We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Marriott in very central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed one night recently whilst visiting Cardiff for the cheese festival. Location is perfect for the city centre with a good secure car park as well. Rooms are standard Marriott with a very comfortable bed. Ask for a room on a high floor and you will get a nice view. Did not eat at the the hotel as there are many cafes and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. Would return to this hotel again if back in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnySurreyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stopped over after landing at Cardiff Airport in the early hours. It's a bit of a nightmare to get to with the one way system but fantastically located right in the centre of Cardiff next to the main shopping area. The staff couldnt have been more helpful and gave us bottled water and ice without charge as we arrived. Rooms are standard Marriott layout, we had twin double beds, all clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibspl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night a couple of weeks ago when taking our daughter back to uni and meeting friends. The staff were really helpful and even upgraded us. The room on the eighth floor was lovely.The position of the hotel is brill as it is right in the centre of Cardiff. We ate at The Corner House which we all enjoyed. We will try and book the Marriot again as we visit Cardiff a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanabiWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Cardiff Marriott was the only Hotel to offer us a discounted room on our Gold Post Box Journey and when we arrived, the staff all seemed interested in our exploits and could not have been more helpfull. The Hotel was very modern and our room was spacious with a nice comfortable Bed (very important). However, the night was spoilt from the noise outside which went on to the early hours of the morning.

Food was reasonable but a little on the expensive side but Breaksfast had a wide choice and was very tasty.

Other from the noise and having to pay for the car park, the Hotel meets all the expectations from a four star Marriott but just doesn't stand apart.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

First time I have stayed in this hotel. It was a group booking by a friend. There was a little hiccup when booking in. Initially our room wasn't,t ready at 14.30. Apparently we should have arrived after 15.00 hrs. The receptionist asked us to wait in the bar for 15 mins and she would fetch us. Within 5P mins two of our friends arrived and went to a different receptionist and were immediately given a room. When we queried it they said that the room had just come up on the computer. We were then given our room. Rooms not huge but big enough for two. Nice bed with mattress topper and two nice feather pillows. Nicely furnished. Shower over the bath with fairly feeble water pressure.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely with a wide range of choices. Very impressed with freshly cooked omelette . Very nice staff. Ideal location if you want to be close to nightlife and shops

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesMidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location of the Marriott in Cardiff is fantastic and it benefits with a convenient car park too (at a £14 overnight charge). I've stayed here a few times and always found it quite nice, I don't particularly like the decor of the rooms, but they certainly are comfortable. On this occasion they put myself and my boyfriend in a room with disabled facilities which was fine apart from the fact he couldn't have a shower in the morning because the shower wasn't tall enough for his 6'2" self, it was only high enough for me at 5'7", as well as this the bath towel had a massive black mark across it, which wasn't nice. Plus there wasn't enough room to put our toiletries and my make up, so they had to go on the floor, not very nice. The room was pretty small, so if you did require wider or wheelchair access I don't think it would be suitable, the bathroom might be okay but the room and corridor part would be very cramped. Another thing is that it is right by the lifts so it can be a little noisy with people coming in and out of the lifts.

On returning from a night out the hotel has doormen so the general public don't come in and cause havoc but because my boyfriend didn't have the room key, as I'd gone ahead, he had to almost argue with them to let him in which wasn't pleasant for him. Our room was on the first floor so we could hear that Mill Lane was still in full swing as I was dozing off too, not a problem for a heavy sleepers like us but if are a light sleeper ask for a room on the higher floors.

The breakfast is very wide ranging, I would be amazed if you found something that you couldn't eat or didn't like. In conclusion, I would stay here again but when checking in I would not accept that particular room again as it wasn't suitable for our requirements.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racqattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stopped here for business purposes for 2 nights last week, the welcome was good,room was excellent and you really cannot fault the leisure faciltiies, the gym and swimming pool and sauna. The location is great, a 2 minutes walk to the centre of Cradiff in the eveniing, plenety of restaurants nearby, car park very secure.

Room Tip: Roooms on higher floors or the side / back of the hotel would be quieter at night as the front is op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anwo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $87 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing