We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,643)
Filter reviews
1,643 results
Traveler rating
559
642
278
111
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
642
278
111
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park mill lane the executive lounge city centre one way system train station john lewis bars and restaurants bit dated two double beds high floor location is excellent leisure facilities public areas reception staff few minutes walk would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 1,643 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

Excellent facilities and very friendly staff.
Parking on site up to 4 hours so no need to find city centre parking. Starbucks also on site for preworkout kick.
Pool set to a very nice temperature so am able to take my youngest child swimming all year round.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

The hotel is perfectly located and facilities are fine. However, we were disappointed that despite the rooms being rather pricey, wifi was not included and we were treated rudely by staff, making us feel unwelcome. For example, when we asked for some glasses to be brought up to the room, as we did not have any, staff tried to charge us for this which was very inhospitable.
Furthermore, the room next to us was very loud and people were smoking inside, we called the reception to notify them and our neighbours were told to keep it down. Yet, the smoking continued during the night and as there was a door in between our rooms there was a horrible smell of smoke in our room, which kept us up for most of the night. When we notified reception at 8 in the morning, one of the rude receptionists told us ' well thanks for the heads up guys', as if we'd done something wrong by only telling them at that point. We did not get any apology for our lack of sleep or her behaviour. Paying 140 pounds a night, we were expecting more hospitality. This hotel needs some serious staff improvements as this behaviour is clearly not up to standards.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganRidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations C, Guest Relations Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Dear MeganRidd,

We are delighted to hear you liked the location of the hotel as we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for how we made you feel and for the disturbance you experienced during your stay. We have shared your feedback with the front desk management team to address our associates on ensure that all our guests feel welcome and that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.

Wifi charges do occur however it is complimentary for all our Marriott Rewards member which is a free program to enrol into and has a abundances of perks when staying with Marriott. In regards to the charges with the glasses any items delivered to your room do occur a tray charge, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience however those are our polices. We appreciate all your feedback as we are always actively working on ways to improve our guests' experiences.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Cardiff. Please email myself next time you have a reservation with us as we would like to make your next stay an exceptional experience and memorable for all the right reasons.

Kind regards,

Samantha Purbrick, Guest Experience Executive
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
samantha.purbrick@marriotthotels.com
02920399944

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017

I stayed here for a few nights with my wife. It's a fantastic location, you're within easy reach of all the bars and restaurants you could ever need. Very lively area but the room was quiet and there was no noise from the street. The rooms were a little small and tired but our house keeper, Gloria, was excellent.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwhits125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

Staff not too welcoming may be tired of big tour groups from time to time.

Rooms were good though dated. Beds were not cleaned as expected. However, the pool and gym were great. Be careful, the pool was closed at 2300 but last entry was 2200. That means you need to go before 2200hrs and the depth was 1.2m max.

Breakfast was very good with lots of choices but pls arrive earlier as always a long queue for the groups. Dinner at western restaurant should be avoided as there was only one old man serving the whole section. Everything needed to be waited.

Location was very good where Tesco express was two minutes away.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank MKC_PRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

I met my friend here for cocktails one night and then Sunday roast the next day. Cocktails were imaginative and delicious and priced well. The service was good. The Sunday roast was tasty and again well priced.

Notes from a wheelchair:
Ample room in bar and restaurant to get to tables. Wait staff friendly and attentive.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank TobyOnWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews