We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent facilities”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is just a few minutes’ walk from the train station and is on the doorstep of all the city centre attractions.

My room was clean, tidy and well maintained, although it was a little small. Wi-Fi is also chargeable, but apart from that it was a good stay and the breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    543
    218
    78
    36
See reviews for
207
486
59
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night while visiting Cardiff for the Tonga rugby match. Have stayed in the Swansea Marriott on many occasions but this was our first visit to the Cardiff one and we were not disappointed. The room certainly had a view - all the way to the bay. The hotel is situated right in the centre of the city just a few minutes walk from the Millennium Stadium, railway station and the many fantastic shops. For us the highlight of any Marriott stay is the breakfast! The selection of hot dishes, cold meats and cheeses, breads and cereals is positively scrumptious. Plenty of coffee and juices on hand. I would defy anyone being able to manage lunch after a breakfast like this! The staff in Cardiff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming - we will definitely be back. The only downside was that we forgot to pack our swimming stuff so couldn't have a swim!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaywatcherSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
It is an absolute delight to read your comments and that you keep visiting Marriott hotels over and over again. On behalf of the Cardiff Marriott team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel in Cardiff. Our Breakfast indeed has a large variety of choices.I am glad that we have met your expectations.Thank you for this wonderful post. Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stopped here before the Wales v Tonga match for one night and as a Marriott Gold Card member I was fortunate enough to get an upgrade to an exec room.
The room itself was clean and well furnished but not the biggest I have seen in a Marriott and certainly on the expensive side.
The exec lounge is well stocked and the service is good with a range of drinks and snacks.
The bar is well run and reasonably priced for a four star hotel although due to the rugby it was very busy.
Breakfast is up to the usual Marriott high standard with a wide range of hot and cold foods but the service for hot drinks and table clearing could have been a little more attentive.
The staff are all friendly and helpful which is probably the strength of the hotel especially the concierge whose name I didn't get but he really is a gem.
Overall a well run hotel which is conveniently located in the City centre ideal for shopping, sightseeing and the stadium.

Room Tip: If you fancy a treat book an executive room as the lounge access is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 429SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We recognize & valued your Gold Elite Marriott rewards membership as an extensive traveler with Marriott Hotels and brands. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay & thank you for taking time write about our hotel. Cardiff Marriott team consistently looking for ways to assist our guests in every possible way to ensure their stay is pleasurable. I have personally passed your feedback to the concierge. Once again thank you for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here last night for x mas shopping the staff were really nice perfect location a min walk to the shops we had breakfast included but with a 2 year old we wanted it in the room to make things easier which was well worth the £6 extra full English breakfasts fruit and cereal and it was spot on our time of 7.45-8 am will definately be staying again may even come next month to finish of x mas shopping
only bad point was the internet by reception was £5 for half hour because I needed some printing I had to use it but if that's the only bad point it wouldn't stop me from staying again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellard12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Good room, restaurant & staff and fantastic central location. We did have a room at the front, which didn't suffer from any noise from the bars (although it was a Saturday night). The photos of the hotel and rooms are representative. While the car park is a multi-storey to the side of the hotel it seems secure. Our car parking ticket was validated for free.

Great location to all the bars and restaurants in Cardiff!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends & colleagues. I'd like to go back to see what the gym & pool look like - perhaps someone could comment if they have seen it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We used this hitel for a boys weekend at the rugby. Rooms were very clean and the staff were very friendly. Those who used the pool said it was very good too. The rugby stadium is certainly worth a look and boy the Welsh fans can sing. As for pubs and clubs can recommend "the place on the Corner" for drink and food and Bills for breakfast. Both are opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: It is a city hotel so the higher up the building the quitter the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a fantastic location just 2 minutes walk from Cardiff Central Station which is again minutes from the shops, bars and restaurants.

On arrival at the hotel there was a large queue for check in, (surely a sign of the popularity of the hotel!) however the concierge was constantly checking the guests and ensuring the wait was not stressful. The check in clerk was extremely friendly and he ensured to be efficient at checking me in but still provided all the information I needed about the hotel and breakfast etc.

The rooms are lovely, a very large clean double room with 2 double beds?! There was all extras you could require including hair dryer and iron, and great smelling toiletries! Also notedly there was a socket right next to the mirror which was perfect for plugging in my straighteners (some other hotels I have stayed have not had sockets anywhere near the mirror!).

The bathroom was spacious and shower was very powerful and had a movable head which was ideal as I didn't have time to wash my hair before going out, so it meant I could lower the shower head to avoid getting my hair wet!

The purpose of my stay was for business and I attended an industry dinner that evening at the hotel. It was a brilliant event and the staff serving the tables, bar staff were very attentive and professional, with a great atmosphere throughout the event.

Although the hotel is situated very close to a street full of bars the noise levels were not unacceptable, and the bed was so comfy I fell straight to sleep.

In the morning the breakfast restaurant was very busy however there was a multitude of staff clearing tables, bringing coffee and the hot and cold buffets were fully stocked. (There was even a dedicated chef cooking people omelettes with their choice of fillings!) The cold buffet was extensive with cereals, dried fruit, fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese! There was fresh fruit juice as well, and the traditional English breakfast was absolutely delicious with good quality sausages and bacon.

Overall an absolutely delightful stay this weekend, thank you and I would definitely book up at the Marriot for my next visit to Cardiff!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CarBart19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Our hotel prides itself with the diverse clientele we attracts, from the business individual such as yourself on this most recent visit to families, a visitor to Cardiff or an attendee of one of our Great Room or Ballroom events. Our main focus remains delivering an exceptional service in order to create that home away home experience to our valued guests. From behalf of the entire Cardiff Marriott team I would like to thank you for taking time to provide us this wonderful detailed hotel review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It was an absolute honour to have you with us and we are look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,970 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Property: Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing