was rather inconsistent (though room was always very clean), I think they forgot to take my laundry to my room (I had to ask for it), and they weren't able to print a bill for me when I left in the early morning to catch a flight (which I thought was rather strange). No real ales on tap, but a couple decent brands plus Guinness in the pub, which often was busy. I'd stay again but next time may think about city central in Cardiff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Russ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    394
    259
    90
    44
See reviews for
184
379
34
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ningbo china
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

i stayed at this hotel for the first time November 26th, rooms very small , very old looking and very dark, this to me is not a 4 start hotel , but more on the lines as a good B&B , we stayed one night and was not impressed in the hotel or their facilities, the only usefull part was that is cose to the M4 to have aquick get awayfrom this dissapointing hotel. this hotoel needs a drastic face lift to bring it in to the 20th certury

Room Tip: go for the dulux or higher, t might be better than out rabbit hutch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Stratford-upon-Avon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is so 'tired' it is almost asleep! It is an utterly dreadful hotel and I would urge any traveller to find somewhere else to stay. For a start, the hotel is dirty in just about every respect and here I can do no better than refer you to comments made by previous reviewers.

Yes, my bathroom was filthy; yes, I had hairs on my pillows too; and, yes, the common parts of the building are dated, worn and scruffy. The whole place does indeed smell. The staff are poorly trained, the food is appalling and, yes again, the hotel represents incredibly poor value for money.

There was a time, a couple of decades ago, when I was 'on the road', when I used to stay in Copthorne hotels all over the world. What on earth has happened to this brand? It's now just a complete disgrace.

Not only will I never stay in this awful hotel again, but I will never, ever, stay in a Copthorne hotel again, anywhere.

The manager at this hotel should be put on a formal warning - sort it out, or get out!

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Full stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Steve49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This Hotel was really good, the room was very comfortable and extremely good value for money!
Breakfast in the morning was excellent with plenty of choice. The staff throughout the Hotel were helpful and friendly. I will probably return for a weekend away with my partner I really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaleshappyShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Came to Cardiff for the rugby match which was a birthday treat for my husband. Stayed the night before for the same price in a beautiful hotel in Hereford. Came to the Copthorne expecting a reasonable standard and was appalled. The room smelt awful, of feet and dirty vacuum cleaner, and was cold. The bed linen did not smell clean and was marked and there were hairs on the pillow and duvet. The bathroom smelt of drains, the plughole was full of hair and the bath was filthy. The staff were scruffy and uncaring, all except the two receptionists who were the only redeeming feature of the hotel. The decor is dull, tatty and dated. We had a panini in the evening which took ages to come and was average with stale crisps. The orange juice at breakfast was either very diluted or chemically manufactured as noted by another reviewer.
The most awful part was the extortionate and frankly immoral cost of the room.
We paid £187.98 for what was a complete rip-off, made worse by our excellent experience the night before in Hereford for the same money. I would have walked out but for the fact that my husband's treat was to see the rugby and the weather was too awful to drive home to Warwickshire.
Shame on you, Copthorne!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

A large bustling hotel with friendly staff and welcome. Room comfortable and large but very dated decor! I think we got a free upgrade as I had called to tell them we were on our ''mini-moon'; when I called they said 'oh we don't really do that here....' So maybe we just got lucky with our Connoisseurs room. We had breakfast at the Marks and Spencer cafe over the road as the hotel breakfast was nearly £14.... We stayed for one night for a wedding nearby and it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch00ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle england
Level Contributor
222 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

First the good things: plenty of parking, staff were welcoming and helpful.The rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable.
The bad things: breakfast was woeful, composed of vastly inferior quality components; We use the word advisedly as the chemical nature of what was proffered as fruit juice seemed to be a chemical assembly rather than a gift of nature. The bacon was not much better and the beans worse. Cheap nasty bread and inferior preserves ensured a bad start to a dyspeptic day.
The decor was jaded, tired, heavy and oppressive.
The wi-fi, which cost extra, was more miss than hit; the tokens issued expired before you started, or at least that is what it said when you logged in

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing