We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is fine, one-way system a nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
ynys mon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel is fine, one-way system a nightmare”
Reviewed February 27, 2009

This hotel is fine and its location for shopping, dining and entertainment is good. My only negative comment would be that it is a nightmare to get to unless you have sat nav or are very familiar with Cardiff's one-way system.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ygath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    505
    372
    185
    109
See reviews for
174
563
59
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

The location of this hotel is excellent. Right by loads of bars, restaurants etc and opposite the Cardiff arena. The castle and main shopping area are within walking distance and there is plenty of public transport available close to the hotel to get around.
However, when we went the hotel was half way through a refurbishment which we were not advised of at the time of booking, so the place did resemble something of a building site! Also, while the room was very nicely furnished, it over looked the main reception area so there was no window to open and it is no exaggeration to say we were cooked alive. It was so hot you could hardly breathe in the room which made sleeping uncomfortable. The price of drinks in the bar are highly overpriced along with overnight car parking charges.
We were also woken at 3am by drunken men shouting up the corridor to each other. All in all I would not recommend this hotel or stay there again. It has actually put me off booking with this hotel chain in the future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Temperature of the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank non-stop-orb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Stayed here on business for a week in November 2008.

Had stayed in Park Inn's before so was expecting something akin to a TravelLodge. In this I wasn't disappointed: clean, functional rooms with efficient service and very few extras.

I checked in on a Sunday night when the hotel was crammed with families. My room overlook the reception area and unfortunately I could hear the children running amok in the bar area and also noise from the televisions in the area. I asked to be moved and was able to do this immediately: my second room clearly hadn't been refurbished for a while but was blissfully quiet!

The room itself was a decent size although the furnishings were a little worn and the bathroom needed a general overhaul! (grouting in the bathroom was not very clean etc). Shower worked fine, particularly good given that I was on the third floor.

I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but did suffer the misfortune of the room service menu. The food arrived startlingly promptly: approx 10 minutes which suggested not a great deal of cooking had gone on. This opinion was borne out by the undercooked chips and charred on the outside, raw on the inside burger.

Luckilly the hotel's location is such that a short walk into town offers up many more amenable dining experiences! The hotel staff were able to advise on these.

Breakfast was ok but the fruit and cold meats did look a little worse for wear. The buffet set up worked well given that there were relatively few people in the restaurant.

Car parking was an issue: we could not park at the hotel for 3/5 nights and had to park in the nearby NCP instead. The hotel advertises preferential rates for this but I ended up being charged twice as the car park attendant did not recognise their validation of the tickets. The actual car park in the hotel is a bit of a horror: underground with concrete beams dissecting miniscule spaces.

In conclusion: a decent enough hotel for a short business trip but overpriced given the standard of accommodation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated decor
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstraveller253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Just got back from Cardiff. This hotel is in the centre of the City. We took a 15 minute bus trip from the Airport and a 5 minute walk from the Bus Station to the Hotel. It is 2 Minutes to the night life and a wide variety of Restaurants. The lobby was nice, The receptionist was efficient. Our room was very nice and clean. We booked the business friendly room which included breakfast and a king size bed ( Queen in USA ) The room wasn't small but it wasn't Hugh, but I don't feel I need big room for 2 nights stay for 2 people. The shower was the best EVER even better than American Showers. The bath towels were bath Sheets ( Hugh). We didn't go into the bar but it was buzzing on our way out. The Breakfast was really nice. The staff were kept very busy replacing anything that ran out and clearing tables. The restaurant manager was very friendly and also nice to his staff. I don't think this hotel was a bargain, but it was worth the money. I will definitely stay here again and wouldn't change anything.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Attending a christening on the Sunday in Cardiff, so had to stay over on the Saturday night. It was a rugby weekend and the room cost for B&B was £215 - ridiculous - but we were stuck so we had to book it.
Car parking is very restricted and you just get boxed in by other cars. Very poor.
The room was adequate - no more than adequate. Their website advertises a trouser press in the room but there was none, specifically when we needed it! Toiletries are practically non-existant - one small shampoo and a body lotion for two people sharing.....
The room we had (101) also over looked the reception area - an internal window and no external ventilation - very weird and claustophobic.
The bar is over-priced, but you are in the city centre so it's to be expected I guess.
The breakfast was chaotic - the dining room was full and they simply couldn't cope. It is a buffet, so you could get eggs but no bacon or sausage; or a croissant but no cheese or ham available. It took us 40 minutes to finally assemble a full breakfast (which by then was cold). Service was certainly not "with a smile".
When we were checking out, no one asked was out stay satisfactory, and when we pointed out the problems at breakfast we were told to mention this the next time we booked and we'd get a free upgrade!
It maybe goes without saying, there will be no "next time"!

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — cost, service and inabilty to manage their restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WREXHAM
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

I stayed at this hotel on a rugby weekend and paid £175 for room only.The attraction was to stay in the city centre and although I thought the price a bit steep I thought it would be worth it to stay in a really nice hotel. The room was clean, fresh and modern but really only adaquate, it certainly wasn't anything special, in fact not much better than a Travelodge. There were minimum facilities (ie only 2 tea bags so once we'd had a brew we had to ask for more) and hardly any complementary toiletries which was a nuicance as I'd forgotten to pack shower gel and there was only one small bottle provided between 2 people. In short this was adaquate, and not really anything to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Pretty good hotel - nice rooms and big bed! Good overall facilities. The bar is a little pricey but other than that you cant fault it. Location is perfect for city centre activities.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank skymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Address: Mary Ann Street, Cardiff CF10 2JH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in the heart of the city, opposite Cardiff International Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Park Inn Cardiff
Cardiff Park Inn
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing