We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great City Centre Stopover 11th July 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Devon UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great City Centre Stopover 11th July 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived early and were able to check straight into our room - a huge plus as we were attending a graduation ceremony that afternoon. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and acknowledged us each time we passed the desk.

Room was ample in size, well furnished if a little dated, and would have perhaps liked mineral water to be available.

We had a drink on the terrace outside chats bar which was really nice. We were attended by a waiter as soon as we took our seats and despite it being busy, were served without delay. Tables were well tended and the atmosphere relaxed - a well run bar!

Dinner in the Brasserie was excellent. We were joined by our daughters to celebrate the graduation and were seated in a large secluded alcove area with comfortable high backed seating. The menu was varied with a great selection of wines to chose from. We were served by a young lady who is currently a student and about to graduate in a week or two. She was very attentive yet unobtrusive with impeccable manners and presentation. The evening was flawless and this young lady, who's name I failed to note, is to be commended on her excellent service.

Breakfast was again well run despite it being very busy. A great selection of fruits, cereals, cold meats, pastries, youghurts as well as a great range of hot food from the buffet. Tea and coffee arrived without delay and we enjoyed a nice relaxed breakfast to start the day.

We had pre-paid for two nights having booked through a booking agent. Unfortunately our plans changed with short notice and we had to leave after the first night. We were there long enough however to be impressed at the level of service afforded to us by every member of staff that we encountered. It was also nice not to need an interpreter when calling reception, ordering food, and speaking to the housekeeping staff.

My only negative comment would be that £15 a day car parking should be £15 a stay! or even better… FREE !

Well done Marriott..just wish we could have stayed for the second night!

Room Tip: High floors have great city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatholsDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
On behalf of the Cardiff Marriott team I would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience. I was delighted to read your detailed feedback and that you enjoyed overall stay. Thank you for your wonderful comments about the hotel and the staff service. I have personally shared your feedback with the entire team and we are most appreciative of your comments. I am so happy to read that our team was able to provide you with efficient, friendly and knowledgeable service. Your comments motivate and encourage us to look after our valued guests even more. We are excited for your next visit to Cardiff Marriott and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    533
    212
    74
    33
See reviews for
203
467
58
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed just one night. Room had two double beds which were very very comfortable. Nice bathroom spotlessly clean. Cannot comment on the food as did not eat here due to time and meeting friends. Had room on the 7th floor and did not hear any. Notice had a good nights sleep.

Used the Leisure club. Had pool,spa,sauna and steam room was very nice indeed
Wi Fi chargeable except in the bar !
Location excellent,two minutes from station and lots of restaurants and bars around.
Not the cheapest room rate in Cardiff but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Check in experience was welcoming and quick. Triple bedrooms are fair in size with 2 double beds. Rooms were clean & amenities where all up to date. Location is excellent for someone looking to stay in the city. The hotel is central to most attractions. Staff were happy to give us a late check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times before and really enjoyed the hotel.

This time however, on checking in, the receptionist asked me to prepay for the room and noted that all room service should be paid in cash. I thought this was odd but the receptionist insisted it be paid with cash.

I ordered a Cesar salad, which came with anchovies, when I complained; the room service attendant came and took this away. I saw him discard the anchovies in a bin down the corridor and came back to my room with the same salad! Worst part was on check out, having paid with cash for the room service, the hotel have denied that I paid cash and are looking to take the amount off my credit card. Very upsetting, situation not resolved and obviously I will not be recommending this hotel, back to the park plaza for me, please be aware when ordering room service .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joeyboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Well maintained and excellent staff. The air con system is not too effective which was not good over the last warmer few days. It actually took 3 requests to the front desk to get a fan sent to the room. Ignoring that glitch I would stay there again. The breakfast was lovely and the bar relaxing. The rooms are feeling dated and could do with a spruce.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend back in early June 2013. Great hotel and had everything we needed - great gym and pool (though too hot, like a bath).

The staff were helpful, rooms clean, breakfast okay so nothing to complain about. Would recommend this hotel and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainek1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Having stayed at the Park Plaza a number of times, I will always be comparing other Cardiff hotels to that one. I stayed here on a few occasions during May/June for business purposes and didn't really ever stay for longer than a quick drink in the bar and a sleep!

Hotel is very close to a lot of the bars and clubs but the residual noise is not too bad. If you can get a room on the non-nightlife side, even better. Rooms look a bit dated but have everything you need - a decent comfy bed, spacious shower with nice products and tea/coffee facilities. Laundry service was fine apart from a slight slip up which meant I had to wait 2 days for it to come back.

Breakfast was ok, not really at the standard of most hotels. On the plus side, during the week, they had a grab and go section with pastries and coffee which was a real bonus. Bar was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are on the quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynameisalwaystaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Property: Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing