We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hen doo package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hen doo package”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

As we write as a couple usually I am writing as the one who did go on the hen doo and not the namesake. Two nights at the Marriott and the use of one room on the Friday night for the thirteen hens was good value I thought. Rooms good, breakfast good , but more importantly staff were very friendly and done everything they could to make it a comfortable stay. Reception staff (Mr Bence) was charming and fixed anything. Bar staff also willing to join in what we asked. They looked after us well. One small tip however when unfortunately two of the three lifts were out of order at the same time it would have been helpful to have better signage for the stairs as we took a bit of time trying to find the dining room but were again helped by staff in the leisure club. For anyone needing to use the lift it was a long wait for one. Great location though for anyone wanting to see the city for the first time it faces on to a street that has the Welsh weekend buzz and most places are in reasonable walking distance

Room Tip: Great buzz of nightlife if you go to a room at the front if you don't want that experience get r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    543
    218
    78
    36
See reviews for
207
486
59
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I'm sure if I could be bothered I could find the part in the publicity where the Mariott claims it wants to make its customers feel at home and how much it values us.
The first thing that greets you in the room is a sign saying £6 for an hour of wifi (or £15 for a day!!!!). Hilarious! It has hard to say how quickly you can go off a place and decide never to book again. They clearly don't value us or even understand the needs of a traveller in this age.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LondonerStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations C, Guest Relations Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear LondonerStu. Thank you for your review. In the hotel we do offer complimentary internet in our bar and lobby area. I am so sorry if your expectations were not met during your recent stay. I have noted your comments and will pass them on to the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Large comfortable room. The hotel is in a good central location

The 'hidden' extras soon add up... Breakfast £19.90, parking £15, broadband in the room £17 per day. I find it annoying that some large chains like Marriott continue to charge like this when many hotels include these things into the basic room rate.

Reported a problem with the heating not working. Not a big problem as the weather was warm. However, it wasn't fixed and no feedback from hotel staff about was being done.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AMM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your review about the recent stay at our property. We apologize for any inconveniences may have caused you due to prices of additional services and the heating. Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for choosing Cardiff Marriott as your preferred hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay here Friday and Saturday night. Excellent location for shopping and restaurants. On site parking is convenient but very expensive, £15 a night for guests. When we arrived we were asked if we had a preference in room location. I said, quiet as possible please, noting we were opposite bars and clubs. So the receptionist said I will put you at the back of the hotel on the top floor, we thought this sounded perfect! When we got to our room 1011 we were disappointed to find it at the very front of the hotel. I'm not sure why, but we didn't complain, we just thought we'd stick with it. The air conditioning was also broken in the room, we had to ask several times for this to be mended. There was no mini fridge, which we normally have in the Marriott hotels we have stayed in before. The awful noise from the bars and clubs woke us up at 3am Saturday night/Sunday morning, then we wished we had asked to be moved to the back of the hotel. Breakfast, bed, cleanliness were all of usual great standard. An okay stay, just a few niggles.

Room Tip: If you want less noise, ask for the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Cardiff Marriott hotel. I am delighted to read that you found our location is convenient for your needs. We apologize for any inconveniences may have caused you due to air condition and the outside noise. Your feedback regarding the room allocation has been passed to the reception team. Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

It's ok! Not a bad price for the one night, but that's only the start!

What really annoyed me was the price of the drinks!!

Perhaps I'm not up to date with prices, but surely 2 pints of coke (from the pump,) a large vodka & coke and one large glass of red wine for £22.25, I won't be staying at the Marriott again!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations C, Guest Relations Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were dissapointed during your recent stay at the Cardiff Marriott Hotel. Please be assured your comments are valuable and I have shared them with my management team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here with a group of ladies for a hen party. Very spacious rooms, with two double beds. Comfy night sleep which is what you want after a night celebrating. Couldn't hear any noise from outside, which I was very grateful for! Didn't have breakfast included in the price so can't comment on food, but did park in the car park, which was a god send. A lot cheaper than parking in a NCP, and it was secure onsite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tanya9se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband and myself stayed two nights at The Marriot Cardiff using our Tesco vouchers. We had a lovely room and the breakfast was first class. We went to see Wicked at the Millenium Centre on the Saturday and this hotel was perfect for transport to the bay as the taxi rank and bus stop is right outside the hotel. The hotel is situated right next to all the restaurants and in the city centre. We took our car but the downside of this is that it costs £15.00 a night to park in hotel car park which I think is too expensive for residents of the hotel. Especially if you are staying there for a few nights

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Property: Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing