We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A solid establishment”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A smart property in the heart of the city of Cardiff.
As soon as you pass through the automatic doors you are greeted by a sense of efficiency, security and modernity.

Choice of high end bar and restaurant. Executive lounge adequate.

I was allocated an executive suite, not a big space but perfectly adequate.
Breakfast not scoring any international awards, but presents a fair standard for a UK hotel. I did not sample the leisure facilities. Car parking for a fee.

This property comfortably scores well and merits inclusion as one of the premier hotels of this magical city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatingPlenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    543
    218
    78
    36
See reviews for
207
486
59
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a hotel in the middle of the town near a theatre we were going to so we booked into the Marriott. The lobby, bar and restaurant is really nice and posh and all of the staff are really friendly and very professional! We went to the room and they weren't the best but as we were only there for one night it was ok. The rooms could do with a revamp as one of the rooms had a poor mattress that wasn't comfy at all! The breakfast In the morning was a really nice and tasty breakfast! The rooms let the hotel down but the staff and lobby area made up for it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king4495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for one night after travelling the M4 corridor Bristol, London x2 and lastly Cardiff. For shopping in Cardiff it would be ideal. The rooms were small and a little tired however clean and comfortable. We were upgraded to an executive room as we were celebrating Nikkis 30th Birthday. Parking onsite expensive at £14. Breakfast was expensive at approx £18 pp so we opted to go to the Kitchen Bar & Grill 300m's around the corner on st marys street £16 all in. There are a lot of restaurants outside to eat in the evening the location is great, however the radisson maldron and park inn are all in a similar location. Not our cup of tea for decor but it was ok.


029 2039 9944
http://www.marriott.co.uk/hotels/travel/cwldt-cardiff-marriott-hotel/

Room Tip: Ice machines on floors 2,4,6,8 & 10 However floor 8 wasn't working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef_and_Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in preparation for friends wedding. Arrived about 4.30pm, checked into our lovely room, then headed to the bar, really nice and contemporary. John Lewis and all the shops 2 mins away, even better because they stayed open until 8pm! Breakfast was amazing, a whole room filled everything you could wish for, healthy options or the full English if required, also a chef on hand to cook omelettes. All in all a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliewilson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWPORT, UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

despite not going to the full New years eve dinner, our three days two nights over the new year were as good as ever, full hours for the pool, steam room, sauan and various gym equipment, a nice room up high enough to be above the noise of Cardiff getting drunk (not always melodious). Parking a bit pricey but the proximity to the shops made the stay worthwhile 9says my wife's credit card). We enjoyed feeding the seagullls on the 8th floor, clearly very acrobatic... Nice staff, friiendly as wever, helpful, and an alcoholic breakfats on the 1st made it all the more fun, even if the music was more for a wake than a breakfast - still it all made us get up and wann aget out into the rain.

Room Tip: parking extra but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWNewport_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the city centre to combine xmas shopping with a theatre trip to the Wales Millenium centre.Because of the afternoon performance,we went to the hotel sevseral hours before check-in with the intention of just leaving our bags in the lock-up but were delighted to be told our room was ready.This was really comfy,a huge double bed each for both myself and my daughter.The hotel is adjacent to the new shopping centre and we were able to walk all the way through without getting wet-a bonus on one of the wettest days.After a quick scoot around,we went back to the hotel to get ready for the show and was told by the helpful staff on reception that there was a bus available to the bay around the corner,but we decided to get a taxi as it was so wet.After watching a fantastic show(Phantom)we managed to catch the bus straight outside to our hotel.We made the most of late night xmas shopping before a really comfortable night and the renowned marriot breakfast the following day.We were able to leave our bags for a few hours before setting off home.Will definitely stay here again.Forgot to mention only 5 mins walk from bus and rail station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night after shopping in Cardiff and it was ideal for this. The rooms were small and a little tired however clean and comfortable. Parking was expensive at 14 pounds. Breakfast was ok however the toast machine was on high and staff were unsure how to fix, so there was a lot of burnt toast. No tomatoes on the hot buffet. There are a lot of restaurants outside to eat in the evening

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madmoo1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Property: Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing