We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,265)
Filter reviews
1,265 results
Traveler rating
297
469
319
118
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
469
319
118
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsretail parkcity centreleisure facilitiesbit datedclub roomironing boardone night staybuffet stylefree parkingnight's sleepcomfy bedafternoon teayogurttescogymmotorwayroundabout
Filter
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,265 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Have just stayed here for 2 nights and it was in an ideal location for me to get to and from our Cardiff office - just off a main road!
Yes it is dated but the staff are great, food in the bar ok, food in the restaurant excellent and breakfast ok (if you go early otherwise the food is sat there for some time) I stayed in a connoisseur room - not sure what difference this is from a standard but it was good with a large bed and working desk. I was on the 4th floor and think I must have been near the kitchen extractor as there was a constant hum which was oddly magnified when my head hit the pillow! As white noise helps me sleep it wasn't a problem for me but I should imagine it would be for others! I have stayed in nicer hotels in Cardiff but this was ideal for location, price and parking.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel served the purpose as we wanted somewhere between Barry and Cardiff. It is just off a very busy roundabout that is not the easiest to navigate. Check in was efficient as was check out and the Reception staff were friendly and obliging. We booked two rooms and they were both fine. As others have stated, they are dated but things worked, the bed was comfortable, it overlooked the small lake and as the rooms were at the end of the corridor, quiet and away from the Saturday night wedding party. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were fine but there was no safe. If you sign up to the Copthorne Loyalty Card you get 24 hours free wifi which worked fine.
Taxis took about 10 minutes to arrive and we went to a great little local pub called the 'Horse and Jockey' at Twyn yr Odyn, a 5 minute and £6 taxi ride away. Great steaks for less than £12 or homemade steak pie for £9. Well recommended with a range of beers and good pub atmosphere.
Breakfast at the Copthorne was fine and they seemed to have solved the problems highlighted by a previous reviewer of leaking coffee urns. Small thermos flasks are brought to the table and there is a good selection of help yourself cold food and the usual bacon, sausages, eggs, hash browns etc but unfortunately, several of these dishes had run out and weren't replenished by the rather grumpy egg chef! If the breakfast is included it is worth having but I wouldn't pay the price they charge otherwise.
Our biggest complaint was the fact that we ordered a bottle of house white wine from the bar and were charged a whopping £25 for the privilege. It was a pretty mediocre wine and if their cheapest is £25 they are trying it on!
All in all, the hotel did what it said on the tin for the location we wanted and the free car parking in the Cardiff area is a bonus. If the price was right I would use the Copthorne again if I had a car but would think twice before ordering the mediocre house white at ridiculous prices for the calibre of the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake and on the 4th floor were quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This really is one of those hotels that has seen better days, everything feels tired, including the staff. Large coach tours clogging the public areas and restaurant. Leaky coffee urns dripping all over table at breakfast, plenty of napkins, as a temporary fix. The whole hotel needs some TLC

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Copthorne Hotel Cardiff, we booked a long weekend for 22 adults, the group booking was very efficiently handled. On arrival the reception staff both friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are very comfortable, only one small critisism, with dark wood furniture and dark patterned wallpaper the room seemed a little, well, dark. The room had high speed internet access via ethernet cable. The room in common with the hotel in general was cleaned to a high standard.

With the group booking basis we had a buffet style dinner each evening, as did the large party of Japanese tourists, it has to be said the selection of starters were a bit odd, salads and such like but the cooked options were well presented and tasty, from what I saw the general restaurant meals were excellent.

There is a swimming pool and gym area on the lower ground floor, I didn't use these facilities so can't really comment although it did seem well used.

Conclusion, a decent standard hotel situated within reasonable distance from the city centre, reasonably priced and one that I would certainly not hesitate to use again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel receptionist was not very informative, I had to ask all the questions like what time and where is breakfast, also for the spar complex. Rooms were clean and just seemed very dark almost could do with brightening up as looked a bit old. Breakfast was ok, but they did not seem to have the staff to for-fill the consumers requirements, had to wait 15 min for milk, but once every thing you asked for it was good, just be prepared if they have had a function the previous evening, they can't seem to manage them and the other hotel guests. The spa complex was excellent and could not fault it one bit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews